Author: Christi Silbaugh

Blog Book Tour | “Nourish: The Beginner’s Guide to eating #healthy and staying fit” by Christi Silbaugh This is one of my wicked new #recipe creators I *love!* reading!

Posted Friday, 15 May, 2015 by jorielov , , , 4 Comments

Cookery Delights | Savoury & Ambrosial | Cookbook reviews by the Bookish Foodie Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Monstruo Estudio.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Cedar Fort whereupon I am thankful to have such a diverse amount of novels and non-fiction titles to choose amongst to host. I received a complimentary copy of “NOURISH” direct from the publisher Front Table Books (imprint of Cedar Fort, Inc) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Why I positively *LOVE!* Front Table Books!:

Front Table Books creates visually appealing cookbooks, in a super portable size with amazing in-line features such as crisp and clean food photography, styling the recipes to be representative in real-world relate-ability! These are the kinds of pictures you want to reach through the page, grab the plate of food, and enjoy a good nosh! The sections of interest in-between the recipes have cunningly tasty samples of the foods you can create with the ingredients you’ve already might have selected from the in-front guide provided by the author.

I might not judge books by their covers (read this tweet) but when it comes to cooking & baking, I find photographs help me envision what the ingredients are trying to tell me will be the end product. I am not naturally akin to the kitchen arts as my Mum, as I side-stepped into it as her sous chef, but somewhere between my late twenties and mid thirties, I’ve started to come into my own. I never even collected cookbooks with a zest for self-motivated exploration until this same time frame as it all began with the Vegan Soul Kitchen by Bryant Terry (synopsis on author’s site). His soulful approach to curating this passionate connection between food, heart, and soul through the comforting foods that can give us solace and joy was a turning point for me.

Ever since then, I’ve been a bit more in-step with my Mum’s pursuit of seeking out wicked quality cookbooks for #healthyeats in combination of living foods, whole grains, (local) farm fresh fruit & veg staples (by eating through the seasons vs going against them), and seeking out the alternative lifestyle choices in eating via vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, and macrobiotic practices in a self-guided wellness pursuit of harmonic bliss. The attributes of natural living and green sustainability practices to cut down the footprint of commericalised veg production walks hand in hand with seeking a route that is right for your family and stepping outside the box of where others walk.

Stumbling across Cedar Fort Publishing & Media became a godsend in so many interconnected ways, as it opened up the door to discovering a wide net of debut novelists and established story-tellers, but concurrent to that, it allowed me the grace of seeking out cookbooks and books on bakery delights to finally seek out my own path towards establishing my own foodie style in the kitchen. I have a small tome of cookbooks whose authors have given me a heap of joy in reading their books, but moreso even than the joy, is recognising even late bloomers in the kitchen like Julia Child and I, can start to walk confidently when we find a collective set of authors whose own lifepaths are walking side by side our own. People who have chosen to seek out healthy alternatives and a way of how to thrive on food that is organically natural in it’s benefits and uplifting in it’s purity.

Front Table Books have editions fit for any home cook’s library as they master the cross-indexed system for easy reference and a detailed style of breaking down the bones of cooking (and baking) everyone from a newbie to a seasoned cook can enjoy using! For those who graduated out of being their family’s sous chef and have surprised themselves in wanting to take a more active role (such as I), there will be an instant appreciation for the low-yield (on your budget) ingredients to snazzy ways to stay gourmet without stretching you past your limits. Even if you are outside the economic crunch, but are seeking quality and healthy meals with a wicked sweet array of focus, Front Table Books needs to be on your radar!

IF print books provides a budget issue, you can get their releases in ebooks, however as my blog’s subtitle implies (inasmuch as my twitterverse feeds), I am a fierce advocate for local libraries. You’d be plumb surprised, but libraries do not always know which cookbooks (or fiction for that matter!) to purchase that would fill a need of their patrons. My Mum started requesting cookbooks on all the different styles of foodie culture I’ve mentioned thus far, and she received a thank you from the Acquisitions Dept. for finding the books which hold a wide appeal for others seeking the same healthy avenues as our family.

