Genre: Historical Romance

An #HistFic Book Spotlight | feat. an extract from “The Healer of Briarwood” (Book Seven, Montana Gallagher series) by MK McClintock

Posted Tuesday, 26 January, 2021 by jorielov , , , 1 Comment

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

You might remember my review for Ms McKintock’s “A Home for Christmas” or the interview I shared for her first British Agent Series novel “Alaina Claiborne”. The latter of which is part of my journey into my backlogue of reviews this New Year, 2021 – of which will be revealled at the end of January; ie. Jorie’s TBR Dice Game!

She is one of the lovely authors I discovered in the early years of being a book blogger who truly captured me @ ‘Hallo’ as the saying goes! She also was approaching her publishing career in a similar mindset as I’ve earmarked for myself once I reach towards my season of publishing; for now, I remain earnestly devouted to blogging my readerly life, supporting authors via my chat @SatBookChat and co-hosting @WyrdAndWonder whilst being the carer for my Dad whose four years out from his bilateral moderate stroke which effectively changed his life and ours forever.

During this New Year Book Blast, I have the delight in revisiting with her serial Western Romances and spotlighting the Montana Gallagher’s! Definitely one of the series on my readerly radar as I happen to LOVE any series which is set in the West, happily has romantic plot points and the fact this one is set in Montana itself sweetens it somehow as I’ve been enchanted with Montana for years now! I’ve researched the state from afar – glimsping into its cities and small townes, sorting out its landscapes and vistas as much as future planning an extended stay in the state. The photographical opportunities alone and the solititude of trail hiking is awe-inspiring in of itself but so are its people, its communities and the whole wicked sweet vibe the Montana lifestyle gives to its visitors.

It is with a hearty returning welcome I can bring Ms McClintock’s stories back to Jorie Loves A Story this lovely New Year, 2021 as I rediscover old favourites, read the books on my shelves aching for me to find them and try to restart my readerly life after such a year as 2020!

Brew your favourite cuppa & enjoy!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

An #HistFic Book Spotlight | feat. an extract from “The Healer of Briarwood” (Book Seven, Montana Gallagher series) by MK McClintockThe Healer of Briarwood
Subtitle: A Montana Gallagher novel : Tales from Briarwood
by Ms MK McClintock, MK McClintock
Source: Chapter Sampler

A man with a healer’s touch. A woman with a healer’s heart.

Doctor Finnegan Brody tends his patients, keeps to himself, and vividly remembers the heartaches and trials from the Civil War and why he devoted his life to healing. He watches the townspeople live their lives, loving and laboring alongside one another, and wonders if one day he will give a woman as much time and dedication as he gives the people of Briarwood.

Katharine Kiely has a deep-rooted stubbornness to never give up, even if it means leaving behind her comfortable life by the sea to protect her father’s health and help expand his empire. When she finally arrives in Briarwood to convince the Gallaghers a spur line should cross their land, nothing goes as she expected.

Finn, with his knowledge of healing the people, and Katharine, who learns how to heal with her heart, join together as the townsfolk of Briarwood face challenges and choices that could alter their way of life forever.

Welcome to Briarwood and Hawk’s Peak,
where friendship, love, and hope conquer overwhelming odds.

Genres: Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Ranches & Cowboys, Western Fiction, Western Romance


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 978-1734864052

Also by this author: A Home for Christmas | 3 Historical Short Stories, Alaina Claiborne & the British Agent series (Author Interview)

Published by Trappers Peak Publishing

on 4th December, 2020

Format: Chapter Sampler | Online

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Enjoy this lovely introduction into the Gallagher’s family!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Further Readings about the Gallagher’s on MK McClintock’s website:
The series hub | Gallagher Extras | Letters from Hawk’s Peak

Converse via: #HistoricalRomance or #HistRom or #WesternRomance
+ #TheHealerOfBriarwood and #HFVBTBlogTours

