Genre: Romantic Suspense

An early #blogmas Book Spotlight and Extract | Featuring Notes by Jorie on behalf of “This Christmas” by Laurie Winter

Posted Wednesday, 21 October, 2020 by jorielov , , , 0 Comments

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

October is a bit early for spotlighting #ChristmasReads, I will admit – however, some years the stories which you want to be reading at Christmas have a way of touring ahead of November & December! I read the premise of this Contemporary Romantic Suspense and knew I was going to be featuring it as a pre-#blogmas surprise for my readers!

Every year for the past several years I’ve been keen on finding new voices in Fiction who are writing compelling and/or uplifting stories for Christmas! I have enjoyed the diversity of stories I am finding each year and which genres capture my eye as each Autumn I find myself captured by a different group of genres which set the tone for what I am intrigued to seek out each Winter. The stories I feature on Jorie Loves A Story are future reads of mine – each of them tucking into a part of what I love about #blogmas and the celebration of a the changing season of the final hours of the year.

I have loved reading Christmas Romances ever since I was quite young and it was through Victorian & Regency Christmas Romances I first caught the romantic novel bug and became a lifelong reader of Romances! Being able to host my own Twitter chat which regularly celebrates Romance & Women’s Fiction as well as all genres featuring strong women and/or Feminist Fiction is quite heartwarming to me as a host. When it comes to Romantic Suspense novels – the ones I love have a wicked cunning plot with realistic characters you can feel as if you can rally behind soon after you’ve met them. I tend to gravitate towards Contemporaries lately for Rom Suspense but the best bit of course is the resolution at the end! Where you can let out that breath you’ve held inside you waiting to see how it would all resolve! At least, I do!

As a precursor to my #blogmas showcases this year, I am thankful I could join the blog tour for “This Christmas” and help celebrate discovering it as it appears to be a self-published novel and I *love!* supporting authors who are taking the Self Pub route for their careers! Here’s to rockin’ our readerly lives as Autumn shifts into Winter and as the Christmastide starts to arrive in our lives. Despite the bumps and heartaches of the year there are quiet moments of peace and solitude which give us a peaceful respite in order to enjoy the holiday seasons which are now readily upon us now that Halloween is less than thirteen days away! Imagine!?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

An early #blogmas Book Spotlight and Extract | Featuring Notes by Jorie on behalf of “This Christmas” by Laurie WinterThis Christmas
Subtitle: The North Star series
by Laurie Winter
Source: Chapter Sampler

'A beautiful story of loss and new love, set in a snow-capped mountain ski resort town.'

Celia Batista waited a long time for all three of her sons to be together for Christmas. But after one of her identical twins disappears without a trace, Celia must rely on Police Captain Luke Veldkamp for help. Despite Luke’s accusations that her other twin son is involved with organized crime, she falls for the handsome, Stetson wearing cop.

Luke Veldkamp is facing his first Christmas after the loss of his wife, working nonstop to avoid the holidays and his grief. His daughter, who’d moved home to care for her mom before her passing, pushes him to face his pain. Luke pushes back, telling her to return to college and regain her own life. If his own strife isn’t enough, the mission to locate the missing son of his beautiful neighbor grows more personal than any other case.

While Luke and Celia fight to keep their families from falling apart, they find comfort and strength in one another. And when love blooms between their children, Luke and Celia’s own relationship takes root and grows. But Celia is used to living on her own terms, and loving a man who has isolated his heart is a risk too great. Now, Luke must either confront his emotions or face a life without the woman he’s come to love.

Genres: Christmas Story &/or Christmas Romance, Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 978-1735743813

Published by Self Published

on 21st September, 2020

Format: Chapter Sampler | Online

This is a Self-Published novel

Converse via: #ContemporaryRomance or Contemporary #Romance
as well as #RomSusp or #RomanticSuspense and #ChristmasReads

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 21 October, 2020 by jorielov in Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Spotlight, Christmas Romance &/or Holiday Story, Contemporary Romance, Indie Author, Prism Book Tours, Romance Fiction, Romantic Suspense

An #INSPY Suspense Book Spotlight with Notes | featuring “Acceptable Risk” (Danger Never Sleeps series, Book Two) by Lynette Eason

Posted Wednesday, 14 October, 2020 by jorielov , , , , 0 Comments

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

As you know, I have a propensity for reading INSPY Lit and settling into different styles of INSPY narratives from Contemporary to Historical as well as my favourite niche of joy with Mum which is Contemporary INSPY Suspense. Our favourite imprint for reading those lovelies is Love Inspired Suspense – however, some of those authors are now being published elsewhere, such as Ms Eason! We have several of her stories from Love Inspired Suspense on our #mustreads list and it is just a matter of time of getting into those stories! Similar to how we’ve followed Ms Goddard to Revell we are also following Ms Eason. This is why I was thankful to be on this blog tour featuring her Danger Never Sleeps series as she is the second author Mum and I have had the most interest in reading this year!

