Genre: Historical Romance

Blog Book Tour | “Rogue Most Wanted” (Book Five: The Cavensham Heiresses) by Janna MacGregor

Posted Thursday, 4 July, 2019 by jorielov , , , , , , , 0 Comments

Book Review badge created by Jorie in Canva using Unsplash.com photography (Creative Commons Zero).

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Acquired Book By:

I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours whereupon I am thankful to have been able to host such a diverse breadth of stories, authors and wonderful guest features since I became a hostess! HFVBTs is one of the very first touring companies I started working with as a 1st Year Book Blogger – uniting my love and passion with Historical Fiction and the lovely sub-genres inside which I love devouring.

It has been a wicked fantastical journey into the heart of the historic past, wherein I’ve been blessed truly by discovering new timescapes, new living realities of the persons who once lived (ie. Biographical Historical Fiction) inasmuch as itched my healthy appetite for Cosy Historical Mysteries! If there is a #HistRom out there it is generally a beloved favourite and I love soaking into a wicked wonderful work of Historical Fiction where you feel the beauty of the historic world, the depth of the characters and the joyfulness in which the historical novelists brought everything to light in such a lovingly diverse palette of portraiture of the eras we become time travellers through their stories.

I received a complimentary ARC copy of “Rogue Most Wanted” direct from the publisher St. Martin’s Press, in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Ahead of reading “Rogue Most Wanted” I also borrowed copies of the rest of the novels in this series: “The Bad Luck Bride” and “The Good, the Bad and the Duke” which I happily shared ruminations about on this post for my personal edification and for continuing to share my bookish life with my readers. I was not obligated to do so in other words and felt it was benefical to sharing my joy of the series.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

On why this story appealled to me:

I  have loved reading the Regency for a long while now – as there is something special about soaking inside this particular era of interest. Of all the eras I love – from the Regency to the Victorian & the Edwardian – it is hard for me to pick amongst them more than the Regency. I seem to fall into step with the stories quite naturally and it is a delight of joy to read a new author’s spin on the era I feel as if I’ve lived through for a portion of my life.

Due to this particular curiosity I have with the Regency – it felt rather keen to try a new author who was about to settle me into her vision of where she wanted me to alight through a series I hadn’t heard about until I saw the blog tour announcement.

Only in a Historical Romance can I lay claim to appreciating the dramatic joltings of a rebellious rogue or a decidedly cheeky rake! More oft than not those are the characters which are of most interest in Historical Romances as they a) have the most to gain and b) have the most to learn. I do not readily find it as easy to appreciate these kinds of characters (for me) in romances when it reverts into Contemporaries.

I was quite excited about the prospect of reading another HistRom so close to when I read Project Duchess as I need to re-pick up this genre – it is true joy & happiness to reside inside as a reader!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour | “Rogue Most Wanted” (Book Five: The Cavensham Heiresses) by Janna MacGregorRogue Most Wanted
Subtitle: The Cavensham Heiresses
by Janna MacGregor
Source: Publisher via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours

Wanted: an engagement of convenience. Found: A noble suitor.

Raised on a remote Scottish estate by her adoring grandfather, Lady Theodora Worth has inherited an earldom as well as the land itself. But when an upstart duke challenges her claim to the title and the Ladykyrk estate, Thea is suddenly in need of a husband—in name, at least. An elderly neighbor with a thoroughly modern sensibility and a dashing great-nephew just might be the answer to Thea’s prayers. Except she has no intention of marrying the first man she meets. That would be utterly ridiculous.

It just can’t be him. . .

Lord William Cavensham is entirely too devoted to his family’s estate—ever since he was jilted as a lad–to wed, but he agrees to meet the woman his aunt has taken under her wing—and introduce her to possible suitors. But after just one meeting with beautiful, spirited Thea, Will is determined to help her reclaim her title. And even moreso, he can’t stop thinking that perhaps marriage to this bold, passionate woman may be the one thing he’s been missing all along?

