Backlogue of Reviews

Erasing my

Backlogue of Reviews:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

A New Year is a second-chance to redeem the hours lost,

to reclaim the stories of #SRC2015 + #ReadingIsBeautiful + #FRC2015;

as well as a few Summer Blog Tours from BookSparks.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read #BookishNotBookish No.6

To see why January did not pan out well for reading, read Two Years, Two Cats.

I also saw a return of my chronic migraines (March & April), which did not help my quest to read the stories. I read one story after the other, whilst sharing my thoughts on each one in turn.

Read my End of the Year Survey, 2015 to find out more.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Add in more migraines.

Plus an Unexpected Thanksgiving and 2016 went like the wind away from me!

Refer to : #20BooksOfSummer List + #JorieReads Children’s Lit (via Riffle)

Expanded Notes for #20BooksOfSummer | Expanded Notes for #JorieReads Children’s Lit

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The books I’m reading:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

This was originally posted on my Riffle List, however, I’m been migrating my journalled notes & lists from Riffle to LibraryThing during December, 2018. It is easier to maintain for me and after having Riffle’s site down for three days, moving to LT just makes sense.

The following selections were books I was intending to read for review between 2015 and 2016; wherein I fell behind one book at a time, and with a year such as 2016 where I stumbled a bit in my reading life to find buoyancy and balance – you could say, a simple backlogue turnt into quite the epic #TBRMountainofBooks!

I had earnestly intended to pick up one book off the backlogue list – read it, review it and celebrate it’s discovery throughout 2016. I wanted to work towards making amends with the authors as much as finally laying thought and mind on the stories which have winked at me from my bookshelves and curiously awaited my eyes to dig into their souls. Their spirits have wavered along with my focus – wherein I would consider 2016 the year I fought to re-love reading and blogging moreso than I could say each month was blissfully bookish.

My personal medical issues (my chronic migraines returned) to personal loss (my cat died tragically from Cancer; unexpectedly) to culminating with a family medical emergency Thanksgiving weekend (my Dad had a stroke) – I can honestly say, I would go for long periods of time trying to find the joy I once had devouring stories. I came through everything but sadly, if I tried to read a war drama, I was not ready for it emotionally. If I tried to read a story about Cancer – it was like my whole heart melted into a puddle of angst and indifference. If I tried to simply just dig into a smaller novel or a convicting non-fiction, my mind wandered.

I know I’m not the only book blogger whose struggled to make up lost hours and resume where they left off with the stories – however, this is my story ‘behind’ the backlogue. I hope I can encourage other bookish souls not to give up and to know one day, you’ll find your bookish heart has healed and the stories are breathing back a light of joy to consume. This is what I am finding and I do hope it’s the same for you if your finding yourself treading water whilst trying to fight to keep your love of blogging your reading life from disappearing. Life is complicated but I have found blogging to be a saving grace and a true uplift of spirit – finding a way to focus on stories, characters and the journey of authors is a blessing in my life. I might muddle myself into a pickle, but I pick myself up – and find a way back to where stories bridge that beautiful gap between imagination and memory.

It should be known – prior to my migraines & my Dad’s stroke, I was working towards reading *all!* the Science Fiction titles on this list during #RRSciFiMonth (aka: Sci Fi November). I have instead moved forward with my readings by cross-promoting them with the Sci-Fi Experience – the second annual Science Fiction Bookish Event I love participating during December/January.

Visit me on my blog (#JLASblog) linked at the bottom or tweet me (@joriestory) if one of these lovelies was a wicked good read of your own OR if this List inspired you to try a #newtomeauthor! :) Thank you for reading and sharing this part of my journey!

*List is set in stone – no titles will be added (after 31 DEC 2016).
**Likewise, once this backlogue is erased, a new one will not be generated.

// Updates:

By Summer 2017 I’ve reviewed the following:
all in her head; vote for remi; natural color; haunted; along the way; the little paris bookshop; a very blessed christmas (colouring book); christmas quiet (colouring book/journal); holy shakespeare; winning plays; the smoke hunter; complexity; gifts of the magi; the semper sonnet; you’re the cream in my coffee; more to follow! (16 JUN 17)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

backlogue reviews as they are erased from TBR:

