Genre: Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction

#RomanceTuesdays | feat. #LoveInspired author Tina Radcliffe’s “Ready to Trust” (Hearts of Oklahoma series, Book Two)

Posted Tuesday, 11 August, 2020 by jorielov , , , 1 Comment

#RomanceTuesdays badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I started hosting with Prism Book Tours at the end of [2017], having noticed the badge on Tressa’s blog (Wishful Endings) whilst I was visiting as we would partake in the same blog tours and/or book blogosphere memes. I had to put the memes on hold for several months (until I started to resume them (with Top Ten Tuesday) in January 2018). When I enquiried about hosting for Prism, I found I liked the niche of authors and stories they were featuring regularly. This is how I came to love discovering the Harlequin Heartwarming authors & series as much as it has been an honour to regularly request INSPY stories and authors. Whenever I host for Prism, I know I am in for an uplifting read and a journey into the stories which give me a lot of joy to find in my readerly queue of #nextreads. It is an honour to be a part of their team of book bloggers.

I received a complimentary copy of “Ready to Trust” direct from the author Tina Radcliffe in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

How I originally crossed paths with Ms Radcliffe:

Before I became a book blogger seven years ago in [2013] – I was an avid reader of bookish blogs specifically group author blogs like Heroes, Heroines & History and Seekerville; the latter was focused more on the process of writing and getting published as each of the authors featured on Seekerville originally were in their season of finding publication whereas HHH’s blog was devouted to authors who were either publishing for the first time or were established in their respective genres of INSPY Fiction.

This goes back to at least a full year before the end of March, 2013 when I developed Jorie Loves A Story as I would regularly converse with authors who are today’s well-known Christian Fiction authors across publishers and outlets of the pub world. Quite a few of those authors I was engaged with during my blog hops and commentary are authors who are still on my TBR List!! I even have a list of #nextreads featuring INSPY Authors on my 70 Author’s Challenge whilst each New Year, I hope to draw closer to reading each of the authors I originally sought out to read as a blog commenter ahead of becoming a book blogger myself!

I haven’t quite managed to accomplish this goal – mostly as my book buying budget is quite a humble one and I rely more readily on my subscription to Scribd (for audiobooks) and my local libraries (and their inter-library loan services when those are active; pre-Covid-19!) to help encourage my bookish wanderings! I also sometimes find Love Inspired novels via library used bookstores and/or second hand shoppes as well which can stretch everyone’s book buying budget whilst giving these stories more love from readers who desire to read them!

How I remember all the authors I’ve crossed paths with over the years online is a wonderment even to me – even though I do have quite a hefty photographic memory – I’ll admit, being a migraineur (one who suffers from chronic migraines) and has dealt with clustering migraines and more supernova migraines than ought to be possible – my memory does take a few hits along the way. However, when it comes to authors & their stories – I seem to be a bit blessed in the regard that I do *remember!* which of them I want to seek out to read and/or whilst browsing shelves with books on them, I’ll readily comment to Mum whose with me looking for books for herself as well – (as we share similar interests, including my aforementioned love & admiration for Love Inspired as our guilty pleasure are the Suspense novels of this imprint) is how I know ‘such and such’ author via this blog or this online website or through this interview or however which our paths crossed online – including Twitter!

Thus – over the years since I first started talking to Ms Radcliffe and the other authors who truly gave me a lot of joy to interact with at the time our paths first crossed – (as I’ll admit, my increasing frequency of migraines restricted my blog visits and/or my participation in Twitter chats over the years to either an erratic blog hopping holiday or a reduction in chats) whenever I find their books in the ‘wild’ wherever that may be I remind myself “one day I shall bring those stories home!”

Imagine my joy as a book blogger being given the chance to jump start those future readings when one of those authors comes along in a blog tour?! I was wicked happy I saw this blog tour was available for readers of stories in print and I couldn’t wait to read my first ‘Tina Radcliffe’ novel!! It is also nice to be able to champion and celebrate an author who gave me so much personal joy as a blog commenter & visitor on my own blog Jorie Loves A Story. Somehow it feels like moments like this one are ways in which I can re-give the joy and pass forward the goodwill her and others gave to me all those years ago.