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781250295996

Genres: Historical Fiction, Historical Romance


Setting: Regency, England


Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks

on 25th June, 2019

Format: Paperback ARC

Pages: 371

The Cavensham Heiresses series:

→ The Bad Luck Bride (book one)

The Bride Who Got Lucky (book two)

The Luck of the Bride (book three)

→ The Good, the Bad & the Duke (book four)

Rogue Most Wanted (book five)

Wild, Wild Rake (book six)

Published By: St. Martin’s Press (@StMartinsPress)
imprints of St. Martin’s Publishing Group,
which is now a part of MacMillian Publishers

Converse via: #HistoricalRomance OR #HistRom

Available Formats: Hardback, Ebook and Audiobook

About Janna MacGregor

Janna MacGregor

Janna MacGregor was born and raised in the bootheel of Missouri. She credits her darling mom for introducing her to the happily-ever-after world of romance novels. Janna writes stories where compelling and powerful heroines meet and fall in love with their equally matched heroes. She is the mother of triplets and lives in Kansas City with her very own dashing rogue, and two smug, but not surprisingly, perfect pugs.

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Thursday, 4 July, 2019 by jorielov in 19th Century, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, England, Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours, Historical Romance, Marriage of Convenience, Romance Fiction, Second Chance Love, the Regency era

Blog Book Tour | “Project Duchess” (Book One: Duke Dynasty series) by Sabrina Jeffries Jorie travels back into Regency Romances and finds a compelling new series therein!

Posted Monday, 1 July, 2019 by jorielov , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , 1 Comment

Book Review badge created by Jorie in Canva using Unsplash.com photography (Creative Commons Zero).

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Acquired Book By:

I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours whereupon I am thankful to have been able to host such a diverse breadth of stories, authors and wonderful guest features since I became a hostess! HFVBTs is one of the very first touring companies I started working with as a 1st Year Book Blogger – uniting my love and passion with Historical Fiction and the lovely sub-genres inside which I love devouring.

It has been a wicked fantastical journey into the heart of the historic past, wherein I’ve been blessed truly by discovering new timescapes, new living realities of the persons who once lived (ie. Biographical Historical Fiction) inasmuch as itched my healthy appetite for Cosy Historical Mysteries! If there is a #HistRom out there it is generally a beloved favourite and I love soaking into a wicked wonderful work of Historical Fiction where you feel the beauty of the historic world, the depth of the characters and the joyfulness in which the historical novelists brought everything to light in such a lovingly diverse palette of portraiture of the eras we become time travellers through their stories.

I received a complimentary ARC copy of “Project Duchess” direct from the publisher Zebra Books (an imprint of Kensington Publishing), in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

On why this story appealled to me:

For readers & regular visitors of Jorie Loves A Story – you know that for most of the life of my blog I’ve been showcasing and reading Romances and/or Women’s Fiction on Saturdays –

I have been an avid and ardent reader of Historical Romances longer than I have been intrigued by Contemporary Romances – a choice which first started to enter my readerly life as a child as I was shy of the age of ten by a year or two when I read my first Regency Romance; set at Christmas and penned by Mary Jo Putney. This goes back to when they had those omnibus Regency Romances for Christmas!? I truly loved them – I was swept into the era and the fashions, alongside the characters of course who charmed me about the Regency overall. From there, I would continue to seek out Historical Romances – from the wilds of the West to more Regencies until I discovered the Victorian era of Romances; at which point my trajectory looked more like a ping pong table of rotation! Laughs with mirth.

As a book blogger, I’ve been highlighting my joys of finding relationship-based romances – most of which were Contemporaries but there are several Historicals as well – by authors such as Liz Harris, Zana Bell, Beverley Eikli, Margaret Kaine, Christina Courtenay, Margaret James, Linda Mitchelmore, Jennifer Robson, Catherine Tinley, Carla Kelly and Carolyn Steele.

What can I say? I love the historic past and although Margaret Kaine was one of the authors who solidified my admiration for the Edwardian era, I find myself musefully drawn back into Regencies!

This is why when I saw some Historical Romances going on tour this Summer, I thought why not? It has been quite a bit of time since I’ve soaked inside one and although I had heard of Sabrina Jeffries collective works, I must admit this was the first time I had the pleasure of reading one of them! I used to regularly read the Word Wenches blog and I’m sure in the back of my memories I am remembering seeing her name and stories pop up on their musings as well. She was definitely on my long list for books I need to be reading for #HistRom and it is a joy this Summer I finally had a chance to dive into one of her Regencies – especially one of the auspiciously brilliant launch of a new series! And, you *know!* how wicked addicted I become to serial fiction!!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour | “Project Duchess” (Book One: Duke Dynasty series) by Sabrina Jeffries Jorie travels back into Regency Romances and finds a compelling new series therein!Project Duchess
Subtitle: Because duchesses are made not born...
by Sabrina Jeffries
Source: Publisher via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours

From New York Times bestselling author Sabrina Jeffries comes a sparkling new series about an oft-widowed mother’s grown children, who blaze through society in their quest for the truth about their fathers . . . and in the process find that love just might conquer all . . .