# of books on my backlogue [2016/19] = 250

# of books reviewed [2016] = 5

# of books reviewed [2017] = 15

# of books reviewed [2018] = 7

# of books reviewed [2019] = 4

Total reviewed: 31 | Total DNF: 5 | +One Removed

# of books left on my backlogue for [2020] = 213
an avg. of 51 books per year I fell behind

As you can observe, the best year I was able to focus on reading my backlogue was 2017 – uniquely the year my father was recovering from his stroke and the first year I was his caregiver whilst Mum was at work. I believe I simply needed some extra distractions to re-adjust to our new groove as a family. In the two years post-2017, reflect the onslaught of my personal health issues and afflictions, especially 2018 where I had 10+ months of health angst and it wasn’t until 2019 where I saw a positive turnabout in the high frequency of my chronic migraines. Overall, 2020 feels like a better year for me as a) reader and as b) a book blogger who can finally redeem herself with the hours she lost. Especially hard was focusing on reading Non-Fiction which is the majority of the titles on this backlogue!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The ones I owe BookSparks:

I am grateful to a publicist I reached out to in January who helped me sort out the best way to read and review all the lovely books I selected to host on my blog. She gave me the ‘key’ which was quite simple once I saw the advice: reverse the order whilst reading Fall then Summer! #sohappy!

If you read this (review) of VOTE FOR REMI you will find a lovely update!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

  1. all in her head by Sunny Mera #FRC2015 (review) 1 March, 2016
  2. Postcards from the Sky by Erin Siedemann #FRC2015
  3. Pretending to Dance by Diane Chamberlain #FRC2015
  4. The Black Velvet Coat by Jill G. Hall #FRC2015
  5. Just the Facts by Ellen Sherman #FRC2015
  6. Rooville by Julie Lang #FRC2015 | Summer
  7. Sleeping with the Enemy by Tracy Solheim #FRC2015 | Summer
  8. The Legacy of Us by Kristin Contino #FRC2015 | Summer

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

  1. Vote for Remi by Leanna Lehman *extra* (review) 10 November, 2016
  2. Summer by Summer by Heather Burch #YASRC2015 (review) 21 June, 2019
  3. Satisfaction by Andee Reilly #SRC2015
  4. The Red Sun by Alane Adams #YASRC2015
  5. Surface by Stacy Robinson *extra*
  6. Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica #SRC2015
  7. Beautiful Girl by Fleur Phillips #YASRC2015
  8. The Witch of Bourbon Street by Suzanne Palmeieri #SRC2015
  9. The Last Letter & The Road Home by Kathleen Shoop #SRC2015
  10. Worthy by Catherine Ryan Hyde #SRC2015
  11. Fire Season by Hollye Dexter *extra*
  12. Eight Hundred Grapes by Laura Dave #SRC2015

+ a few extras borrowed through my library of whom purchased them for me

or purchased books being featured outside of my own requests

Be sure to visit my Bookish Events 2015
to see which ones I read at the start of Summer 2015

before continuing towards the end of the year.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The following titles are outside of the ones I owe BookSparks:

The books I wasn’t able to read in 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Women’s Fiction | Contemporary Romance:

both mainstream & INSPY selections

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

  • You’re the Cream in my Coffee by Jennifer Lamont Leo (review) 5 January 2017
  • Kissing Father Christmas by Robin Jones Gunn (review) 19 December 2017
  • A Christmas Surprise by Emily Murdoch (review) 26 December 2017
  • Promises Under the Peach Tree (review) 7 January, 2018
    & Nights under the Tennessee Stars by Joanne Rock (review) 8 April, 2018
  • Ignoring Gravity by Sandra Danby (review) 9 May, 2018
  • Lila’s Choice by Laura Brown
  • Like There’s No Tomorrow by Camille Eide
  • Saving Mossy Point by Donna Winters
  • French Twist & French Toast by Glynis Astie
  • Asher’s Mark by Amy Durham
  • Dare to Kiss by S.B. Alexander
  • A Woman of Fortune
    & What Matters Most
    & Where Rivers Part by Kellie Coates Gilbert

  • Dear Carolina by Kristy Woodson Harvey
  • A Saint in Graceland by Deborah Hining
  • To the Moon and Back by Karen Kingsbury
  • Political Parties by Rachel Magee
  • Beneath a Camperdown Elm by Janet Chester Bly
  • The Promise of Dawn by Lauraine Snelling
  • Chasing Down A Dream by Beverly Jenkins
  • Aphrodite’s Tears by Hannah Fielding
  • The Magnificent Mrs Mayhew by Milly Johnson
  • Half Finished by Lauraine Snelling
  • Memory Box Secrets by Brenda S. Anderson
    & Hungry for Home