Available Formats: Trade paperback, Audiobook, Large Print and Ebook

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
Divider

Posted Tuesday, 26 January, 2021 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Book Spotlight, Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours, Indie Author

A #HistoricalMondays #25PagePreview | feat. “Beauty Among Ruins” by INSPY Historical novelist J’nell Ciesielski

Posted Monday, 18 January, 2021 by jorielov , , , , , 1 Comment

#HistoricalMondays blog banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours whereupon I am thankful to have been able to host such a diverse breadth of stories, authors and wonderful guest features since I became a hostess! HFVBTs is one of the very first touring companies I started working with as a 1st Year Book Blogger – uniting my love and passion with Historical Fiction and the lovely sub-genres inside which I love devouring. Whether I am reading selections from Indie Authors & publishers to Major Trade and either from mainstream or INSPY markets – I am finding myself happily residing in the Historical past each year I am a blogger.

What I have been thankful for all these years since 2013 is the beautiful blessing of discovering new areas of Historical History to explore through realistically compelling Historical narratives which put me on the front-lines of where History and human interest stories interconnect. It has also allowed me to dive deeper into the historic past and root out new decades, centuries and millenniums to explore. For this and the stories themselves which are part of the memories I cherish most as a book blogger I am grateful to be a part of the #HFVBTBlogTours blogger team.

I received a complimentary ARC copy of “Beauty Among Ruins” direct from the publisher Thomas Nelson (an imprint of HarperCollins Christian Publishing) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

NOTEI was originally scheduled to share my review of this novel earlier in the blog tour and had to amend my date for my post to be featured a week later in the tour. My apologies to those who are following the blog tour and to the author and publisher as well.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

On why I am sharing a shorter preview of my readings of
“Beauty Among Ruins”:

Recently, I started to mention how my readerly life this first half of January has been a bit stalled by current events – as like the rest of the country, it has been quite unsettling and it is hard to focus on reading. I thought if I rescheduled my review to post this week instead of last week, I’d have enough time to re-settle into books, re-find my rhythm with blogging and carry-on with my readerly plans for 2021. However, I’ll admit, I’ve been a bit glued to the newsfeeds recently and have been spending a lot of time offline – as my joy in both reading and being socially bookish hasn’t quite been the focus of how my January has begun. Except for the lovely distraction of #SatBookChat, I honestly have been absent from both the blogosphere & the twitterverse!

I decided to shorten my showcase for this novel rather than stall out in the middle of reading it – not due to disinterest as the story still appeals to me to be read but simply due to timing I’m meant to be reading it. I am sure there are others out there in the book blogosphere struggling to find their way with stories right now as well and I am hopeful I’ll be able to soak into stories with the same fierce joy I’ve always have had as a seventh year book blogger before January concludes. The past few weeks simply have felt a bit ‘off’ for me as a reader and I look forward to finding my way back into books whilst hoping for the calm & peace we all are hoping our country will embrace especially during this week of transitional changes.

For those of whom are new to Jorie Loves A Story, my #25PagePreview showcases are a way for me to get a wicked good sampling of an author’s style, voice and presence within the story they’ve written whilst offering my opinions and impressions of the pages I’ve read to my readers in the hopes that perhaps the story I am featuring might be a wicked good fit for them as well.

Today, I am featuring a #newtomeauthor from Thomas Nelson of whom is an INSPY publisher I’ve started to selectively find new stories & authors of whom interest me to be reading. Especially as they have had such a lovely batch of new Historicals this 2021, I am truly blessed they are touring with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

A #HistoricalMondays #25PagePreview | feat. “Beauty Among Ruins” by INSPY Historical novelist J’nell CiesielskiBeauty Among Ruins
by J’nell Ciesielski
Source: Publisher via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours

In Ciesielski’s latest sweeping romance, an American heiress finds herself in Scotland amid the fallout of the Great War, and a wounded Scottish laird comes face-to-face with his past and a woman he never could have expected.