I always lament: if you cannot personally purchase book, hop over to your local library (by car or by computer) and submit a purchase request! Not only are you helping yourself, but your helping to inspire a network of like-minded readers discover what you’ve found and thereby have spread the joy of the discovery tenfold!

IF your library has the same ILL (inter-library loan) rules as mine, you can request ALL books 6mos outside of Pub! The tricky bit is with hectic lives we forget when those 6mos expire, but if your able to keep notes and track the dates to request for your ILL holds, your a surefire step ahead of me!

Most of all, if you want to read for health or for personal enjoyment, there is always a will to find a way to get the book your seeking into your hands! Ooh, I had forgotten to mention, that the largest depository of ebooks in the United States are public libraries (they even wrote an article about this recently); it might not be my route to books, but I don’t mind passing along information that helps another reader! After all, I spotlight Digital First editions of novels I eventually read in print editions!

Blog Book Tour | “Nourish: The Beginner’s Guide to eating #healthy and staying fit” by Christi Silbaugh This is one of my wicked new #recipe creators I *love!* reading!NOURISH: The Beginner's Guide to eating healthy and staying fit
by Christi Silbaugh
Source: Direct from Publisher

Discover a happier you in this beginner's guide to a healthy lifestyle!

There's more than cookery in this cookbook! Give your body what it wants and your taste buds what they're craving with these mouthwatering morsels.

[sampling of the menu choices]

Kate, Potato, and Smoked Gouda Quiche

Shoestring Garlic Parsnip Fries

Spicy Quinoa Cakes

Vegan Caramel Cheesecake Bites

Green Piña Colada

Of course, you'll get lots of delicious recipes and meal plans - free from processed foods, gluten, and sugar. But you'll also find yoga "recipes" step-by-step exercise routines, and Pilates photos to nurture your mental and spiritual health too.

Perfect for college students or anyone who wants to turn over a new leaf, this book will nourish your body, mind, and spirit for life!

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

Also by this author: Gluten-Free Made Easy, Gourmet Cooking for Two

Genres: Cookery


Published by Front Table Books

on 14th April, 2015

Format: Paperback

Pages: 240

I previously hosted her for Front Table Books blog tours:

Published ByFront Table Books (@FrontTableBooks),
an imprint of Cedar Fort, Inc (@CedarFortBooks)

Available Formats: Paperback, Ebook

Converse on Twitter via: #NOURISH, #healthyeats, & #ChristiSilbaugh

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.comChristi Silaugh

Christi Silbaugh started cooking gluten-free in 2009 when her daughter was diagnosed with celiac disease. Since then, she has created and posted over one thousand gluten-free recipes. Her cooking obsession and love for her family has turned a hobby into a full-time career of blogging and writing. She is the self-educated chef and author of three cooking blogs, including Mom, What’s For Dinner; Gourmet Cooking For Two; and Zero Calorie Life. She writes for foodie media giants Glam Media and Federated Media and works for Fast Forward Events, covering food and wine events in San Diego.

Be sure to check the author out on YouTube!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Divider

Posted Friday, 15 May, 2015 by jorielov in Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Cedar Fort Publishing & Media, Cookbook, Cookery, Indie Author, Non-Fiction, The Bookish Foodie

Blog Book Tour | “Gourmet Cooking for Two” by Christi Silbaugh I personally love her style of #healthyeating #cookbooks, as she makes it budget friendly & wicked easy to prepare #beyondyum meals!

Posted Monday, 15 December, 2014 by jorielov , , , 3 Comments

Parajunkee Designs

Gourmet Cooking for Two by Christi Silbaugh

I previously hosted her for Front Table Books on the Gluten-Free Made Easy blog tour!