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Mystery | Thriller | Suspense:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

  • Rose in the Wheel, Blood for Blood, & Die I Will Not by S.K. Rizzolo
    (see also Spotlight) 11 Dec, 2014
  • Haunted by Lynn Carthage (review) Halloween 2016
  • Fatal Mistake by Susan Sleeman (review) 20 October, 2018
    & Kill Shot by Susan Sleeman
  • Alaina Claiborne by MK McClintock
  • A Pattern of Lies by Charles Todd
  • As Death Draws Near (Lady Darby No. 5) by Anna Lee Huber
  • The Necklace by Claire McMillan
  • Murder at the Mill by M.B. Shaw
  • Saving Shadow by Laura Beers
  • See Also Proof by Larry D. Sweazy
  • A Reckoning in the Back Country by Terry Shames
  • Deadly Proof by Rachel Dylan

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

MGLit or YALit:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

  • Along the Way by Jacqueline Kolosov (review) 3 June, 2016
  • The Smoke Hunter by Jacquelyn Benson (not quite a review) 5 May 2017
  • Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue by Iain Reading
  • Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost by Iain Reading
  • Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the R.M.S. Titanic by Iain Reading
  • I, James by Mike Hartner
  • The Kingdom Within by Samantha Gillespie
  • Pig Park
    & The Smell of Old Lady Perfume by Claudia Guadalupe Martinez
  • Flower from the Castile by Lilian Gafni
  • Sketcher by Roland Watson-Grant
  • Inconceivable by Tegan Wren
  • American Ballerina by Nancy Lorenz
  • How the Light Gets In by Katy Upperman
  • Chasing Eveline by Leslie Hauser
  • The Beat on Ruby’s Street by Jenna Zark
    & Fool’s Errand

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Literary and/or Historical Fiction:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

  • The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George (review) 20 May, 2016
  • The Semper Sonnet by Seth Margolis (review) 27 January 2017
  • The Gravity of Birds by Tracy Guzeman (review) 6 August, 2017
  • Crown of Dust by Mary Volmer
  • Naked: A Novel of Lady Godiva by Eliza Redgold
  • The Queens Rivals by Brandy Purdy
  • Casanova’s Secret Wife by Barbara Lynn-Davis
  • First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen
  • The Grip of God by Rebecca Hazell
  • The Fragrant Concubine by Melissa Addey
  • Return to Me by Caroline Menke
  • A  Paris Winter by Imogen Robertson
  • Circling the Sun by Paula McLain
  • Trade Winds | Monsoon Mists | Highland Storms by Christina Courtenay
  • The Bridges of Constantine by Ahlam Mosteghanemi
  • Chaos of the Senses by Ahlam Mosteghanemi
  • The Repercussions by Catherine Hall
  • The Gilded Years by Karin Tanabe
  • My Last Continent by Midge Raymond
  • What We Become by Arturo Pérez-Reverte
  • Messenger by Moonlight by Stephanie Grace Whitson
  • A Lesson in Hope
    & A Gathering in Hope by Philip Gulley
  • Indy Writes Books (edited by) Indy Reads Books
  • Who is to Blame? by Jane Marlow
  • All Hallows at Eyre Hall by Luccia Gray
    &
    Twelfth Night by Luccia Gray
  • Suddenly Mrs Darcy by Jenetta James
  • The Beauty Thief by Rachel Ritchey
  • Captive Hope by Rachel Ritchey
  • Avelynn: Edge of Faith by Marissa Campbell
  • The Other Wife by Juliet Bell
  • The Last Romantics by Tara Conklin
  • The Other Alcott by Elise Hooper
  • Goodnight from London by Jennifer Robson
  • The Woman Who Breathed Two Worlds by Selina Siak Chin Yoke
    & When The Future Comes Too Soon
  • The Time Collector by Gwedolyn Womack
  • The Library of Light and Shadow by MJ Rose
  • The Vineyard by Maria Duenas
  • Twain’s End by Lynn Cullen
  • The Enemies of Versailles by Sally Christie
  • The Saturday Girls by Elizabeth Woodcraft
  • The Light Over London by Julia Kelly
  • The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr by Susan Holloway Scott
  • Abe and Ann by Gary Moore
  • Spies, Lies and the Lusitania by Colleen Adair Fliedner
  • The Spinster & I by Rebecca Connolly
    & Spinster and Spice
  • Becoming Bonnie by Jenni L. Walsh
  • Greenwillow by B.J. Chute
  • Catching A Witch by Heidi Eljarbo