American socialite Lily Durham is known for enjoying one moment to the next, with little regard for the consequences of her actions. But just as she is banished overseas to England as a “cure” for her frivolous ways, the Great War breaks out and wreaks havoc. She joins her cousin in nursing the wounded at a convalescent home deep in the wilds of Scotland at a crumbling castle where its laird is less than welcoming.

Alec MacGregor has given his entire life to preserving his home of Kinclavoch Castle, but mounting debts force him to sell off his family history bit by bit. Labeled a coward for not joining his countrymen in the trenches due to an old injury, he opens his home to the Tommies to make recompense while he keeps to the shadows. But his preference for the shadows is shattered when a new American nurse comes streaming into the castle on a burst of light.

Lily and Alec are thrown together when a series of mysterious events threatens to ruin the future of Kinclavoch. Can they put aside their differences to find the culprit before it’s too late, or will their greatest distraction be falling in love?

Genres: Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, War Drama


Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 978-0785233565

ASIN: B0868WK6T1

Published by Thomas Nelson

on 12th January, 2021

Format: Paperback ARC

Length: 12 hours and 23 minutes (unabridged)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Thomas Nelson (@ThomasNelson)
an imprint of HarperCollins Christian Publishing (@HCChristianPub)

Converse via: #HistFic or #HistNov as well as #INSPY #HistoricalFiction
+ #BeautyAmongRuins, #audiobook or #audioreads
as well as #TNZFiction and #HFVBTBlogTours

Available Formats: Trade paperback, Audiobook and Ebook

About J’nell Ciesielski

J'nell Ciesielski

With a passion for heart-stopping adventure and sweeping love stories, J’nell Ciesielski weaves fresh takes into romances of times gone by. When not creating dashing heroes and daring heroines, she can be found dreaming of Scotland, indulging in chocolate of any kind, or watching old black and white movies. Winner of the Romance Through the Ages Award and the Maggie Award, she is a Florida native who now lives in Virginia with her husband, daughter, and lazy beagle.

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
Divider

Posted Monday, 18 January, 2021 by jorielov in #25PagePreview, #HistoricalMondays, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host, Book Spotlight, During WWI, England, Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours, Historical Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, INSPY Realistic Fiction | Non-Fiction, Medical Fiction, Nurses & Hospital Life, Realistic Fiction, War Drama

An #INSPY Christmas Novella Spotlight with Notes | featuring “An Ivy Hill Christmas” (Tales from Ivy Hill series, Book 3.5) by Julie Klassen

Posted Friday, 18 December, 2020 by jorielov , , , , , , , 0 Comments

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

I am unsure if I’ve blogged about my curiosity over Julie Klassen’s novels – I know I might have winked a bit about them during this year’s Christian Fiction Reading Safari in August – as I was seriously attempting to read my first Klassen novel *then!* – however, something has always distracted me and/or left me questioning which of her novels I need to be reading ‘first’ to where I have not made any progress at all in reading her collective works!! I wanted to change this sad fate of mine as she’s an author I’ve been following in the book blogosphere since a year before I became a book blogger (ie. 2012) as much as I have appreciated her guest posts, interviews and other interactions she gives to her readers whilst being a follower of hers on Twitter, too!

When I first learnt about “An Ivy Hill Christmas” – it was when this particular blog tour had been originally announced. I thought, hmm. This might be a good time to dive back into a Klassen novel and/or series – I especially love *Christmas stories* and at the time, I couldn’t discern if this was a novella which ‘fit into the series’ already established in the trilogy of stories released and/or if it was an extension of the series itself wherein new/old characters would be populating the storyline. It took some digging – both on Ms Klassen’s website, her group author’s blog (?) and a random search which led me onto a short Q&A (courtesy of Family Fiction) which revealled the truth! This is a novella within the series and it recaptures the series as it has already become established and thus, moves it forward – thereby, I anchoured this as Book 3.5 as it is a continuation of what was already established and follows suit after the third novel.