And, seven is such a good & strong number – it feels fitting I’m featuring her during my seventh year as I also plan to read & showcase another Seekerville author during my 7th Year as well (er, I should say Seekerville alum!) Julie Lessman whose going to be part of my #blogmas plans this year! Ms Radcliffe and Ms Lessman both left Seekerville in [2017] which is one of the last times I was trying to get more active in reading the Seekerville blog.

The only goof I made was thinking this was the first in the series and I didn’t have a chance to see if I could find a copy of “Finding the Road Home” – however, I didn’t let that worry me as Love Inspired & Harlequin Heartwarming authors share the same grace in giving their serial readers a chance to ‘settle into their series’ without feeling we’ve missed out on anything in the prior installments. Mind you, my preference is read all series in order (or backread them if I’ve started out of sequence) but for now, I’m happily content in reading my first novel by an author I’ve wanted to read for seven years! Which is why I thank my blessings I found Prism Book Tours who’ve helped me find authors to read through both imprints of Harlequin!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

#RomanceTuesdays | feat. #LoveInspired author Tina Radcliffe’s “Ready to Trust” (Hearts of Oklahoma series, Book Two)Ready to Trust
Subtitle: Proving he's a changed man could be his biggest challenge yet.
by Tina Radcliffe
Source: Author via Prism Book Tours

Proving he’s a changed man could be his biggest challenge yet.

Rancher Reece Rainbolt’s shocked to learn he’s inherited half of Claire Ballard’s family farm—and that he’s a father. Now Claire’s determined to break ties with the man who once left her behind. But Reece will buy her half only on one condition: she must stay in town to help with the harvest…and let him get to know his little girl.

Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 978-1335488015

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, Ranches & Cowboys, Romance Fiction, Western Fiction, Western Romance


Published by Love INSPIRED

on 18th February, 2020

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 224

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Hearts of Oklahoma series:

Finding the Road Home by Tina RadcliffeReady to Trust by Tina RadcliffeHis Holiday Prayer by Tina Radcliffe

Finding the Road Home (book one) : Daisy & Mitch’s story

Some paths need courage to follow…

Can they find their fresh start with roadblocks around every corner?

To care for her orphaned nieces and nephews, Daisy Anderson moved to a small town for a new deputy position—but now her job could be eliminated. With potential budget cuts looming, her only hope is to work with police chief Mitch Rainbolt to save their department’s funds. But can their fight for her job lead to something neither dared wish for: a future together?

Ready to Trust (book two) : Claire & Reece’s story 

His Holiday Prayer (book three) : Jena & Tucker’s story
← forthcoming release! (1st December, 2020)

Published by: Love Inspired (@LoveInspiredBks)
an imprint of Harlequin Books (@HarlequinBooks)
which is now an imprint of HarperCollins Publishing (@HarperCollins)

Note on Formats: Happily Love Inspired novels have the same kind of flexibility as Harlequin Heartwarming wherein you can receive these print copies in Regular Print, Larger Print or True Large Print for those who are vision impaired and/or have low vision. I personally love the Larger Print editions for Harlequin Heartwarming, Love Inspired Contemporary Romance & Love Inspired Suspense as it is much kinder on eyes of a migraineur!

However, the edition I received for Ready to Trust was regular print. I struggled to read this particular copy (after having two severe migraines at the end of July and a mini-nova grip me the weekend ahead of this blog tour stop) because for whichever reason the font size was greatly reduced in my copy from the standard of ‘regular print’ I am used to reading for this imprint. Coincidently, if you open my copy of Danielle Thorne’s His Daughter’s Prayer and place it next to this novel, Thorne’s font is *larger!* in size and their same edition! Only separated by a month! Talk about a confusing time to be reading #LoveInspired!