Published ByFront Table Books (@FrontTableBooks),
an imprint of Cedar Fort, Inc (@CedarFortBooks)

Available Formats: Paperback, Ebook

Converse on Twitter via: #GourmetCookingForTwo & #ChristiSilbaugh

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Cedar Fort whereupon I am thankful to have such a diverse amount of novels and non-fiction titles to choose amongst to host. I received a complimentary copy of “Gourmet Cooking for Two” direct from the publisher Front Table Books (imprint of Cedar Fort, Inc) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Inspired to Read:

Ever since I was properly introduced to the budget friendly, wicked delish and beyond brilliant recipes within Silbaugh’s Gluten-Free Made Easy I have become a dedicated appreciator of her cookbooks! Everyone has a budget but what I appreciate with Silbaugh’s approach is that she matches my own family’s belief that wicked quality food doesn’t have to break your wallet! You can eat healthy yet keep mindful of using less ingredients or supplementing what you need with what you have on hand already and create a dish to savour! I love this the most about her cookbooks because I think at some point everyone is going to be touched by an economic crisis of one shape or another due to the changing environment of the economy (not just limited to those of us stateside!). Why not become a champion of the cookbook writers who are giving us tips, tricks, and wicked sweet insights on how to create smashingly delish recipes without the worriment over never having ‘enough ingredients’ to pull off a delightful meal?

Blog Book Tour | “Gourmet Cooking for Two” by Christi Silbaugh I personally love her style of #healthyeating #cookbooks, as she makes it budget friendly & wicked easy to prepare #beyondyum meals!Gourmet Cooking for Two
by Christi Silbaugh
Source: Direct from Publisher

Making gourmet meals for two is the perfect way to grow closer to your sweetheart, whether you are a new couple, empty nesters, or somewhere in between. With romantic tips to help you spice up your love life, and over 100 delicious, high quality recipes such as Brazilian Red Snapper and Tuscan Potato Soup, you’ll never want to go out to dinner again.

Places to find the book:

Also by this author: Gluten-Free Made Easy, NOURISH: The Beginner's Guide to eating healthy and staying fit

Genres: Cookery


Published by Front Table Books

on 31st August, 2014

Format: Paperback

Pages: 240

About Christi Silbaugh

Christi Silbaugh

Christi Silbaugh started cooking gluten-free in 2009 when her daughter was diagnosed with celiac disease. Since then, she has created and posted over one thousand gluten-free recipes. Her cooking obsession and love for her family has turned a hobby into a full-time career of blogging and writing. She is the self-educated chef and author of three cooking blogs, including Mom, What’s For Dinner; Gourmet Cooking For Two; and Zero Calorie Life. She writes for foodie media giants Glam Media and Federated Media and works for Fast Forward Events, covering food and wine events in San Diego.

Be sure to check the author out on YouTube!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

A cookbook for every singleton who is a romantic at heart:

An insightful clue how I’m a Romantic at my core is the fact one of my favourite genres to devour are within the “Romance” section of any bookshoppe or literary realm of delightful joy! If you have dropped by on Twitter during one of my #ChocLitSaturdays chats OR have seen how many ChocLit books I’ve read in 2014, you might have gained a bit of a clue too! However, what truly perked my ears to read this particular cookbook is the fact it specifically encourages you to create wicked awesome gourmet meals for two foodies who want to dine well but keep within their food budgets! Ms. Silbaugh was inspired to create this one as an empty-nester but I found inspiration as a singleton who is optimistic about her future (read my thoughts on my review of The Language of Hoofbeats). I love discovering new recipes with full-on flavour profiles intermixed with ingredients which are easy to locate locally and do not require living in a specific geographic location! Sometimes what irks me about professional cooks (i.e. I am referring to celebrity chefs on the telly!) is they have the tendency to forget half of us who are home cooks do not live in an urban metropolis where every unique ingredient known to man is obtainable. Therefore, even though I love to cook Indian dishes alongside Italian, or intermix the two completely (hey! sometimes you have to work with what you have in your cupboards, fridge, and pantry!), I have a passionate preference for finding ways to cook gourmet with everyday resources which can inspire a savoury meal experience!