I originally borrowed a print copy of The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill thinking it would be an easier way for me to read the story – best laid plans, eh? – however, I quickly amended those plans and borrowed it via audiobook digitally via my local library’s CloudLibrary instead! Whilst I also borrowed An Ivy Hill Christmas – I wasn’t in enough time to provide a proper review today, though if you’re familiar with my #25PagePreview posts time after time on Jorie Loves A Story, I think you might get a hoot of a kick out of how I’ve assembled this spotlighted feature for the blog tour with Love Books Tours!

I must confess, this spotlight is arriving late in the night on my day of the blog tour because I misplaced the tour materials and the ‘date’ my spotlight was meant to run! After a seriously long week, I settled into sorting out my blog with some Christmas Coffeehouse songs via #Spotify and tucked into how I could ring out a post about Ivy Hill even if I had to forego the schedule for the tour as I honestly couldn’t sort out where my materials had gone off too! Then, right at the point I thought all was lost – I found everything I needed in two key places – Baker Publishing and a short scribbled note which revealled the 18th was my day! *whew!*

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

An #INSPY Christmas Novella Spotlight with Notes | featuring “An Ivy Hill Christmas” (Tales from Ivy Hill series, Book 3.5) by Julie KlassenAn Ivy Hill Christmas
Subtitle: A Tales from Ivy Hill Novella
by Julie Klassen
Source: Borrowed from local library's CloudLibrary

Spend a festive Christmas in the English village of Ivy Hill, as divine hope, friendship, and unexpected romance work their magic. . . .

Richard Brockwell, the younger son of Ivy Hill's most prominent family, hasn't been home for Christmas in years. He prefers to live in the London townhouse, far away from Brockwell Court, the old family secret that haunts him, and the shadows of his past mistakes. But then his mother threatens to stop funding his carefree life--unless he comes home for Christmas. Out of options, he sets out for Ivy Hill, planning to be back on a coach bound for London and his unencumbered bachelor life as soon as the festivities are over.

But Christmas in the country presents many surprises, including encounters with an orphaned apprentice, the first love he disappointed years ago, and Arabella Awdry, a young lady who is far more appealing than he recalled--and determined to have nothing to do with him.

Will Christmastime in Ivy Hill, with its village charm, kissing boughs, and joyous songs, change his heart . . . and hers as well?

Genres: Christmas Story &/or Christmas Romance, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction


Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780764233807

Published by Bethany House Publishers

on 1st September, 2020

Format: Audiobook | Digital

Length: 7 hours and 35 minutes (unabridged)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Tales of Ivy Hill series:

The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill by Julie KlassenThe Ladies of Ivy Cottage by Julie KlassenThe Bride of Ivy Green by Julie Klassen

The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill (book one)

Welcome to the English village of Ivy Hill,
where friendships thrive, romance blossoms, and mysteries await. . . .

The lifeblood of the village of Ivy Hill is its coaching inn, The Bell. When the innkeeper dies suddenly, his genteel wife, Jane Bell, becomes the reluctant landlady. Jane has no idea how to manage a business, but with the town’s livelihood at stake and a large loan due, she must quickly find a way to save the inn.

Despite their strained relationship, Jane turns to her resentful mother-in-law, Thora, for help. Formerly mistress of The Bell, Thora is struggling to overcome her losses and find purpose for the future. As she works with Jane, two men from her past vie for her attention, but Thora has promised herself never to marry again. Will one of them convince her to embrace a second chance at love?

As pressure mounts from the bank, Jane employs new methods, and puzzles over the intentions of several men who seem to have a vested interest in the place, including a mysterious newcomer with secret plans of his own. With the help of friends old and new, can Jane restore life to the inn, and to her empty heart as well?

The Ladies of Ivy Hill (book two)

Return to Ivy Hill as friendships deepen, romances blossom, and mysteries unfold . . .