Converse via: #INSPYbooks and/or #INSPY, #SweetRomance and #LoveInspired

as well as #ChristFic, #ChristianFiction, #ContemporaryRomance or #INSPYRomance

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

About Tina Radcliffe

Tina Radcliffe

Tina Radcliffe is the American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Award-winning author of inspirational romance. She is an ACFW and Romance Writers of America Honor Roll member, and a four time ACFW Carol Award finalist. Tina is the author of fifteen inspirational romances for Harlequin HarperCollins.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • #INSPYAugust
Divider

Posted Tuesday, 11 August, 2020 by jorielov in #RomanceTuesdays, 21st Century, Balance of Faith whilst Living, Blog Tour Host, Child out of Wedlock, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Western Fiction, Cowboys & Ranches, Family Drama, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, Life Shift, Modern Day, Nurses & Hospital Life, Prism Book Tours, Romance Fiction, Second Chance Love, Single Mothers, Singletons & Commitment, Small Towne Fiction, Small Towne USA, Western Fiction

An INSPY Book Review during #CFSRS20 | Diving into the Coastal Hearts series by Janet W. Ferguson whilst reading “Magnolia Storms”

Posted Friday, 7 August, 2020 by jorielov , , , 2 Comments

#CFSRS20 readathon badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I have been participating in the Christian Fiction & Clean Reads Reading Safari readathon for the past three years now. I have found the readathon to be personally enriching as it is a wonderful month of respite for book bloggers who want to focus on reading outside their blog schedules and tuck into the gentler side of fiction which is Inspirational Fiction (ie. INSPY). A portion of INSPY is Christian Fiction however, INSPY overall encompasses all faiths and religious backgrounds as it is faith-inspired literature. As a participant of the readathon – each reader moves through the event at their own pacing – seeking stories to read, authors to get to know socially online and reading the stories which interest them throughout the readathon. As you participate there is a chance you can win a book or several throughout the month. This year I am reading a mixture of stories I’ve won during past CFSRS readathons, stories I’ve won through bookaways with Christian Fiction authors or bloggers as well as stories on my shelf from my personal library as well as borrowing INSPY stories in print and audio from my local libraries.

I won a bookaway during #CFSRS18 wherein I received a copy of “Magnolia Storms” direct from the author Janet W. Ferguson which she happily surprised me with inscribing! I was not obligated to post a review on behalf of this novel and have elected to do so for my own edification as well as continuing to share my bookish and readerly life on Jorie Loves A Story. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

NOTE: The Press Materials seen on this book review were courtesy of the author’s Media Kit and are used with permission of the author as stated on her page.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I wanted to read this story:

I have been wanting to read this lovely ever since it first arrived – however, the past few years have been unique years wherein what I have wanted to read hasn’t always aligned with the ability to read the stories. I attempted to start reading the books I had won during the first year of the readathon last July – however, try as I had – something always pulled me away. I was just thankful I was able to read any INSPY last July as it seemed like the month was taking me up in its tides and not allowing me the grace to settle into the stories which give my heart such an uplift to read.

This year, about two months ahead of the readathon (or as I thought it would be – as I hadn’t known it was switched from July to August until the end of June) I started pulling the stories off my shelves I felt I might be inclined to read this year. I had more than enough to choose from as INSPY Lit is one of my favourite areas of literature to explore – as seen on my 70 Authors Challenge and through my Story Vault wherein I house my review archives. I knew I was going to read more Love Inspired this year – both Contemporary & Suspense whilst I had a few blog tours in August for Harlequin Heartwarming & Love Inspired respectively – however, I wasn’t going to count those in my readathon goals. I like to use the readathon to read the stories already in my personal library, won in bookaways and/or which can become borrowed through my local libraries in either audio or print; whilst seeking out INSPY Fiction on Scribd in audiobook as well.

What first drew my eye into the premise of ‘Magnolia Storms’ when I requested it as one of my book choices in [2018] was the fact this was rooted in the after effects of Hurricane Katrina and storm seasons in the Gulf. Being a traveller during Katrina and having had many conversations with the evacuating families who were fleeing out of its path who had found themselves where I had been at the time in Birmingham, Alabama was quite the experience. Most were on their way back to Louisiana, others were going west to either Colorado or Houston, Texas whilst others were staying in Birmingham as they were given a warm welcome. I couldn’t blame them – it was a friendly city.

Storms in any variety are a part of our everyday lives – they bring destruction and they bring a kind of wrath that is hard to understand. They have after effects that are felt long and wide after a storm has passed. Look at the cities decimated by tornadoes every year and you will see how powerful and how hard it is to find mercy in the dawn after those storms have passed. Hurricanes like their tornado cousins cause emotional trauma and personal loss.

