Publisher: Love INSPIRED

Blog Book Tour | feat. #LoveINSPIRED Suspense novelist Sherri Shackelford’s “No Safe Place”

Posted Tuesday, 8 January, 2019 by jorielov , , , 4 Comments

Book Review badge created by Jorie in Canva using Unsplash.com photography (Creative Commons Zero).

Acquired Book By: I started hosting with Prism Book Tours at the end of [2017], having noticed the badge on Tressa’s blog (Wishful Endings) whilst I was visiting as we would partake in the same blog tours and/or book blogosphere memes. I had to put the memes on hold for several months (until I started to resume them (with Top Ten Tuesday) in January 2018). When I enquried about hosting for Prism, I found I liked the niche of authors and stories they were featuring regularly. I am unsure how many books I’ll review for them as most are offered digitally rather than in print but this happily marks one of the blog tours where I could receive a print book for review purposes. Oft-times you’ll find Prism Book Tours alighting on my blog through the series of guest features and spotlights with notes I’ll be hosting on behalf of their authors.

I received a complimentary copy of “No Safe Place” direct from the author Sherri Shackelford in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why Jorie loves INSPY Romantic Suspense & #LoveInspired:

Last year, in July I had a delightful time participating in my first readathon which not only ENCOURAGED you to read more INSPY novels but it was a bit of a competition as well. It was a lovely concept created by Singing Librarian Books and you can read a bit about why I loved joining the readaathon whilst I also posted a small recap of my adventures. This was building on the fact earlier in [2018] I had encouraged my Mum to start reading the Love Inspired Suspense novels as she needed some down-time from her 12 hour shifts. The stories were portable and just long enough to give her a wicked good read but without the worry of not being able to finish them. In July, you see, it was my turn to sink my teeth into the imprint’s offerings and I started to quickly find #mustread authors! Readathons are brilliant for that – their this concentrated period of time to read select stories of interest to the reader & they give you hours of #bookJOY afterwards!!

We have a shared passion for INSPY stories – short or long in length as we used to belong to the subscription service *Heartsong Presents*. Eventually we’d love to join the subscription service for these lovely novels as the beauty of reading them is having a high octane Suspense driven plot with realistic characters, back-stories & a jarring sense of Contemporary life – all caught inside the folds of an Inspirational (ie. Christian) vein of thought.

I read a wide variety of INSPY Lit, but my favourites are the ones which gently are layered with arcs of faith and the character’s spirituality as I love reading the stories where their faith is shown through their example, life’s choices and the personal growth they undertake through their character’s journey. I had a delightful time in July reading my first batch of #LoveINSPIRED Suspense novels and it is a joy for me to participate on a blog tour which celebrates this wicked sweet line of books my Mum & I love devouring!

It is a true pleasure to be on this blog tour – discovering a #newtomeauthor for this imprint but also, to have the chance to read a Contemporary Suspense whilst reminding myself I need to put more of these in my readerly path this year! Even without the readathon to encourage me forward – which gave me the chance to win some books along the way, I just love reading these kinds of stories! Sharing my love of this imprint & the stories they publish is a wonderful way to ring in the New Year!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour | feat. #LoveINSPIRED Suspense novelist Sherri Shackelford’s “No Safe Place”No Safe Place
Subtitle: Love Inspired Suspense : January 2019
by Sherri Shackelford
Source: Author via Prism Book Tours

He lives by the law.

She’s running for her life.

After forensic accountant Beth Greenwood uncovers a money-laundering scheme tying her company to the organization that murdered her mentor, she knows she needs to go into hiding. With ruthless killers in pursuit, she’s forced to rely on homeland security agent Corbin Ross’s protection—even as his investigation suggests Beth is complicit in embezzlement. Can their uneasy alliance develop into something deeper—and keep them alive?

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781335231888

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Crime Fiction, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction, Suspense


Published by Love INSPIRED

on 31st December, 2018

Format: Mass Market Paperback

Pages: 218

Published by: Love Inspired (@LoveInspiredBks)
an imprint of Harlequin Books (@HarlequinBooks), a subsidiary of HarperCollins

Formats Available: Paperback* and Ebook

This looks like the first release by Shackelford after the Love Inspired: Historical line was discontinued. I was quite upset they disbanded the imprint’s line as they were amongst the stories I loved reading most. It is my hope the Suspense line can carry-on for quite a long while into the future as I share this love of the stories with my Mum.

Converse via: #Contemporary #INSPY, #LoveINSPIRED #Suspense

#RomSusp and #ChrisFic

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

About Sherri Shackelford

Sherri Shackelford

A former naval reservist with a top-secret security clearance, Sherri writes rapid-fire suspense featuring captivating characters and heart-pounding romance. She's authored more than a dozen novels for Harper Collins publishing, including both Historical and Contemporary Suspense.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 8 January, 2019 by jorielov in 21st Century, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Contemporary Romance, Crime Fiction, Debut Author, Debut Novel, Indie Author, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction | Non-Fiction, Modern Day, Prism Book Tours, Romance Fiction, Suspense

Blog Book Tour | “A Cowboy of Convenience” (Book Two: Sheridan Sweethearts series) by Stacy Henrie A #HistRom from #LoveINSPIRED #Historical

Posted Wednesday, 6 June, 2018 by jorielov , , , , 2 Comments

Book Review badge created by Jorie in Canva using Unsplash.com photography (Creative Commons Zero).