A gentlewoman in reduced circumstances, Miss Rachel Ashford lives as a guest in Ivy Cottage. With her meager funds rapidly depleting, she is determined to earn her own livelihood . . . somehow. Her friend Jane Bell and the other village women encourage her to open a circulating library with the many books she’s inherited from her father. As villagers donate additional books and Rachel begins sorting through the volumes, she discovers mysteries hidden among them. A man who once broke her heart helps her search for clues, but both find more than they bargained for.

Rachel’s hostess, Mercy Grove, has given up thoughts of suitors and finds fulfillment in managing her girls school. So when several men take an interest in Ivy Cottage, she assumes pretty Miss Ashford is the cause. Exactly what–or whom–has captured each man’s attention? The truth may surprise them all.

The Bride of Ivy Green (book three)

Come home to Ivy Hill, where friendship endures, romance triumphs,
and mysteries are revealed in this eagerly anticipated conclusion. . . .

Spring is in the air . . . and change is too. Mercy Grove has lost her girls’ school and is resigned to life as a spinster, especially as the man she admires is out of reach. She contemplates leaving Ivy Cottage to become a governess–a decision with consequences she never imagined.

Meanwhile, her friend Jane Bell is facing a difficult decision of her own. Should she accept Gabriel Locke even if it means giving up her inn and destining another man to a childless marriage?

When a secretive new dressmaker arrives in the village, Mercy, Jane, and the other ladies of Ivy Hill attempt to befriend her, but they soon suspect she isn’t who she claims to be.

Together, the women of Ivy Hill look forward to one wedding, but surprises lie in store and dearly held dreams may yet come true.

An Ivy Hill Christmas (book 3.5)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Bethany House Publishers (@bethany_house)
an imprint of Baker Publishing Group

Available Formats: Hardcover, Trade Paperback, Audiobook and Ebook

Converse via: #INSPY #HistoricalFiction or #HistFic as well as #ChristmasRomance
as well as #JulieKlassen, #HolidayReads or #ChristmasReads and #INSPYRomance

About Julie Klassen

Julie Klassen Photo Credit: © Farrow Media

Julie Klassen (www.julieklassen.com) loves all things Jane--Jane Eyre and Jane Austen. Her books have sold over a million copies, and she is a three-time recipient of the Christy Award for Historical Romance. The Secret of Pembrooke Park was honored with the Minnesota Book Award for Genre Fiction. Julie has also won the Midwest Book Award and Christian Retailing's BEST Award and has been a finalist in the RITA and Carol Awards. A graduate of the University of Illinois, Julie worked in publishing for sixteen years and now writes full time. She and her husband have two sons and live in a suburb of St. Paul, Minnesota.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Friday, 18 December, 2020 by jorielov in 19th Century, Blog Tour Host, Book Spotlight, Christmas Romance &/or Holiday Story, Historical Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction, Love Books Tours, Sampler Chapters &/or Excerpt of Novel, the Regency era

#Blogmas | feat. #CleanRomanceForChristmas showcases | “The Christmas Bargain” (Hardman Holidays, Book One) by Shanna Hatfield

Posted Wednesday, 16 December, 2020 by jorielov 0 Comments

#blogmas badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

This is my second time featuring Ms Hatfield during this year’s #blogmas – this time focusing on a different series – the Hardman Holidays, which is set during the Victorian era. I rather fancy finding new Western Romances to read as I don’t oft read them enough compared to how I used to read them. I believe its because of the lovely niches of stories I regularly seek out during the year, Westerns seem to fall by the wayside whenever I am sorting out my #nextreads. Finding a series which has 9 stories inclusive of it is wicked brilliant because you don’t have to wait to read the next installments whilst giving you the hope of feeling anchoured into the series start to finish.

The best part about Westerns to me is how the writers address the century we haven’t experienced in reality but regularly get to visit through their words and the ways in which the paint the West alive for our imagination! It is the same with Western tv series and films – usually it has a gritty side to it, as transportation was limited to horse, stage and buggy – but there are other telling ways to know if your in a Western, too. From the style of dress to the ways in which the communities were a bit standoffish towards outsiders and how communities had to rally together during the more adverse moments in order to survive whatever had gripped the local area.

