Source: Author via Poetic Book Tours

Blog Book Tour | “Kin Types” (#Poetry collection) by Luanne Castle

Posted Thursday, 9 November, 2017 by jorielov , , 6 Comments

Book Review badge created by Jorie in Canva using Unsplash.com photography (Creative Commons Zero).

Acquired Book By: I have been hosting for Poetic Book Tours for a few years now, where I am finding myself encouraged to seek out collections of poetry or incredible fiction being published through Small Trade publishers and presses. I have an Indie spirit and mentality as a writer and I appreciate finding authors who are writing creative works through Indie resources as I find Indies have a special spirit about them. It is a joy to work with Poetic Book Tours for their resilience in seeking out voices in Literature which others might overlook and thereby, increasing my own awareness of these beautiful lyrical voices in the craft.

I received a complimentary copy of “Kin Types” direct from the author Luanne Castle in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour | “Kin Types” (#Poetry collection) by Luanne CastleKin Types
by Luanne Castle
Source: Author via Poetic Book Tours

Kin Types is based largely upon genealogy and a fascination with what comes to all of us from the past. A mix of poetry in the traditional sense and highly poetic prose pieces, the collection takes the reader on a journey into the lives of women and somewhat into the lives of men who must carry on alone once the women are gone. The journey of this collection is not a ramble into the past, but a slingshot into the here and now by way of these portrait tales.

Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781635342543

Also by this author: Kin Types

Genres: Anthology Collection of Short Stories and/or Essays, Poetry & Drama


Published by Finishing Line Press

on 14th July, 2017

Format: Paperback Edition

Pages: 44

Published By: Finishing Line Press (@FLPress)

Available Formats: Paperback & Ebook

Read how the author was inspired to create this collection

Converse via: #Ancestry + #Poetry

About Luanne Castle

Luanne Castle Photo Credit headshot by renee

Winner of the 2015 New Mexico-Arizona Book Award, Doll God, Luanne Castle‘s first collection of poetry, was published by Aldrich Press. Luanne’s poetry and prose have appeared in Grist, Copper Nickel, River Teeth, Glass Poetry Press, Barnstorm Journal, Six Hens, Lunch Ticket, The Review Review, and many other journals. Published by Finishing Line Press, Kin Types was a semi-finalist in the Concrete Wolf chapbook contest.

Luanne has been a Fellow at the Center for Ideas and Society at the University of California, Riverside. She studied English and creative writing at the University of California, Riverside (Ph.D.); Western Michigan University (MFA); and the Stanford University writing certificate program. Her scholarly work has been published in academic journals, and she contributed to Twice-Told Children’s Tales: The Influence of Childhood Reading on Writers for Adults, edited by Betty Greenway. For fifteen years, she taught college English. She divides her time between California and Arizona, where she shares land with a herd of javelina.

Read More

Divider

Posted Thursday, 9 November, 2017 by jorielov in Biographical Fiction & Non-Fiction, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Content Note, Excessive Violence in Literature, Fly in the Ointment, Historical Fiction, Indie Author, Poetic Book Tours, Poetry

Blog Book Tour | “Essential Readings & Study Guide: Poems about Social Justice, Women’s Rights, and the Environment” by K.V. Dominic #poetry collection

Posted Wednesday, 2 November, 2016 by jorielov , , , , 4 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I appreciate hosting for Poetic Book Tours as I get to expand my literary horizons by reading Contemporary Poets through their poetry collections as well as Small Trade releases in fiction or non-fiction. I have been blessed to be a host for this book touring company for a year now.  I received a complimentary copy of “Essential Readings & Study Guide” direct from the author K.V. Dominic in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour | “Essential Readings & Study Guide: Poems about Social Justice, Women’s Rights, and the Environment” by K.V. Dominic  #poetry collectionEssential Readings & Study Guide
Subtitle: Poems about Social Justice, Women’s Rights, and the Environment
by K.V. Dominic
Source: Author via Poetic Book Tours

K. V. Dominic "Essential Readings" gathers for the first time the three most important works of poetry from this shining new light of contemporary Indian verse in English: "Winged Reason," "Write Son, Write" and "Multicultural Symphony."