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Science Fiction | Fantasy:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

  • Gifts of the Magi: A Speculative Holiday Collection (review) 14 January 2017
  • Frozen Fairy Tales (edited by) Kate Wolford (review) 30 May, 2018
  • Hero’s Best Friend (edited by) Scott M. Sandridge (review) 20 May, 2018
  • Heir to the Lamp by Michelle Lowery Combs (review) 9 May, 2019
  • Nebula Awards Showcase 2016 (edited by) Mercedes Lackey (review) 5 May, 2019
  • Tiger Lily by Wende Dikec (review) 15 May, 2019
  • Liminal Lights (review) 26 May, 2018
    & Shadow Shifts (review) by J.M. Bogart
  • Far Orbit: Apogee (edited by) Bascomb James
  • Solomon’s Bell by Michelle Lowery Combs
  • Prophecy & White Thaw by Paul Mark Tag
  • Impossible by C.A. Gray 
  • The Lemorian Crest by Hannah L. Clark
  • Almost a Millennium by Jeanbill
  • Portals, Passages and Pathways by B.R. Maul
  • Anni Moon: The Elemental Artifact by Melanie Abed
  • New England Rocks by Pia Fenton/Christina Courtenay
  • A Turn of Light by Julie E. Czerneda
  • A Play of Shadow by Julie E. Czerneda
  • Trans-Continental: Girl in the Gears by E. Chris Garrison
  • Trans-Continental: Mississippi Queen by E. Chris Garrison
  • Beyond by Catina Haverlock & Angela Larkin
  • Irrelephant Omens by Leanne Leeds
    & Go for the Juggler by Leanne Leeds
  • The Black Talisman by Richard Storry
  • The Ghosts of Wonky Inn by Jeannie Wycherley
  • Beyond the Moon by R.J. Wood
  • No More Goddesses by Kim Baccellia
  • The Dream Keeper’s Daughter by Emily Colin
  • Little Computer People by Galen Surlak-Ramsey
  • The Fighter of Aldea by Kira Weston
  • The Renaissance Club by Rachel Dacus
  • Failure to Communicate by Kaia Sonderby
  • The Time Key by Melanie Batman

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Non-Fiction:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