For me, one of my favourite sequences in all Westerns (Historical or Contemporary) are the horses and the life on the ranches – to tuck close to the cowboys and the ranch hands, to see how a working ranch operates and to be aside the saddle next to everyone out on the range or on a trail. Riding is something which used to be part of my life and I have missed it for a very long time. There is something about being connected to a horse which gives the best soul lift you can feel whilst at the same time, there is something unique about riding and seeing the world from atop a horse as well. I loved the connection you feel to the horse and the companionship and friendship which naturally evolves from your time together.

This is why Westerns are a lot of fun to be reading – plus, of course, every writer has their own entrance into the genre and their own stamp on it as well. Half the fun is discovering which writer is writing the kinds of Westerns you will enjoy reading. Hence why I’m thankful I can spotlight Ms Hatfield twice this #blogmas and focus on two different series of hers to give my readers a chance to see if her stories are a wicked good fit for them as they seem to be for myself.

Curiously – which kinds of Western Romances and/or Holiday Western stories, series or authors do you enjoy reading yourself? Do you prefer Historical or Contemporary Western Romances? If so, which series stand out in your mind as #mustreads you think I might enjoy myself?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Shanna Hatfield Book Photo provided by Prism Book Tours and is used with permission.

A traitor with a deadly plan.

The death of her mother left Philamena Booth grieving and at the mercy of her drunken father. After spending more than a decade held captive on their run-down farm, she’s left speechless and dazed when her father strikes a bargain to settle a long overdue debt. In lieu of payment, a handsome cowboy agrees to take her. Mortified yet relieved to leave the farm, Philamena unexpectedly finds herself married to a charismatic, caring man.

Luke Granger might own Hardman’s bank and the fanciest house in this Eastern Oregon town, but he’d much rather be outside riding his horses or wrangling his herd of cattle than keeping his account books straight. In a strange, unsettling turn of events, he finds himself accepting a farmer’s daughter instead of money to cover a loan. If the man hadn’t threatened to sell her to the saloon owner, Luke might have refused. He has no idea what to do with beautiful Filly or their marriage of convenience, but he’s about to get far more than he bargained for.

Full of Victorian and western charm, The Christmas Bargain is a sweet holiday romance filled with the spirit of the season.

Add to LibraryThing | ISBN: 978-1-4802-5785-6

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Hardman Holidays series:

Hardman Holidays collage image provided by Prism Book Tours and is used with permission.The Christmas Bargain (book one)

The Christmas Token (book two)

   The Christmas Calamity (book three)

The Christmas Vow (book four)

The Christmas Quandary (book five)

The Christmas Confection (book six)

The Christmas Melody (book seven)

The Christmas Ring (book eight)

The Christmas Wish (book nine)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Converse via: #CleanRomanceForChristmas and/or #INSPYRomance or #INSPY
as well #ChristianFiction and/or #HistRom or #HistoricalRomance

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 16 December, 2020 by jorielov in #blogmas, Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Spotlight, Historical Romance, Indie Author, Prism Book Tours, Romance Fiction

#Blogmas | feat. #CleanRomanceForChristmas showcases | “The Marquess Meets His Match (Veteran’s Club series, Book One) by Julie Coulter Bellon

Posted Tuesday, 15 December, 2020 by jorielov , 0 Comments

#blogmas badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

Today’s featured book is a special one for me – as this year, during my favourite INSPY reading event (which occurs annually during the Summer) the Christian Fiction Reading Safari – I had the chance to win some INSPY and/or Clean Romance novels by #newtomeauthors, which is fitting because guess who won today’s featured book this past August!? Ooh, yes! I did!! And, the event itself gave me back a lot of the joy I had lost throughout the previous eight months when it came to ‘reading’.