Interlocked with every recipe inside this tome of knowledge for herbivores, omnivores, and the dedicated carnivore (I should mention Pescetarians would be happy too!) you will find notes on how to spice up your Romance by giving key examples of how you can ignite a bit of passion and love into your dining. If that is not inspiring enough, you have a feast for the eyes with the larger than life photographs which showcase (and whet your palette!) the dishes themselves! Whomever does the photography for the Front Table Books line of cooking and baking books is rock solid on delivery! I am never disappointed as they have clarity of focus with the joy of feeling as though you could lift the food off the page itself! Yum, yum, yum!

Jorie is not always the best time planner : therefore this is a list of must cook specialties!

If you hadn’t noticed, I truly have the best of intentions, but my delivery is not always on par with my plans, as I simply had time whittle away from me! I wasn’t able to grab the ingredients I did not have on hand in time to prepare any of the lovelies which inspired me to write a list of ‘must cook specalities’ found inside Gourmet Cooking for Two! Alas, this simply means a lot of future blog posts sprinkled throughout 2015! If you hadn’t previously clicked over to my Story Vault, scrolling until you see the category “Cookery: Savoury & Baking (with a healthy bent of focus)” you’ll be plumb excited about the possibilities once you do! Per each review, I give a list of what I am planning on cooking and featuring on Jorie Loves A Story! If you start to follow me on Twitter (be sure to comment in the threads below or tweet me when you do!) you’ll start to notice the cookery & foodie tweets flying around like mad crazy! Laughs. Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Go Indie
Divider

Posted Monday, 15 December, 2014 by jorielov in Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Cedar Fort Publishing & Media, Cookbook, Cookery, Indie Author, Non-Fiction, The Bookish Foodie

+Blog Book Tour+ “Gluten-Free Made Easy” by Christi Silbaugh & Michele Vilseck

Posted Wednesday, 10 September, 2014 by jorielov , , , , 0 Comments

Parajunkee Designs

Published by: Front Table Books (@FrontTableBooks)

an imprint of Cedar Fort, Inc (@CedarFort)

Available Formats: Paperback & Ebook

Official Author Websites:

Christi Silbaugh: Site | @MomWhatsForDinn | Facebook | YouTube

Converse via: #GlutenFreeMadeEasy, #gfree & #glutenfree

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Cedar Fort whereupon I am thankful to have such a diverse amount of novels and non-fiction titles to choose amongst to host. I received a complimentary copy of “Gluten-Free Made Easy” direct from the publisher Front Table Books (imprint of Cedar Fort, Inc) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Inspired to Read:

I originally shared this on yesterday’s tour stop but I felt I should leave this on this tour stop because it still applies as I selected both tours at the same time to host; thereby everything I mentioned yesterday still directly inspired me to read this cookbook too!

I have been embarking on a Quest for living healthier and more vibrantly than I had been before I stumbled across a few culinary disciplines: Macrobiotics, Veganism, Vegetarian, Whole Foods, and Gluten-Free living. I also came across an appreciation for raw juicing as the benefits of drinking vegetable juice as it was intended to be consumed has a strong impact on my well being moreso than always attempting to eat the number of vegetables we all need to have on a regular basis. At my heart of hearts, I am a vegan vegetarian who accidentally became gluten-free! In reality, I am living an omnivore life whilst finding myself Gluten-Sensitive. Circumstances affect all of us from one point in our lives to the next, and although I spent five years eating through the seasons whilst purchasing farm to farmer’s market fresh fruit and veg (all organic or non-chemical grown); last September I had to put that part of my life on hold and switch back.