I used to read and watch a lot of natural disaster stories – for reasons which are elusive to me, however several pushed me a bit over the edge of what I could handle – especially if it involved flash flooding, earthquakes, wildfires or a deluge of tornadoes. I had had my fill at the time and only recently re-watched one of my favourites which was about tornadoes affecting a power plant [Atomic Twister] which started Mark Paul Gosselaar and Sharon Lawrence – as it was available for free via Roku. It was hard to believe how terrifying it was all over again and how hard it was to watch one of the team sacrifice his own life to save everyone else when it come to going into the contaminated room to give the team more time to save the plant.

This first novel of the Coastal Hearts series felt like a beautiful segue into Realistic INSPY Fiction which combines the drama of living in today’s world as we each face the different (and complicated!) storms which set to unravel our internal and external worlds. It is how we choose to rise through those unforeseen adversities which seek to challenge our perspectives on life and how we want to be living – but with faith, hope and a bit of grit to get through those challenging hours – we can all seek solid ground on the other side of the ‘storms’. This is why I wanted to read “Magnolia Storms” and this year is the best year I believe for me to ‘meet’ the story as who hasn’t been shuffling their own sea of storms crashing ashore this 2020?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Magnolia Storms novel Photography Credit: © jorielovesastory.com.

Magnolia Storms
Subtitle: A Coastal Hearts novel
by Janet W. Ferguson
Source: Won a Bookaway

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780997658767

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction, Meteorology, Realistic Fiction, Southern Lit, Sweet Romance, Women's Fiction


on 20th August, 2017

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 280

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Coastal Heart series:

Magnolia Storms(book one)

Falling for Grace(book two)

The Art of Rivers (book three)

Star Rising (book four)

Published by: Southern Sun Press

Formats Available: Trade Paperback and Ebook

Converse via: #ContemporaryRomance, #INSPYRomance, #INSPYbooks,
as well as #SouthernLit and #CoastalHearts

About Janet W. Ferguson

Janet W. Ferguson

Janet W. Ferguson is a Grace Award winner and a Christy Award finalist. She grew up in Mississippi and received a degree in Banking and Finance from the University of Mississippi. She has served as a children’s minister and a church youth volunteer. An avid reader, she worked as a librarian at a large public high school. She writes humorous inspirational fiction for people with real lives and real problems. Janet and her husband have two grown children, one really smart dog, and a cat that allows them to share the space.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • #CFSRS20
Divider

Posted Friday, 7 August, 2020 by jorielov in #CFSRS20, #JorieLovesIndies, 21st Century, Balance of Faith whilst Living, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blogosphere Events & Happenings, Book Review (non-blog tour), Christianity, Contemporary Romance, Family Drama, Family Life, Flashbacks & Recollective Memories, Indie Author, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction | Non-Fiction, Life Shift, Medical Fiction, Mental Health, Mississippi, Modern Day, Motherhood | Parenthood, Post-911 (11th September 2001), PTSD, Reading Challenges, Realistic Fiction, Romance Fiction, Second Chance Love, Single Fathers, Single Mothers, Singletons & Commitment, Sisters & the Bond Between Them, Sweet Romance, Terminal Illness &/or Cancer, Trauma | Recovery in Hospital, Traumatic Injury, Twitterland & Twitterverse Event, Women's Fiction

Jorie’s favourite INSPY #readathon | Celebrating the JOY of #CFSRS20 – wherein #JorieReads a heap of lovely Christian Fiction throughout August!

Posted Monday, 3 August, 2020 by jorielov , 0 Comments

#CFSRS20 readathon badge created by Jorie in Canva.

This *August!* I’ve decided to forego organising what I’ll be reading during #CFSRS20 and leave it up to the moment I pick up a book and find myself falling into its chapters – ergo, Jorie gets her #INSPYreads on for the next 30 *28!* days!

Quick Links:

2020 #CFSRS20 Reading Challenge

& this Year’s Reading Challenge Sponsors (Authors & Pubs)

& the tags: #amreadingcfsrs20 & #cfsrs20winner

Rainbow Digital Clip Art Washi Tape made by The Paper Pegasus. Purchased on Etsy by Jorie and used with permission.