A fourth collection of 22 previously unpublished poems round out a complete look at the first 12 years of Dominic's prolific and profound verse. Each poem includes unique Study Guide questions suitable for South Asian studies curricula.

Written in free verse, each of his poems makes the reader contemplate on intellectual, philosophical, spiritual, political, and social issues of the present world. Themes range from multiculturalism, environmental issues, social mafia, caste-ism, exploitation of women and children, poverty, and corruption to purely introspective matters. From the observation of neighborhood life to international events, and everyday forgotten tragedies of India, nothing escapes the grasp of Dominic's keen sense of the fragility of life and morality in the modern world.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781615993024

Also by this author: Essential Readings & Study Guide

Genres: Poetry & Drama


Published by Modern History Press

on 1st September, 2016

Format: Paperback Edition

Pages: 284

Published By: Modern History Press
an imprint of Loving Healing Press (@vvolkman)

The next Essential Readings series release will feature the works of T.V. Reddy!

Read an interview feat. T.V. Reddy about his writing career!

Available Formats: Paperback and Ebook

Converse via: #Poetry

About K.V. Dominic

K.V. Dominic

Internationally acclaimed poet Prof. K. V. Dominic (Kerala, India) is the author of three major volumes of poetry about the natural world as well as social and political commentary: Winged Reason, Multicultural Symphony, and Write, Son, Write.

Read More

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 2 November, 2016 by jorielov in 21st Century, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Equality In Literature, India, Indie Author, Modern Day, Poetic Book Tours, Poetry

Blog Book Tour | “Dear Almost” by Matthew Thorburn #poetry collection

Posted Tuesday, 25 October, 2016 by jorielov , , 1 Comment

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I was selected to review “Dear Almost” by Poetic Book Tours. I received a complimentary copy of “Dear Almost” direct from the author Matthew Thorburn in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour | “Dear Almost” by Matthew Thorburn #poetry collectionDear Almost
Subtitle: a poem
by Matthew Thorburn
Source: Author via Poetic Book Tours

Dear Almost is a book-length poem addressed to an unborn child lost in miscarriage. Beginning with the hope and promise of springtime, the poet traces the course of a year with sections set in each of the four seasons. Part book of days, part meditative prayer, part travelogue, the poem details a would-be father’s wanderings through the figurative landscapes of memory and imagination as well as the literal landscapes of the Bronx, Shanghai, suburban New Jersey, and the Japanese island of Miyajima.

As the speaker navigates his days, he attempts to show his unborn daughter “what life is like / here where you ought to be / with us, but aren’t.” His experiences recall other deaths and uncover the different ways we remember and forget. Grief forces him to consider a question he never imagined asking: how do you mourn for someone you loved but never truly knew, never met or saw? In candid, meditative verse, Dear Almost seeks to resolve this painful question, honoring the memory of a child who both was and wasn’t there.

Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780807164310

Genres: Poetry & Drama


Published by Louisiana State University Press

on 1st September, 2016

Format: Paperback Edition

Pages: 88

Published By: Louisiana State University Press

Available Formats: Paperback and Ebook

Converse via: #Poetry

About Matthew Thorburn

Matthew Thorburn

Matthew Thorburn is the author of six collections of poetry, including the book-length poem Dear Almost (Louisiana State University Press, 2016) and the chapbook A Green River in Spring (Autumn House Press, 2015), winner of the Coal Hill Review chapbook competition. His previous collections include This Time Tomorrow (Waywiser Press, 2013), Every Possible Blue (CW Books, 2012), Subject to Change, and an earlier chapbook, the long poem Disappears in the Rain (Parlor City Press, 2009). His work has been recognized with a Witter Bynner Fellowship from the Library of Congress, as well as fellowships from the Bronx Council on the Arts and the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. His interviews with writers appear on the Ploughshares blog as a monthly feature. He lives in New York City, where he works in corporate communications.

Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 25 October, 2016 by jorielov in 21st Century, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Death, Sorrow, and Loss, Indie Author, Modern Day, Poetic Book Tours, Poetry