  • A Very Blessed Christmas by Robin Mead + Christmas Quiet by Maisie Sparks
    (review) 17 January 2017
  • Holy Shakespeare by Maisie Sparks (review) 27 January 2017
  • Natural Color by Sasha Duerr (review) 27 April 2017
  • Complexity by William S. Burger (review) 28 April 2017
  • Winning Plays by Matt Mayberry (review) 2 May 2017
  • Dancing Through Life by Candace Cameron Bure (review) 12 Oct 2017
  • 31 Men of the Bible by BH (review) 15 Oct 2017
  • Paranormal Texas (review) 19 Oct 2017
    & Unexpected Texas by Tui Snider
  • Wisdom of the Middle Ages by  Michael K. Kellogg
  • The Wisdom of the Renaissance by Michael K. Kellogg
  •  The Circle by Alfred S. Posamentier
  • The New Science of Consciousness by Paul L. Nunez
  • True Genius by Joel N. Shurkin
  • There Goes the Neighbourhood by Ali Noorani
  • All Day by Liza Jessie Peterson
  • Seeing What Others Cannot See by Thomas G. West
  • Such Mad Fun by Robin R. Cutler
  • Crossing the Thinnest Line by Lauren Leader-Chivee
  • Travelling the Two Lane by Marilyn Berman
  • The Joy of Missing Out by Christina Crook
  • Now Everyone Will Know by Maggie Kneip
  • The Race Underground by Doug Most
  • 101 Things to Do Before Going to Heaven by David Bordon
  • The Prayer of Protection by Joseph Prince
  • This is How We Pray by Adam Dressler
  • Stay the Path by Bobbie Houston
  • God is for Real by Todd Burpo
  • Good Night, I Love You by Jene Ray Barranco
  • Confessions of a Christian Mystic by River Jordan
  • The Happiness Prayer by Evan Moffic
  • Pray for Me by Rick Hamlin
  • River of Time by Naomi Judd
  • A Perfect Score by Craig & Kathy Hall
  • Love Welcome Serve by Amy Nelson Hannon
  • Pinot, Pasta & Parties by Dee Dee and Paul Sorvino
  • Blessed Life by Kim Fields
  • Created for Connection by Dr. Sue Johnson
  • Successful Leaders of the Bible by Katara Washington Patton
  • The Light of the World by Elizabeth Alexander
  • The Butterfly Groove by Jessica Barraco
  • Marketing with Teeth by Michael Knost
  • Math Makers by Alfred S. Posamentier & Christian Spreitzer
  • The Joy of Mathematics by Alfred S. Posamentier, et al
  • Magnificent Principia by Colin Park
  • From Medicine to Manuscript by Seymour L. Schwartz
  • What Makes Your Brain Happy & Why You Should Do the Opposite by David DiSalvo
  • A Stroke of Faith by Mark Moore
  • The Impossible by Joyce Smith
  • Your Heart, My Hands by Arun K. Singh, M.D.
  • 1777: Tipping Point at Saratoga by Dean Snow
  • Heroes of the Space Age by Rod Pyle
  • The Robot in the Next Cubicle by Larry Boyer
  • The Case for Space by Robert Zubrin
  • There’s No Such Thing As Bad Weather by Linda Akeson McGurk
  • You Are Enough by Mandy Hale
  • A Letter for Every Mother by Kara Lawler & Regan Long
  • My Father’s Business by Cal Turner, JR
  • Gratitude in Motion by Colleen Kelly Alexander
  • Attend by Laura Davis Werezak
  • Remarkable Faith by Shauna Letellier
  • & Remarkable Hope
  • Rhinestones on my flipflops by Jane Jenkins Herlong
  • True Reagan by James Rosebush
  • The Sisterhood by Bobbie Houston
  • The Gospel Side of Elvis by Joe Moscheo
  • Get Weird by CJ Casciotta
  • Quarter Life Calling by Paul Sohn
  • If My Heart Could Talk by Dodie Osteen
  • Living with No Excuses by Noah Galloway
  • Whispers of Rest by Bonnie Gray
  • Seeking Aliveness by Brian D. McLaren
  • Sacred Rest by Saundra Dalton Smith, MD
  • Pull It Off by Julianna Zobrist
  • A Voice Becoming by Beth Bruno
  • Remember the Ladies by Angela P. Dodson
  • The Curve of Time by M. Wylie Blanchet

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

update: June 2019, when I learnt about the beliefs of the author I decided to remove one of the books I was meant to read in consideration for review from this backlogue. I can no longer support him knowing his true feelings regarding LGBTQ+ and I find it shameful he doesn’t believe in non-discrimination at school or in life. I fully support the civil rights and liberties of everyone and regularly support LGBTQ+ rights via my blog and/or on my Twitter feeds.

  • True Believer by Nicholas Sparks

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

+ Roma Amour by Sherry Christie due to needing to research Ancient Rome ahead of reading this novel. I have been blessed to have the author reach out to me to help aide my journey and research ahead of re-attempting to read her novel set during a period of history I unfortunately did not know enough about to appreciate it the first time I attempted to read it. I’ll be reading those earmarked titles in early 2017.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

UPDATEBy November 2019, I was ready to admit there are a few titles on this backlogue which are going to reside on my DNF shelves as I simply found the stories to be not my cuppa interest after all to be read. I’ve given them quite a bit of traction and mention on my blog oer the years they resided on my backlogue but in the end, they simply were not for me.

They are as follows:

  • Unclaimed Legacy & Every Hill and Mountain by Deborah Heal
  • The Visitors by Rebecca Mascull
  • Trinity Stones & Hope’s Prelude by L.G. O’ Connor

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Date Backlogue was ERASED:

PROJECTED: 31 December, 2020

DATE OF LAST UPDATE: 22nd December, 2019

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

{Sources: Post dividers by Fun Stuff for Your Blog via Pure Imagination. Riffle List embedded due to codes provided by Riffle Books. Blog graphics created by Jorie via Canva: #20BooksOfAutumn banner; #20BooksOfWinter banner using Unsplash.com (Creative Commons Zero) Photography by Zoltan Tasi; #20BooksOfNonFic banner using Unsplash.com (Creative Commons Zero) Photography by Shangyou Shi and Annie Spratt.}

{NOTE ON COPYRIGHT}:
All writing and content on this blog is of my own creation, unless otherwise attributed and/or sourced. No unauthorized use and/or duplication of writing or content without permission of blog author and owner is prohibited. All Rights Reserved. Copyright © Jorie Loves A Story, 2013-2020.