Each Summer, I happily look forward to the Christian & Clean Fiction Reading Safari hosted by the lovely Sydney @ Singing Librarian Books, of whom I originally crossed paths whilst hosting for Cedar Fort Publishing & Media. I have been a long standing hybrid reader of mainstream & INSPY markets of Literature since I was a young girl – wherein I would go to the regular bookstores as well as my hometown Indie inasmuch as my favourite Christian Bookstores as well. Uniquely, I bought most of my beloved Mandie series at the Indie bookstore as they stocked them more regularly than the Christian bookstores! I’m still hoping I have a full set – one day I’ll know for sure when I can unpack my Mandie books.

Usually this lovely event and readathon is hosted in JULY – however, this year, it was shifted into August and for me, I believe this was a better fit for me as a reader. I had a hard ending to May (ie. my migraines started to resume) whereas June & July were a bit of a blur with clustering migraines which knocked out more days and weeks than I desire to acknowledge possible. The latter of which was the past two weeks wherein I was barely able to surface on my blog whilst I was just attempting to resume reading as I was finally finding my focus again. This last migraine was a beast and I wish it on no one.

Regular readers of Jorie Loves A Story will be familiar with my keen attachment to INSPY Literature & Christian Fiction (in particular) by how regularly those stories are featured on my blog and/or my social feeds. One of the authors featured this year during the readathon is Danielle Thorne of whom I hosted during @SatBookChat this July. My reviews of her two novels “Josette” and “His Daughter’s Prayer” were postponed due to my severe migraines and the intensity of the lightning storms – as I did try to keep reading betwixt and between the migraines themselves which plagued me for the final two weeks of the month, however, the lightning storms made it impossible to gain any traction with the connectivity issues I was facing to update the reviews in progress. I’ll be sharing more about this lovely author this first week of the readathon – hopefully to inspire others to pick up her novels, to re-read over our #SatBookChat convo and to happily join the readathon to support the author and/or win one of her lovely books. She graciously gave two of my chatters one of her novels – the two stories we had chatted about during @SatBookChat.

It isn’t just my love of INSPY & Christian Fiction, but the wonderful uplift of JOY get have whenever you’re residing in one of these kinds of stories. I know I’ll be reading some more Love Inspired Suspense this month as it is a yearly happiness of joy to focus on those lovelies but where I find my readerly hat resting outside of Love Inspired is anyone’s guess!

Thus, I am a few days late joining the readathon this year – however, I previously selected the books to choose amongst to read this year and I couldn’t be happier to get get started! Some are from my backlogue of reviews, others are from my personal library – including the ones I’ve won in past Christian Reading Safaris or other bookaways! As that is the extended joy of this kind of readathon – you get to read the stories you’ve already selected to read whilst you get the chance to ‘meet’ new authors of INSPY if your name is pulled as one of the weekly winners!

Talk about a lovely readathon, eh?

Plus it is all at your own time and pacing –
how many stories you want to focus on and how fast you read them as well.

I’m looking forward to pulling a book off my shelf, setting into the story and having a nice readathon spent consumed by the books which give me a heap of JOY to be reading!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The following convo is regarding

the Christian & Clean Fiction Summer Reading Safari,
or as you will find the posts on my blog & Twitter feeds: #amreadingcfsrs120 OR #CFSRS20

I compiled this Q&A last year and am re-sharing it this year in case someone would like to participate but didn’t understand the specifics. I also added a bottom section pertinent to the Google Form which is replacing the way we added our entries in 2018 July.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

We don’t have to review all the books we’re reading this month, but we can talk about them on Twitter or in a wrap-up post on our blogs or just read them w/o socially sharing them? That’s the option in the bookaway for “Read a book”

A: Yes. If you read a book that is Christian or Clean Fiction, you can enter it in the google form for points in the giveaways. ← In lieu of Rafflecopter, this year we have a Google form.

We can read and review ANY author of our choice –

as long as their Christian / INSPY or Clean – right?

A: Yes. You can read and review and author of your choice as long as it’s Christian or Clean, but you do get more entries in the Reading Challenge Google Form if you read a book by an author or publisher sponsor.