I had hoped to borrow “Collateral Damage” via audiobook via my regional library’s CloudLibrary, however, in the past six weeks I’ve had too many migraines and it has taken me away from focusing on my reading life. However, I am thankful I found the chapter samplers online instead where I could see small snippets of what the first two novels of this series are about and where they begin. On a recent blog tour with this touring company, I did have the chance to focus a bit on the opening chapters of “Set the Stars Alight” which happily surprised me as I was migraine-free for a short bit of time wherein I could find myself happily immersed within the story and the narrator’s performance. You can read my thoughts about that story and learn why I enjoyed discovering the narrator who was a new narrator popping up on my bookish radar.

Recently, I related my immense joy in listening to ‘Hadley Beckett’s Next Dish’ whilst ‘Magnolia Storms’ was one of my top favourites during a recent INSPY readathon this past August. You will find a healthy gathering of INSPY stories in my Story Vault as well!

Today, I had originally planned to bring you an interview between Ms Eason and myself, however, unbeknownst to me she was not available to respond in time for my tour stop. I decided to focus instead on spotlighting the series and help my readers know a bit more about the Danger Never Sleeps series as I explored the series myself through chapter samplers online. As you know, I can’t read full narratives in ebook formats, however with chapter samplers I can read short snippets and gather the gist about how a story will evolve through the rest of a novel. Likewise, I hope if this series itches your own curiosity – you’ll either seek out the series itself or dip into the samplers online as I have myself.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

An #INSPY Suspense Book Spotlight with Notes | featuring “Acceptable Risk” (Danger Never Sleeps series, Book Two) by Lynette EasonAcceptable Risk
Subtitle: Danger Never Sleeps (2)
by Lynette Eason
Source: Chapter Sampler

Sarah Denning is a military journalist with the Army in the Middle East when her convoy is attacked and she's taken hostage. When former Army Ranger Gavin Black is asked by his old unit commander--Sarah's imposing father--to plan an extremely risky rescue, he reluctantly agrees and successfully executes it.

Back in the US, Sarah is livid when she's discharged on a false psychiatric evaluation and vows to return to the Army. Until she learns of her brother's suicide. Unable to believe her brother would do such a thing, she puts her plans on hold and enlists Gavin to help her discover the truth. What they uncover may be the biggest story of Sarah's career--if she can survive long enough to write it.

Strap in for another breakneck nail-biter from bestselling romantic suspense author Lynette Eason that will have you up turning pages long into the night.

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction, Romantic Suspense


Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780800729356

Published by Revell

on 4th August, 2020

Format: Chapter Sampler | Online

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Danger Never Sleeps Series:

Collateral Damage by Lynette EasonAcceptable Risk by Lynette EasonActive Defense by Lynette Eason

Collateral Damage (book one)

They thought they left the fight behind on the battlefield.
But their greatest struggles are just beginning.

Honorably discharged from the Army after an explosion nearly killed her, former military psychiatrist Brooke Adams has set up shop to help others, but her days of helping military personnel are over. She’s got her own battles to fight from her time overseas, and she’s not equipped to take on more.

Former Army Special Ops Sergeant First Class Asher James could handle anything that war sent his way. The only thing that scares him now is sleep. As the shadows close in, the nightmares begin.

Finally convinced that he needs help, Asher makes an appointment with a counselor. When he arrives at her office, she isn’t there–but a dead body is. When it becomes clear that Brooke was the real target of the attack–and that her secrets go even deeper than his own–Asher vows to protect her no matter what.

Acceptable Risk (book two)

Active Defense (book three) ← forthcoming release January, 2021!

As a former field surgeon in Afghanistan, Heather Fontaine is used to life-or-death situations. She just didn’t expect them to follow her home. When she returns from a party to find that someone has broken into her house–and threatened her friends–she assumes it is the stalker who has been following her and creeping her out. She hopes to find safety and peace of mind by leaving the city and hiding out in a small town. But trouble has followed her even there.

Luckily, a stalker isn’t the only one watching Heather. Travis Walker has been secretly watching out for her for weeks. As owner of his own security agency, it’s what he does. Together, Travis and Heather must figure out who wants her dead–and why–before it’s too late.

Bestselling and award-winning author Lynette Eason will have you looking over your shoulder as you dive into this fast-paced, suspense-filled story about losing control and finding something even better.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Revell (@RevellBooks)
an imprint of Baker Publishing Group

Available Formats: Hardcover, Trade Paperback, Audiobook and Ebook

Converse via: #INSPY #Contemporary #Suspense, #ChristianSuspense
as well as #LynetteEason or #ChristianFiction

About Lynette Eason

Lynette Eason

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of Collateral Damage and Acceptable Risk, as well as Protecting Tanner Hollow and the Blue Justice, Women of Justice, Deadly Reunions, Hidden Identity, and Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of three ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award, among others. She is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and has a master's degree in education from Converse College. Eason lives in South Carolina with her husband and two children.

Photo Credit: © Mary Denman

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 14 October, 2020 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Book Spotlight, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction | Non-Fiction, Love Books Tours, Sampler Chapters &/or Excerpt of Novel

Blog Book Tour for #LoveINSPIRED Suspense | “Fatal Memories” by Tanya Stowe the imprint #JorieReads with her Mum!