When I saw this particular cookbook come up for tour at Cedar Fort, I was celebrating the joy of the find because one area of cookery I am always delighted by is *baking!* I daresay, I was a budding baker long before I became a budding chef! Laughs. In truth, I was a lot like Julia Child — I came into my own with the ways of food and the kitchen a bit late in life (my late twenties) which grew out of my passion for eating. I love the experiences food can create and the palette of choice due to different cultural styles of cooking and the different ingredients that can be combined to create a bit of bliss inside of a bite! I rarely meet an herb or a spice that I do not passionately become addicted too (one reason the film “The Mistress of Spices” is amongst my favourites!) and I am forever growing in appreciation for Ancient Grains & Fibers. My favourite resource for picking up these beautiful lovelies to cook with and grow in appreciation for tastes unlike any I grew up knowing so well is Bob’s Red Mill.

Sorting out how to narrow down the choices within the pages of Gluten-Free Made Easy, was not as easy as falling in love with the variety of choice! One thing I had forgotten to mention yesterday on my review of The Secrets of Gluten-Free Baking is that particular cookbook requires a more flexible budget whereas Gluten-Free Made Easy works well for individuals and families on a more tight budget. Also, as I am only gluten-sensitive I paired an element with one of my recipes that someone who has Celiac Disease could not eat themselves; this is simply my journey as a girl who strives to live as healthy as she can whilst eating around her gluten-sensitivities.

+Blog Book Tour+ “Gluten-Free Made Easy” by Christi Silbaugh & Michele VilseckGluten-Free Made Easy
by Christi Silbaugh, Michele Vilseck
Source: Direct from Publisher

When The Secrets of Gluten-Free Baking author Jillayne Clements learned gluten was off the table, her taste buds rebelled. But she soon discovered that gluten-free food can be healthy and delicious! Use her unique whole foods approach to create:

Cinnamon Rolls
Buttermilk Biscuits
Honey Oak Bread
Breadsticks and more!

Whether you're on a temporary or permanent gluten-free diet, learn Jillayne's tips, preferred ingredients, and secret against-the-grain methods to baking delicious food without gluten. This book blends taste and satisfying nutrition into mouthwatering gluten-free recipes your whole family will enjoy.

Bake your way to Better Health today!

Places to find the book:

Also by this author: Gourmet Cooking for Two, NOURISH: The Beginner's Guide to eating healthy and staying fit

Genres: Cookery, Gluten-Free Cooking & Baking


Published by Front Table Books

on 13th May, 2014

Format: Paperback

Pages: 280

Author Biographies:Christi Silbaugh

Christi Silbaugh (seen in the photo) started cooking gluten-free in 2009 when her daughter was diagnosed with celiac disease. Since then, she has created and posted over one thousand gluten-free recipes. Her cooking obsession and love for her family has turned a hobby into a full-time career of blogging and writing. She is the self-educated chef and author of three cooking blogs, including Mom, What’s For Dinner; Gourmet Cooking For Two; and Zero Calorie Life. She writes for foodie media giants Glam Media and Federated Media and works for Fast Forward Events, covering food and wine events in San Diego.

Michele Vilseck is a mother and avid hobbyist who loves to write and loves to live gluten-free. She is always eager to take on new projects, including writing this cookbook. Michele has been eating gluten-free for over ten years. Although brought on by necessity, her passion for food increases daily. Her great how-to tips and tricks throughout the book engage the readers, letting them know they are not alone in this journey. She lives in New Haven, Connecticut with her family.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Before I begin, I want to clarify one thing: because I am gluten sensitive and not suffering from Celiac Disease, I do eat around my triggers. What I might be able to eat myself is not what I know others who have higher levels of gluten intolerance can eat. We’re all individuals and so, as I share my own story and adventures in cookery & baking experiments, please keep in mind that you have to make your own choices which work for you and your family. This is only one girl’s journalling of exploring healthy options and healthier living. Remember only you and your physician can make choices that benefit your own health and wellness. Please be advised I am only sharing personal recollections of cookery & baking books whilst experimenting with the recipes inside.