IF we are not in the Facebook group (as I use Twitter) but we read a book on the Facebook Challenge page (on the challenge blog) OR if we read book by an author listed on that page, we enter that title into that space on the bookaway?

A: Yes. You can enter this title to for extra points in the Reading Challenge Google Form. :)

Here’s what I was most worried about after finding 15+ audiobooks I want to listen to this month which actually count as INSPY/ChrisFic reads —

I am off-setting my readings with audiobooks, as I am trying to curb a repeat of Spring where I had a high frequency of migraines. When you say ‘read’ a book – you are accepting some of us are reading print books *and* audiobooks?

I wanted to confirm this wasn’t format specific to ONLY print or ebooks?

A: As for “reading” a book, this can be print,

e-book, or audiobook. What ever works best for you. :)

In regards to the Google Form:

Let’s say you’ve decided to follow a new author (ie. Twitter, their blog, their website, or author newsletter) but didn’t get to finish a book? Add that info to the form for the day it applies. Maybe you followed a new author + shared a s/o for the readathon via Twitter – add both to the form for that day’s entry. If you finished a book, shared a tweet *and!* followed a new author – mark all those fields on the form! Also, if you are blogging a review and/or sharing a review via GoodReads, LibraryThing or another site – those links also count on the form, too (for the days they apply). As a for instance – I shared a tweet and followed a new author on the 1st of July, 2019.

Rainbow Digital Clip Art Washi Tape made by The Paper Pegasus. Purchased on Etsy by Jorie and used with permission.

Jorie’s INSPY Reads for AUGUST 2020:

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • #CFSRS20
Divider

Posted Monday, 3 August, 2020 by jorielov in Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, JLAS Update Post, Reading Challenges

An INSPY Blog Book Tour | Entering into the Legacy of Faith series within the third installment which concludes the series: “How Sweet It Is” by Robin Lee Hatcher

Posted Thursday, 23 July, 2020 by jorielov , , , , 0 Comments

Book Review banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I’ve been hosting for Prism Book Tours since September of 2017 – having noticed the badge on Tressa’s blog (Wishful Endings) as we would partake in the same blog tours and/or book blogosphere memes. As I enquired about hosting for Prism, I found I liked the niche of authors and stories they were featuring regularly. Oft-times you’ll find Prism Book Tours alighting on my blog through the series of guest features and spotlights with notes I’ll be hosting on behalf of their authors when I’m not showcasing book reviews on behalf of Harlequin Heartwarming which has become my second favourite imprint of Harlequin next to my beloved #LoveINSPIRED Suspense. I am also keenly happy PRISM hosts a variety of Indie Authors and INSPY Fiction novelists.

I received a complimentary copy of “How Sweet It Is” direct from the publisher Thomas Nelson (an imprint of HarperCollins Christian Publishing) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I wanted to read this story:

I’ve had my eye on the collective works by Ms Hatcher for quite a long while now – even before I first started to work on my list of the INSPY Authors I wanted to challenge myself to start reading. Her novels are thankfully available at my local library and I’ve recently realised her audiobooks are available via #Scribd. It was actually my intention to listen to the first novel of this series via my library’s OverDrive catalogue and either read the second novel via my library and/or listen to the audiobook via Scribd.

What I hadn’t expected is to enter into the series on the final installment without prior knowledge of how the series first began – however, with my migraines clustering together off/on this month and a series of allergies and unwellness rounding out my hours – I’ve found myself unable to read and/or listen to audiobooks for most of July. Thereby, I decided not to get discouraged by what I couldn’t accomplish before I moved into “How Sweet It Is” – as for starters, I love #foodiefiction stories and I love how food can become a catalyst of either change, new beginnings or a stepping stone for a person’s life.

More than anything, as a hybrid reader of both INSPY and mainstream stories – I love being able to soak into an INSPY Romance wherein I get to understand a new author’s vision for their characters and/or their series and become a step closer to enlarging my favourite INSPY authors list! Contemporary INSPY is a beloved favourite of mine – which thankfully in recent years I’ve been hungrily chasing after because of how wicked good the authors are writing these stories I’ve enjoyed! Authors such as Kellie Coates Gilbert (see also Review) and Becky Wade (see also Review) to name a few. Their uniquely realistic storylines within the world of INSPY is what encourages me to seeking out more authors who are writing a similar style of theirs – which is why I was quite motivated to read  my first Robin Lee Hatcher novel! Whereas previously, when it came to seeking out Hatcher’s other novels – I would lean more towards her Historicals than Contemporaries. Isn’t that interesting?