This year I felt was one of the hardest years to find joy in reading – not just due to the pandemic & all the changes it effectively brought into our lives but I felt 2020 simply had a difficult beginning all the way round. From how the wildfires in Australia were raging out of control at the start of January to the earthquake which hit Puerto Rico to every month which seemed to bring something ‘else’ to worry over and/or give us a sombering glimpse into how the year was going to become one of the more memorable ones of the recent past. Each month, I admit, I struggled with reading – to connect to the stories and to find joy in the height of reading the books I had slated to be read.

I had certain moments of where I could settle into a story and find myself completely entrenched inside its pages but overall? I felt this year was one of the harder years to be a reader as every month just felt as oppressive difficult to get through as the one before it. Which is why I am thankful this story is part of the showcases for Prism this December as I haven’t even had the chance to look over the books I won in August – I unpacked them all (to ensure they arrived) but I just haven’t felt very motivated to ‘read’ them. I’ve been looking forward to reading a story by this author for quite a long while as I hosted her featured novella during 2019’s #blogmas!

If you struggled with reading this year yourself – what did you do to work through the harder hitting weeks/days/months you were unmotivated to read? Did you participate in any book blogosphere events, reading challenges or other monthly OR themed bookish events to help you realign back into reading and the joy of discovering stories? I’d be curious to know what you did to reset yourself back into books as I found events helped me but I still struggled to find my bookish and readerly mojo to tell the truth.

How wicked lovely then to be able to feature an author I won a book by this year and to know it is the first of a series. I look forward to queuing the book into my New Year’s Reads and delighting in the joy of a fresh start after the 1st of January to begin a new journey into the world of books, stories and the authors who pen them. For now, I am enjoying #blogmas as a bit of a precursor of what I want to seek out in the New Year and which stories caught my eye to feature this December. Thanks for continuing to take this journey with me!!

Curiously – have you participated in any readathons or reading challenges wherein you had the chance to win a book during the course of the event!? My favourite one for INSPY & Clean Romance is the Christian Fiction Reading Safari hosted by Singing Librarian Books every Summer. This is how I came to win my copy of today’s featured book and I am very thankful to all the writers & publishers who give their books throughout the event. It is an added bonus to being able to read the books I most desire to become acquainted with throughout the thirty day reading challenge!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Marquess Meets His Match promo badge provided by Prism Book Tours and is used with permission.

A traitor with a deadly plan.

Two agents sent to expose his identity before he strikes.

But danger is closer than they think . . .

Lord Christian Wolverton―known as Wolf in a covert group operating during the war against Napoleon―has been called home from his military duties. For the moment, his family responsibilities require him to suspend his more clandestine activities. But information falls into his hands that a traitor will soon try to tip the scales back into French favor and Christian doesn’t have much time to stop it from happening.

Going to the one person who can help him, the powerful Duke of Huntingdon, Christian comes face to face with Lady Alice. She’s a beautiful member of the ton with a very big secret―she’s also a trained agent and already on the case. Forced to partner with her to lure the traitor out of hiding, Christian wants to quickly close the case himself, before Lady Alice is more closely involved. But Lady Alice has ideas of her own and she’s going to prove her theories correct―with or without him.

Danger is closer than they think, however, and it’s a race against time to expose the traitor’s identity before British lives are endangered. Both Christian and Alice have strong opinions on who he is, but which one will be proven right?

Add to LibraryThing | ISBN: 978-0-9997946-4-7

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Veteran’s Club series:

The Marquess Meets His Match by Julie Coulter BellonThe Viscount's Vow by Julie Coulter BellonThe Highlander's Hidden Heart by Julie Coulter Bellon

The Marquess Meets His Match(book one)

The Viscount’s Vow (book two)

The Highlander’s Hidden Heart (book three)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Converse via: #CleanRomanceForChristmas and/or #INSPYRomance or #INSPY
as well #ChristianFiction and/or #HistRom or #HistoricalRomance

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 15 December, 2020 by jorielov in #blogmas, Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Spotlight, Historical Romance, Indie Author, Prism Book Tours, Romance Fiction