The authors truly made this a user-friendly primer for anyone who is starting to eat a Gluten-Free lifestyle, not only by their approach to make each category colour coded and vibrant, but they took the time to educate and to lead with suggestions that might have gone overlooked in other cookbooks. I enjoyed looking over the list of hidden gluten foods, as I have already deduced on my own behalf that I need to switch to GF beer! I love dark amber lager but at times I do notice it doesn’t like me very much in return! I’ve checked out the market for GF beer and I must sadly be on the last leg of expansion for distribution! Aye. There are a few brands of beer I can enjoy every odd moon until I can source the GF varieties, but at least I know there are GF beers out there! I have a lovely magazine about this topic near my desk and I promise once I get to dig into it further I’ll be posting a review because it is a topic that interests me!

On the note of soups and cream of soups not being GF friendly, I recently found a quality source for GF Cream of Mushroom Soup which is Healthy Valley. I am unsure if this brand is mentioned in the cookbook, but I find it a great go-to resource to use when wanting to get away from regular “cream soup” to use as a base in cooking. I mention this inside my recollections of cooking two of the recipes, but my go-to pasta is Tinkyana! It is by far the best I have found on the market, not only because the noodles hold their consistency but because the taste is spot-on and brilliant! I love how using their products create a lighter meal and you do not feel as though you had eaten a meal with pasta as a main part of the meal! Instead of using Soy Sauce I have used either Braggs Liquid Aminos (by Braggs), Raw Coconut Aminos (by Coconut Secret), San-J Organic GF Tamari Soy Sauce by (San-J), or even a product I can say aloud but cannot find in google in order to spell it properly! Laughs.

I loved the expanded section on mixing your own flours, including an easy one for Vanilla Cake Mix! I’d like to sort out if that is a more cost effective alternative to always purchasing a ready-made mix like Betty Crocker’s (of which I used for the Breakfast Bar). The authors and I share a mutual passion and affection for a few brands like: Ancient Harvest (for Quinoa), Bob’s Red Mill (my post yesterday is a good indication of my love!), Glutino, and King Arthur Flour. I was not overly impressed by Udi‘s unfortunately, and although I finally sourced Pamela’s brand for baking flours & mixes, I found the brand a bit pricey.The other brands they listed are ones I want to try as budget will allow: Better Batter, Mina’s Purely Divine, Manini’s Gluten Free, Schar, and Venice Bakery.

Let me share the joy I found whilst experimenting with recipes found within:

#GFBakingFest Shopping List by Jorie in Canva

The first recipe I knew I wanted to make was actually a baking choice rather than a savory option! When I read the ingredients for the *Raspberry Breakfast Bars* I knew that between what I had on hand and at the ready in my pantry & fridge combined with a few items I could pick up at the grocer’s — this would make a fantastic start to exploring all the lovely and delish offerings inside Gluten-Free Made Easy!

I decided to take Rochelle @NotebkBlogairy (the post where she hosted the first event on 11 August, 2013 which was spontaneous & a heap of fun) up on her idea to host a #GFBakingFest of my own, as she had originally spontaneous created the niche on Twitter when she shared her experiment. I always host a weekly tweetchat at 11am NYC on Saturdays (#ChocLitSaturdays), therefore I started my tweeting for this event around 2pm NYC. (you’ll note, I always denote the time zone via a major city rather than EST or PST) I began by tweeting out a ‘card’ announcement of what would be needed for the recipe, the authors of the cookbook itself, and a bit about the event in general. The card was then attached to this tweet, which I have included on the left! I am so very thankful to StoryDam @StoryDam for originally cluing me into the benefits of using Canva! (canva.com) I was able to ‘photo journal’ my baking experience and easily upload those photo journalling cards to Twitter for everyone to see!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