I’ll be participating in the Christian Fiction Reading Safari (hosted by Singing Librarian Books) in August and I’ve decided it would be a great time to revisit this series! As the memories of this novel will still be fresh in my mind. I do find it interesting how the authors I’ve wanted to read in the past are able to come into my life as a book blogger and thereby, reaffirm the circle of how stories and authors find us at moments we’re definitely meant to be reading their stories!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

An INSPY Blog Book Tour | Entering into the Legacy of Faith series within the third installment which concludes the series: “How Sweet It Is” by Robin Lee HatcherHow Sweet It Is
by Robin Lee Hatcher
Source: Author via Prism Book Tours

He lost his brother. She lost her dream. Together, they might find what they’re really looking for.

Holly Stanford is doing the best she can with the restaurant she inherited from her late uncle. But after her fiancé abandons her and the business, Holly regrets having given up her dream of becoming a pastry chef. Now a few bad financial decisions might cost her everything, including her hope for the future.

Jed Henning has done well with his new company despite his prodigal brother’s behavior. When Jed‘s father, the controlling member of the board of directors, temporarily suspends operations until his sons work out their differences, Jed resentfully chases his brother, Chris, to Boise. There Jed rents a basement apartment from Holly and hopes to convince Chris to get his act together before their company collapses.

Unaware that Holly is the one person who can help him get through to Chris, Jed starts the tough work of reconciliation armed with little more than a few family photographs, a stack of old letters, and a Bible that belonged to his great-grandfather, Andrew Henning. And as romance blossoms between Holly and Jed, the story of Jed’s great-grandfather highlights the power of God across the generations and the legacy of a family’s courageous faith.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780785219354

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, Sweet Romance


Published by Thomas Nelson

on 14th July, 2020

Format: Paperback ARC

Pages: 304

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Legacy of Faith series:

Who I Am With You by Robin Lee HatcherCross My Heart by Robin Lee HatcherHow Sweet It Is by Robin Lee Hatcher

Who I Am With You (book one)

Cross My Heart (book two)

How Sweet It Is (book three)

Published by: Thomas Nelson (@ThomasNelson)
an imprint of HarperCollins Christian Publishing (@HCChristianPub)

Formats Available: Trade Paperback, Audiobook and Ebook

Converse via: #ContemporaryRomance, #INSPYRomance, #INSPYbooks,
as well as #SweetRomance & #INSPY and #HSIIPrism, #TNZFiction

About Robin Lee Hatcher

Robin Lee Hatcher is the author of over 80 novels and novellas with over five million copies of her books in print. She is known for her heartwarming and emotionally charged stories of faith, courage, and love. Her numerous awards include the RITA Award, the Carol Award, the Christy Award, the HOLT Medallion, the National Reader’s Choice Award, and the Faith, Hope & Love Reader’s Choice Award.

Robin is also the recipient of prestigious Lifetime Achievement Awards from both American Christian Fiction Writers and Romance Writers of America. When not writing, she enjoys being with her family, spending time in the beautiful Idaho outdoors,

Bible art journaling, reading books that make her cry, watching romantic movies, and decorative planning. Robin makes her home on the outskirts of Boise, sharing it with a demanding Papillon dog and a persnickety tuxedo cat.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Thursday, 23 July, 2020 by jorielov in 21st Century, Balance of Faith whilst Living, Blog Tour Host, Contemporary Romance, Content Note, Family Life, Fly in the Ointment, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, Life Shift, Modern Day, Prism Book Tours, Romance Fiction

Book Spotlight | Featuring Notes by Jorie on behalf of “The Artist’s Healer” (Book Two: Grace-by-the-Sea) by Regina Scott

Posted Sunday, 19 July, 2020 by jorielov , , 0 Comments

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

You might remember I spotlighted the first novel in this series The Matchmaker’s Rogue earlier this year in January? When I realised Ms Scott was reaching a milestone in her publishing career (her 50th book is now released! imagine?) and the kindness of receiving a *surprise!* bookmail which enclosed a copy of The Matchmaker’s Rogue – there isn’t much which would have made this whole experience hosting Ms Scott this year any sweeter than it already has felt! I was thankful the series has gained traction as well with other readers – as I missed the announcement for the second novel in the series but ooh, how wicked happy I am to be part of the celebrations to welcome to the world: The Artist’s Healer.