Acquired Book By: I started hosting with Prism Book Tours at the end of [2017], having noticed the badge on Tressa’s blog (Wishful Endings) whilst I was visiting as we would partake in the same blog tours and/or book blogosphere memes. I had to put the memes on hold for several months (until I started to resume them (with Top Ten Tuesday) in January 2018). When I enquiried about hosting for Prism, I found I liked the niche of authors and stories they were featuring regularly. I am unsure how many books I’ll review for them as most are offered digitally rather than in print but this happily marks one of the blog tours where I could receive a print book for review purposes. Oft-times you’ll find Prism Book Tours alighting on my blog through the series of guest features and spotlights with notes I’ll be hosting on behalf of their authors.

I received a complimentary copy of “A Cowboy of Convenience” direct from the author Stacy Henrie in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Why I love reading INSPY Fiction from Heartsong Presents & Love Inspired:

I am a hybrid reader of both mainstream and INSPY Fiction – however, I’ve been properly charmed by the heart-warming stories of both Love INSPIRED and Heartsong Presents – as these are tender-hearted stories of faith in portable paperback editions which never fail to give you a burst of joy to be reading! The Historical line of Love Inspired and the Amish stories of Heartsong Presents (as well as their own line of Historicals) were always my favourites – something about how they could tuck you back into the past, a setting or time-line easily recognisable for the reader who loved those particular kinds of stories – wherein you met with strong characters on the road to both healing and redemption in their lives!

These are the stories which are a delight to be reading due to their dramatic natures of insight into the human condition but also, how faith and hope are threading through the drama itself – of giving you a lot of hope for your own life’s adversities which alight out of the blue and the joyfulness of a gently told romance where the relationship is built out of both faith and trust. The gentleness of these stories is what truly captured my bookish heart – as there is never anything to worry about finding in the context of how their told. In many regards, that is why I love reading INSPY Fiction to begin with as I recently broached on my 5th Blogoversary by talking about what I love about reading the stories by Kellie Coates Gilbert.

I am wicked delighted knowing Prism Book Tours is getting the chance to showcase and tour with INSPY authors – not just from this particular line but from other publishers as well. Coming up this Friday, is my long awaited ruminative thoughts on behalf of Ms Becky Wade’s Falling for You which I had the honour of spotlighting in May!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour | “A Cowboy of Convenience” (Book Two: Sheridan Sweethearts series) by Stacy Henrie A #HistRom from #LoveINSPIRED #HistoricalA Cowboy of Convenience
by Stacy Henrie
Source: Author via Prism Book Tours

Groom by Agreement

A real home--it's what Vienna Howe dearly wants for her young daughter. Yet the ramshackle property she just inherited hardly qualifies. She can't afford the repairs--until foreman West McCall suggests they start a dude ranch together. For propriety's sake, they'll need a marriage in name only...a practical solution for two wary hearts.

Years ago, West convinced Vienna to marry a man of means, never realizing how cruel her husband could be. Guilt-ridden, he intends to secure the lovely widow's future. But despite his reluctance to get close to anyone, this union might do more than fix Vienna's ranch. It could open the door to a warm, loving future...

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 978-1335369710

Genres: Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, Ranches & Cowboys, Western Fiction, Western Romance


Published by Harlequin Books, Love INSPIRED

on 1st June, 2018

Format: Mass Market Paperback

Pages: 288

Published by: Love INSPIRED (@LoveInspiredBks)

an imprint of Harlequin Books (@HarlequinBooks)

Formats Available: Ebook and Paperback

Stories within the series Sheridan Sweethearts:

The Rancher's Temporary Engagement by Stacy HenrieA Cowboy of Convenience by Stacy Henrie

Book One: The Rancher’s Temporary Engagement | Pub’d 1st February, 2018

Undercover Fiancée

The Pinkerton agent that Edward Kent hired is intelligent, capable—and unexpectedly female! Though shocked to learn that Maggy Worthing will be investigating the threats to his Wyoming horse ranch, Edward needs to find the culprit. And if that means a temporary engagement to give Maggy a cover story, he’ll play along with the feisty detective.

Maggy always gets her man—at least when it comes to solving crimes. The young widow refuses to marry again and land under another husband’s thumb. Unmasking Edward’s enemies will earn her a longed-for promotion…but the heart has its own mysteries. Could working together with the handsome English aristocrat spark a real and loving partnership?

Book Two: A Cowboy of Convenience

Converse via: #LoveINSPIRED, #INSPYbooks, #INSPYHistFic, #INSPY or #HistRom & #Harlequin

About Stacy Henrie

Stacy Henrie

USA Today bestselling author Stacy Henrie is the author of western romances and the Of Love and War series, which includes Hope at Dawn, a 2015 RITA Award finalist for excellence in romance. She was born and raised in the West, where she currently resides with her family. She enjoys reading, road trips, interior decorating, chocolate, and most of all, laughing with her husband and kids.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 6 June, 2018 by jorielov in 20th Century, Balance of Faith whilst Living, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Clever Turns of Phrase, Farm and Ranching on the Frontier, Historical Fiction, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, Life Shift, Marriage of Convenience, Mother-Daughter Relationships, Prism Book Tours, Romance Fiction, Second Chance Love, Sisterhood friendships, Western Fiction, Widows & Widowers, Writing Style & Voice, Wyoming