Posted Tuesday, 3 September, 2019 by jorielov , , , 4 Comments

Book Review badge created by Jorie in Canva using Unsplash.com photography (Creative Commons Zero).

Acquired Book By: I have been hosting blog tours with Cedar Fort Publishing and Media for several years now, wherein their new blog tour publicist (Ms Sydney Anderson) also runs her own publicity touring company: Singing Librarian Book Tours (or SLB Tours for short!). I happily joined her team of book bloggers as a hostess in late Spring, 2018 wherein my first tours with her as a hostess began Summer, 2018. I appreciate reading INSPY literature and was happy to find these are most of the stories she is showcasing through SLB Tours! Most of her authors are published through Cedar Fort, though she does work with authors who are either Self-Published or Indie published through different publishers as well.

I received a complimentary copy of “Fatal Memories” direct from the author Tanya Stowe in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I share a love of Love Inspired Suspense with my Mum:

In 2018, in July I had a delightful time participating in my first readathon which not only ENCOURAGED you to read more INSPY novels but it was a bit of a competition as well. It was a lovely concept created by Singing Librarian Books and you can read a bit about why I loved joining the readaathon whilst I also posted a small recap of my adventures. This was building on the fact earlier in [2018] I had encouraged my Mum to start reading the Love Inspired Suspense novels as she needed some down-time from her 12 hour shifts. The stories were portable and just long enough to give her a wicked good read but without the worry of not being able to finish them. In July, you see, it was my turn to sink my teeth into the imprint’s offerings and I started to quickly find #mustread authors! Readathons are brilliant for that – their this concentrated period of time to read select stories of interest to the reader & they give you hours of #bookJOY afterwards!!

This past July, 2019 – I carried on the tradition of reading #LoveINSPIRED Suspense novels – which you can find talked about in a *thread I maintained on my feeds for Twitter. I wasn’t able to blog or share my readerly adventures in the traditional sense this year, however, I did write a few short reviews via my LibraryThing archives in order to remember the stories I had read and which ones had staid with me after the readathon had concluded.

We have a shared passion for INSPY stories – short or long in length as we used to belong to the subscription service *Heartsong Presents*. Eventually we’d love to join the subscription service for these lovely novels as the beauty of reading them is having a high octane Suspense driven plot with realistic characters, back-stories & a jarring sense of Contemporary life – all caught inside the folds of an Inspirational (ie. Christian) vein of thought.

I read a wide variety of INSPY Lit, but my favourites are the ones which gently are layered with arcs of faith and the character’s spirituality as I love reading the stories where their faith is shown through their example, life’s choices and the personal growth they undertake through their character’s journey. I had a delightful time in July reading my first batch of #LoveINSPIRED Suspense novels and it is a joy for me to participate on a blog tour which celebrates this wicked sweet line of books my Mum & I love devouring!

It is a true pleasure to be on this blog tour – discovering a #newtomeauthor for this imprint but also, to have the chance to read a Contemporary Suspense whilst reminding myself I need to put more of these in my readerly path this year! Even without the readathon to encourage me forward – which gave me the chance to win some books along the way, I just love reading these kinds of stories! I have been blessed by hosting my second blog tour for this lovely imprint and I couldn’t be happier to continue to talk about why I love these stories & the authors who pen them!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour for #LoveINSPIRED Suspense | “Fatal Memories” by Tanya Stowe the imprint #JorieReads with her Mum!Fatal Memories
by Tanya Stowe
Source: Direct from Author via SLB Tours

She was framed! Or was she?

If only she could remember…

Border patrol agent Jocelyn Walker has no memory of how she turned up unconscious with a cache of drugs—or why a gang is dead set on killing her. With evidence stacking up against her, Joss takes refuge with driven DEA agent Dylan Murphy, who guards—and suspects— her. But will finally trusting each other lead them into a trap they’ll never escape?

Genres: Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Romantic Suspense


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781335679222

Published by Love INSPIRED

on 3rd September, 2019

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 288

Published by: Love Inspired (@LoveInspiredBks)
an imprint of Harlequin Books (@HarlequinBooks), a subsidiary of HarperCollins

Available Formats: Paperback, Ebook

More Love Inspired Suspense by this author:

Mojave Rescue (2018)

Fatal Memories (2019)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Converse via: #INSPY #LoveINSPIRED #Suspense

About Tanya Stowe

Tanya Stowe

Tanya Stowe is an author of Christian Fiction with an unexpected edge. She fills her stories with the unusual…mysteries and exotic adventures, even a murder or two. No matter where Tanya takes you…on a trip to foreign lands or a suspenseful journey filled with danger…be prepared for the extraordinary.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 3 September, 2019 by jorielov in 21st Century, Balance of Faith whilst Living, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host, Contemporary Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction | Non-Fiction, Modern Day, Realistic Fiction, Romance Fiction, Singing Librarian Book Tours, Sweet Romance