I have a good feeling about this series and I cannot wait to start reading it – as the Regency is a personal favourite setting of mine for #HistRom! I seriously cannot get enough of the Regency – even if I have the tendency of disappearing inside its folds as regularly as the Victorian – there are just certain aspects of both eras (especially if set in the UK) which are appealling to my readerly heart! Plus, there is a lot of hidden drama & emotional angst at times within the Regency – as propriety would dictate but ooh! I get caught in the romance of it all – how the relationships form and how they forge together a future in a generation that was not very lenient about individual expressions & equality amongst the sexes.

Wicked sweet news for those of you on #Scribd!

ALL 3x of the Grace-by-the-Sea novels are available to be read!

These are all ebook editions which is why I only read the chapter samplers – which provided my notes on this spotlight for the third installment. I do wish they had audio versions simultaneously released – as I could then carry on with the series once I read the first novel.

For now – brew yourself a cuppa of your favourite tea & enjoy getting to know a bit more about this story & the latest release by Ms Scott! I have already chosen to keep this series part of my Sweet Romance reads during my annual Christian Fiction & Clean Reads readathon hosted by Singing Librarian Books – the readathon was shifted from July to August this year – and if I were to be honest? I cannot wait for it to begin! It gives me a beautiful bit of joy to seek out the stories I love to read and to explore new subniches of INSPY Literature as well as discovering new authors who are writing these kinds of stories! I felt it was the best time to focus on The Matchmaker’s Rogue considering how my readerly life has had a lot of ups and downs these past seven months.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

How seriously impressive is this collage featuring the collective works of Regina Scott? It truly held my breath to see all the lovely covers & musing about their storylines – I look forward to continuing my journey into her backlist!

50 Books Collage for Regina Scott's publishing career - provided by Prism Book Tours and is used with permission.

When my first book, The Unflappable Miss Fairchild, was published, I never dreamed I’d have the chance to publish 49 more books. It was enough to know a publisher had taken a chance on me, that the story in my head and my heart would reach readers. I have loved the Regency period for years, so it’s not surprising that many more stories set in that time period would urge me to tell them, culminating in the publication of The Artist’s Healer, the third book in my Grace-by-the-Sea series. Over the years, I’ve been blessed to be able to delve into other eras and locations as well: pioneer Seattle, turn-of-the-century Texas, the old West. Many, many thanks to all my readers for allowing me to be a part of their lives. 50 books! Who knew? Here’s to many more adventures ahead!

—Regina

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Artist's Healer by Regina Scott

Converse via: #GraceByTheSeaSeries and #Regency
as well as #HistRom or #HistoricalRomance and #Regina50

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

add to LibraryThing

Published: 6th June, 2020 | ISBN: 979-8651722365

Grace-by-the-Sea: Where romance and adventure come home.

Spunky artist and entrepreneur Abigail Archer is determined to see her friend, Jesslyn Denby, restored as director of the spa at Grace-by-the-Sea, even if that means ousting the news physician who took her place. A shame she was recently injured and requires him to dance attendance on her. But if he thinks she’ll meekly accept his orders, he’d better think again!

Doctor Linus Bennett came to the little coastal village with his young son to escape a troubled past. He’s not about to lose his post to some crusader, but the pretty painter awakens feelings he’d thought long buried. When it appears the French are about to invade, Abigail and Linus must work together to save the village. In doing so, the doctor may just find that falling in love with the outspoken Abigail is the best prescription to heal his wounded heart.

This sweet, clean Regency is the sequel to The Heiress’s Convenient Husband.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Divider

Posted Sunday, 19 July, 2020 by jorielov in Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Spotlight, Indie Author, Prism Book Tours, Sweet Romance