#GFBakingFest Ingredients by Jorie in Canva

Crofter’s Organic | @croftersorganic | Facebook

Better Crocker | @bettycrocker | Facebook

Smart Balance | @SmartBalance | Facebook

{ the oats were left-over therefore exact brand unknown; eggs on hand }

As you can see, I opted to sub the Raspberry jam for the jam I had on hand in my fridge: Crofter’s Wild Blueberry (Organic) Jam, featured here in front of the cake mix! Oh, my dear stars, this jam made the end result so wickedly addictive to eat, I think the ENTIRE pan was consumed before Tuesday morning! Laughs with mirth. I nailed this recipe so well I’ve been asked for encore appearances! This is always a good way of knowing you’ve hit on something special, and I credit the success of this experience to the authors! Of whom have my heartfelt gratitude for not only giving such awesome recipes that fit flexible and tight budgets, but for giving recipes that do not require a lot of difficult (i.e. pricy) ingredients to source and obtain! They simply rock for providing affordable recipes for those who want to whip up something healthy, Gluten-Free, and divinely succulent!

A note on the ingredients: I am a healthy baker who generally opts for brands to use that are more known for being GF (Gluten-Free), however, I was working on a tight budget for this experiment and was most delighted that the grocer I attempted to purchase a GF Cake Baking Mix from was out of stock but was able to query a neighbouring store whereupon I was able to make the purchase! They were thankful I brought it to their attention they lacked having a GF Cake Mix on the shelf and I thanked them for finding me the last item I needed to bake the breakfast bars! A win-win! I was most surprised to find how much I loved using Betty Crocker’s GF Cake Mix! Yet, I’m getting a bit ahead of myself – what I wanted to say, is that I generally opt for Earth Balance to bake with when butter is required, but in a pinch, Smart Balance is as good as my preferred brand. Likewise, when farm fresh eggs are not in the budget any veg diet egg will surely do just fine! The reason I switched the type of jam I used for this bar is simply due to cost and what I already had on hand to use.

men shoppingShopping Trip: Whilst I had quite a lot on hand for the three recipes I selected to make out of this cookbook, there were a handful of ingredients I needed to pick up. A family friend had gifted us a grocery giftcard to help my parents celebrate their Anniversary in late Spring; but given how Spring and Summer flew past us with health afflictions and other things that arose out of the blue, we never had the pleasure of using the giftcard until now! Therefore, I was quite happy that several of the items were either on sale or a Buy One, Get One:

  • Cauliflower – Buy One, Get One
  • Mozzarella Cheese – 2 for $5; bought one for $2.50
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Sweet Peppers – Buy One, Get One; bought one red & one orange
  • Garlic – 2 for $1
  • GF Cake Mix by Betty Crocker – $4.99
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips – discounted
  • 3 pounds of Yellow Onions – discounted

By substituting the jam I had on hand, I saved instantly by not having to purchase Raspberry jam, and by having other ingredients already on hand such as the following, I saved even more:

  • Crofter’s Wild Blueberry (Organic) Jam
  • Swanson’s Chicken Broth
  • Red Gold No Salt Added Diced Tomatoes
  • Springer Mountain Farms Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts (veg diet)

#GFBakingFest Preparing the Ingredients created by Jorie in Canva

The best part about this recipe is that you can do a bit of prep whilst your pre-heating your oven, which is what I explained in this tweet that went out on Twitter. Most of this is self-explanatory with my notes overlaid onto the images themselves, but the one thing I wanted to mention is the Before & After Water pictures. When you first put the jam into a mixing bowl (my preference are glass, but I used to only have plastic; either/or will work) you will notice that by adding the water it changes the consistency of the jam itself. It allows the jam to breakdown a bit and become more spreadable for creating the bar itself.

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Go Indie
Divider

Posted Wednesday, 10 September, 2014 by jorielov in 21st Century, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Book Trailer, Bookish Films, Bread Making, Cedar Fort Publishing & Media, Cookbook, Cookery, Foodie Fiction, Gluten-Free Foods, Non-Fiction, The Bookish Foodie

Page 1 of 11