A series of stepfathers and a difficult childhood have left Fletcher “Grey” Pryde, 5th Duke of Greycourt, with a guarded heart, enviable wealth, and the undeserved reputation of a rogue. Grey’s focus on expanding his dukedom allows him little time to find a wife. But when his mother is widowed yet again and he meets the charmingly unconventional woman managing his stepfather’s funeral, he’s shocked to discover how much they have in common. Still, Grey isn’t interested in love, no matter how pretty, or delightfully outspoken, the lady. . .

Beatrice Wolfe gave up on romance long ago, and the arrogant Duke of Greycourt with his rakish reputation isn’t exactly changing her mind. Then Grey agrees to assist his grief-stricken mother with her latest “project”: schooling spirited, unfashionable Beatrice for her debut. Now that Beatrice is seeing through Grey’s charms to his wounded heart, she’s having trouble keeping him at arm’s length. But once Grey starts digging into her family’s secrets, she must decide whether her loyalties lie with her family . . . or with the man whose lessons capture her heart . . .

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781420148558

Genres: Historical Fiction, Historical Romance


Published by Zebra Books

on 25th June, 2019

Format: Paperback ARC

Pages: 294

Published by: Kensington Books (@KensingtonBooks)

Converse via: #HistoricalRomance OR #HistRom with #Regency

Read more about Sabrina Jeffries | Alyssa J. Montgomery’s blog

the Duke Dynasty series:

Project Duchess (book one) Beatrice’s story – 25th,June, 2019

A Perfect Match (novella) Cassandra’s story – 24th September, 2019

The Bachelor (book two) Gwyn’s story – 25th February, 2020

Available Formats: Mass Market Paperback, Ebook and Audiobook

About Sabrina Jeffries

Sabrina Jeffries

Sabrina Jeffries is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 50 novels and works of short fiction (some written under the pseudonyms Deborah Martin and Deborah Nicholas).

Whatever time not spent writing in a coffee-fueled haze is spent traveling with her husband and adult autistic son or indulging in one of her passions—jigsaw puzzles, chocolate, and music. With over 9 million books in print in more than 20 languages, the North Carolina author never regrets tossing aside a budding career in academics for the sheer joy of writing fun fiction, and hopes that one day a book of hers will end up saving the world.

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Monday, 1 July, 2019 by jorielov in 19th Century, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Brothers and Sisters, Content Note, Family Drama, Family Life, Fly in the Ointment, Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours, Historical Romance, Inheritance & Identity, Life Shift, Romance Fiction, Siblings, the Regency era, Twin Siblings, Vulgarity in Literature, Widows & Widowers

Blog Tour Spotlight | “Lacewood” by Jessica James a new release feat. a time slip ghost story by an author I’ve previously read

Posted Wednesday, 19 June, 2019 by jorielov , , 1 Comment

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I enjoy hosting for Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours:

I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours whereupon I am thankful to have been able to host such a diverse breadth of stories, authors and wonderful guest features since I became a hostess! HFVBTs is one of the very first touring companies I started working with as a 1st Year Book Blogger – uniting my love and passion with Historical Fiction and the lovely sub-genres inside which I love devouring.

It has been a wicked fantastical journey into the heart of the historic past, wherein I’ve been blessed truly by discovering new timescapes, new living realities of the persons who once lived (ie. Biographical Historical Fiction) inasmuch as itched my healthy appetite for Cosy Historical Mysteries! If there is a #HistRom out there it is generally a beloved favourite and I love soaking into a wicked wonderful work of Historical Fiction where you feel the beauty of the historic world, the depth of the characters and the joyfulness in which the historical novelists brought everything to light in such a lovingly diverse palette of portraiture of the eras we become time travellers through their stories.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

On why this story appealled to me:

One of my favourite sub-genres of Historical Fiction are the Historical Mysteries, Suspense and Thrillers. More oft than not, I am travelling down a corridor of the historic past whilst I am following the footsteps of such likeable Historical sleuths, detectives and specialists such as Anna Blanc, Arthur Conan Doyle, Hiro Hattori, Bess Crawford, Willa Cather & Edith Lewis, Maisie Dobbs, Lady Darby, Edith Head & Lillian Frost and the Discreet Detective Agency to name a few. Each time I tuck inside one of these lovelies, I am benefiting from the Historical overlay of the past intermixing with the beauty of the sleuthing unfolding as I walk through the investigation alongside the lead character(s).

In the past, I hungrily devoured the Miss Marple series as I was smitten by Agatha Christie’s infamous St. Mary’s Mead and their lovable and inquisitive pensioner who liked to get a nose in on crime. In recent years, I’ve taken a liking to Poirot which half-surprised me as previously I found him to be a bit off-putting but now I find him stoic and uniquely intriguing as much as I find Monk or Columbo.

Each window into the past is a beautiful discovery but to travel through the threshold of history whilst seeing the differences in crime and detection is another layer of hidden histories and insightful revelations from a keenly sociological perspective. Each author I read has their own variant doorway they like to take us through – creating their own individual portal into the past and finding ourselves anchoured to a bevy of interesting characters who not just have their story to share with us but perhaps, a story out of History which has equal merit and relevancy to know today?

This is why I can never tire of seeking out these kinds of stories and the authors who are bringing them to life. It is also a benefit for stories which are Digital First releases are able to be cross-released into a format I can enjoy – either print or audiobook.

Similarly, when it comes to ghost stories and time slip and/or time shift narratives, the beauty for me is seeking out how each individual writer etches out the paranormal into the background of their stories. Is it realistically believable? Does it run concurrently into the fabric of how the story was set through its transitions and foundational arc? I also love to see how the ‘haunting’ aspects of the story changes how we perceive the characters and/or the world at large. In other words, I like the spooky effect of paranormal stories with the overlay of a wicked good drama and/or character’s journey.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Tour Spotlight | “Lacewood” by Jessica James a new release feat. a time slip ghost story by an author I’ve previously readLacewood (Spotlight)
by Ms Jessica James

Sometimes love is just too powerful for one lifetime…

Part love story, part ghost story, Lacewood is a timeless novel about trusting in fate, letting go of the past, and believing in things that can’t be seen.

MOVING TO A SMALL TOWN in Virginia is a big change for New York socialite Katie McCain. But when she stumbles across an abandoned 200-year-old mansion, she’s enthralled by the enduring beauty of the neglected estate—and captivated by the haunting portrait of a woman in mourning.

Purchasing the property on a whim, Katie attempts to fit in with the colorful characters in the town of New Hope, while trying to unravel the mystery of the “widow of Lacewood.” As she pieces together the previous owner’s heartrending story, Katie uncovers secrets the house has held for centuries, and discovers the key to coming to terms with her own sense of loss.

The past and present converge when hometown hero Will Durham returns and begins his own healing process by helping the “city girl” restore the place that holds so many memories. As the mystic web of destiny is woven, a love story that might have been lost forever is exposed, and a destiny that has been waiting in the shadows for centuries is fulfilled.

Rich in emotion and poignant in its telling, Lacewood is an unforgettable story about love and loss, roots and belonging…and spirits of the past that refuse to be quieted. A haunting story from award-winning author Jessica James that connects the past with the present—and the present with eternity.

Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781941020227

Genres: Ghost Story, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Historical Thriller Suspense, Paranormal Suspense, Time Slip and/or Time Shift


Published by Patriot Press

on 18th June, 2019

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 7 hours and 36 minutes (unabridged)

Published By: Patriots Press

Converse via: #Lacewood + #HistFic or #HistNov
as well as #HistoricalMystery, #GhostStory and #HistoricalFiction

Available Formats: Trade Paperback and Ebook

About Ms Jessica James

Jessica James is an award-winning author of suspense, historical fiction, and military fiction ranging from the Revolutionary War to modern day. Her highly acclaimed Civil War novel Shades of Gray won numerous national literary awards, and is often compared to Gone with the Wind.

By weaving the principles of courage, devotion, duty, and dedication into each book, James attempts to honor the unsung heroes of the American military–past and present–and to convey the magnitude of their sacrifice and service. Her novels appeal to both men and women and are featured in library collections all over the United States including Harvard and the U.S. Naval Academy.

James resides in Gettysburg, Pa., and is a member of the Military Writers Society of America, NINC, Sisters in Crime, and the Romance Writers of America. She is a two-time winner of the John Esten Cooke Award for Southern Fiction, and was featured in the book 50 Authors You Should Be Reading, published in 2010.

Read More

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 19 June, 2019 by jorielov in Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Book Spotlight & Announcement, Ghost Story, Gothic Literature, Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours