Source: Author via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours

Book Spotlight with Notes | “Love At Last” (Bramley Hall Regency Romance, Book One) by Michelle Helen Fritz and E.A. Shanniak

Posted Thursday, 17 February, 2022 by jorielov , , , , , 0 Comments

Book Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours whereupon I am thankful to have been able to host such a diverse breadth of stories, authors and wonderful guest features since I became a hostess! HFVBTs is one of the very first touring companies I started working with as a 1st Year Book Blogger – uniting my love and passion with Historical Fiction and the lovely sub-genres inside which I love devouring. Whether I am reading selections from Indie Authors & publishers to Major Trade and either from mainstream or INSPY markets – I am finding myself happily residing in the Historical past each year I am a blogger.

What I have been thankful for all these years since 2013 is the beautiful blessing of discovering new areas of Historical History to explore through realistically compelling Historical narratives which put me on the front-lines of where History and human interest stories interconnect. It has also allowed me to dive deeper into the historic past and root out new decades, centuries and millenniums to explore. For this and the stories themselves which are part of the memories I cherish most as a book blogger I am grateful to be a part of the #HFVBTBlogTours blogger team.

I received a complimentary copy of “Love At Last” direct from the authors Michelle Helen Fritz and E.A. Shanniak in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

On why I appreciate the Regency:

I’ve been reading Regency Romances since I was either eight or nine, as honestly I cannot remember my exact age when I was shifting from reading Agatha Christie & Nancy Drew into the anthological Christmas Regency Romances which set my mind aflame with stories about the Regency — from the balls & the propriety of society to the ton and everything that came from that particular era of manners & etiquette.

The appeal of course were the details and depictions of the Regency; the glamour of the style and the structure of the society. There were different rules of propriety back then and it was a curious adventure to see how each new author I was reading (from childhood to my life as a bookblogger) would elect to feature this generation as everyone had their own approach as much as their own individual influences. Generally speaking it was either Jane Austen or Georgette Heyer or the two of them together. For me personally, I am a Janeite and haven’t quite sorted out Heyer, as she tends to remain an author I simply find not my cuppa.

I love getting caught inside the dramas of the Regency and the gaiety of its celebrations whilst I love finding realistically drawn characters who are multi-layered without being too predictable and one-dimensional. I like the joy of feeling surprised and entertained whilst carting myself back to one of the eras I prefer to read a Historical Romance – the second being the Victorian. For these reasons and others, Regencies for me are a lovely light of joy but having said that – I am also quite discerning and particular about the tone & execution of how a Regency Romance can reflect both the timescape and its flare within its genre of presence. The last Regency I loved reading was An Unlikely Duchess which was a beautiful presentation of the era and wickedly kept me feeling enraptured by the drama of the characters’ situations. For me, that’s when Regency lifts my heart and grants me immeasurable #bookJOY.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Book Spotlight with Notes | “Love At Last” (Bramley Hall Regency Romance, Book One) by Michelle Helen Fritz and E.A. ShanniakLove At Last
Subtitle: A Bramley Hall Regency Romance
by Michelle Helen Fritz, E.A. Shanniak
Source: Author via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours

As the Parson’s daughter, Mariah Morten has spent much of her life inside the stone walls of Bramley Hall. Before tragedy struck, she had fond childhood memories made alongside her two brothers and the Earl’s son: Harrison Pembroke.

Years later, she has done her best to ignore the yearning of past memories and futile dreams of becoming the next countess. If only she could secure her own happiness and let her heart have it’s one true desire.

Harrison Pembroke is the seventh Earl of Bramley. He’s spent the last four years trying to reconcile his heart after being jilted so that he can focus his energy on those under his care. Except no matter how much he wishes to keep his walls up, the draw he feels toward a certain set of sparkling sapphire eyes can’t be ignored.

An invitation arrives, sweeping Mariah and Harrison into the midst of balls, soirees, family meddling, and one memorable night under the stars. Will outside forces keep them separated forever, or will their own wants persevere allowing them to find Love At Last?

Love At Last is a clean Regency Romance and the first book in a three-story series that will entertain and delight you with its swoon-worthy heroes and the compelling leading ladies that capture their hearts. Each book can be read as a standalone, but are best read in release order.

Genres: Historical Fiction, Historical Romance



Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 979-8985288100

Published by Clear Springs Books LLC

on 15th December, 2021

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 282

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Bramley Hall Regency Romances:

Love At Last (book one)

Love That Lasts (book two)

Love Ever Lasting (book three)

(*) as disclosed on E.A. Shanniak’s author site

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Converse via: #HistFic or #HistNov as well as #BramleyHall
+ #Regency, #RegencyRomance or #HistRom and #HistoricalRomance
as well as #HFVBTBlogTours

Available Formats: Trade paperback and Ebook

About E.A. Shanniak

E.A. Shanniak

E.A. (Ericka Ashlee) Shanniak is the author of the successful fantasy romance series – A Castre World Novel. She is hobbit-sized, barely reaching over five feet tall on a good day. When she wears her Georgia Romeo’s not only does she gain an inch, she is then able to reach the kitchen cabinets. Ericka loves to write at her desk that her daughter’s cat destroyed. Fortunately for everyone, she can see over it.

About Michelle Helen Fritz

Michelle Helen Fritz

Michelle Helen Fritz was born and raised in Maryland and Arizona with lots of traveling throughout the States. She began her literary career as a personal assistant to Indie authors and loves to see the process of an idea turn into a finished book. Michelle loves to write about dashing heroes, and the compelling women that tempt them, with a dash of intrigue, an abundant amount of romance, and scenes that hopefully make her reader’s swoon. She is the mother of four children whom she homeschools and currently resides in Maryland with her own jaunty hero who makes all of her dreams come true.

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
Divider

Posted Thursday, 17 February, 2022 by jorielov in 19th Century, Blog Tour Host, England, Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours, Historical Romance, the Regency era

A #HistoricalMondays blog tour | feat. a #25PagePreview of “Out Front the Following Sea” by Leah Angstman

Posted Monday, 31 January, 2022 by jorielov , , 0 Comments

#HistoricalMondays blog banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours whereupon I am thankful to have been able to host such a diverse breadth of stories, authors and wonderful guest features since I became a hostess! HFVBTs is one of the very first touring companies I started working with as a 1st Year Book Blogger – uniting my love and passion with Historical Fiction and the lovely sub-genres inside which I love devouring. Whether I am reading selections from Indie Authors & publishers to Major Trade and either from mainstream or INSPY markets – I am finding myself happily residing in the Historical past each year I am a blogger.

What I have been thankful for all these years since 2013 is the beautiful blessing of discovering new areas of Historical History to explore through realistically compelling Historical narratives which put me on the front-lines of where History and human interest stories interconnect. It has also allowed me to dive deeper into the historic past and root out new decades, centuries and millenniums to explore. For this and the stories themselves which are part of the memories I cherish most as a book blogger I am grateful to be a part of the #HFVBTBlogTours blogger team.

I received a complimentary copy of “Out Front the Following Sea” by the author Leah Angstman in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

On what drew my curious eye towards this novel:

As you might have gathered through back-reading the reviews through my Story Vault (which sadly needs quite a bit of updating as the last few years were not as well maintained) you’ll notice I have a tendency to draw a keen eye of interest into Feminist Historical Fiction, Historical narratives and Literary Fiction. I enjoy seeking out stories which re-visionalise the boundaries of where History and Truth meet in the passageways of books and the stories which are being written to re-teach us something new which we might have not seen otherwise. Likewise, I believe there is a strong purpose in finding Feminist bent stories of Historical significance as so much of Women’s History is become lost or left unsaid for far too long.

One keen reason I love seeking out Historical Fiction in all its eloquence of study and intrigue is how dedicated the writers are who are writing these historical tomes of insight. These are well-researched stories and the incredible layers of both depth and information contained within them truly have enriched my own understanding of both History and the narratives of History as told through storytellers who bring History back to vibrant life. This is of course one reason I love Historical Fiction – you get to traverse through a looking-glass of time and re-step through those thresholds which wouldn’t have been given access to us otherwise.

Towards that end, I have known about the persecution of women during the earlier days of American History for most of my life as you can’t get through Elementary or Middle school without learning about the Salem Witch trials. However, it wasn’t until I became a book blogger in my mid to late thirties where I started to view those pieces of History a bit differently as the presentation of those years and of the plight of those women had changed through new research and a better dedication of telling the fuller truth of their lives. A lot of the women were misaligned of being something they weren’t and others were simply marked for reasons I still do not understand.

Ontop of which, early Colonial America was fraught with adversity and it is a time in our country’s history I felt had the most to be shared because it was on the fragile grounds of just being founded. Everything was quite new and yet, not a lot was changing for all persons who wanted to call this land their home. I’ve long known about the difficulties women faced for seeking out their own independence as much as how hard it was to carve out a living overall. It was a fiercely harsh world and it had to take a considerable amount of courage to tackle the challenges of surviving here. Ergo, this novel tipped a curious eye towards wanting to be read – as although I’ve read some Colonial America and Revolutionary War novels, I haven’t sought out novels within the scope of Pre-Colonial America — on the brink of when America was not yet America and the turmoil of what that part of this country’s history must have looked like for the earlier settlers.

I knew one thing going into reading this novel – it was going to be an eye opener in regards to the timeline of the central story’s arc and what was happening in the background as far as America was concerned directly. It is also a story about hard choices and the choices we make whilst we’re trying to survive – in that regard, it felt like a keenly insightful historical drama through the lens of two lead characters who you might not have felt would carry the story but of whom were the best to have that voice and perspective to share with us. I personally leant more towards Ruth than Owen initially. Sometimes we all need to challenge ourselves to read harder into History and find what was waiting for us therein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

A #HistoricalMondays blog tour | feat. a #25PagePreview of “Out Front the Following Sea” by Leah AngstmanOut Front the Following Sea
by Leah Angstman
Source: Author via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours

**Shortlisted for the Chaucer Book Award**

OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA is a historical epic of one woman’s survival in a time when the wilderness is still wild, heresy is publicly punishable, and being independent is worse than scorned—it is a death sentence.

At the onset of King William’s War between French and English settlers in 1689 New England, Ruth Miner is accused of witchcraft for the murder of her parents and must flee the brutality of her town. She stows away on the ship of the only other person who knows her innocence: an audacious sailor—Owen—bound to her by years of attraction, friendship, and shared secrets. But when Owen’s French ancestry finds him at odds with a violent English commander, the turmoil becomes life-or-death for the sailor, the headstrong Ruth, and the cast of Quakers, Pequot Indians, soldiers, highwaymen, and townsfolk dragged into the fray. Now Ruth must choose between sending Owen to the gallows or keeping her own neck from the noose.

Steeped in historical events and culminating in a little-known war on pre-American soil, OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA is a story of early feminism, misogyny, arbitrary rulings, persecution, and the treatment of outcasts, with parallels still mirrored and echoed in today’s society. The debut novel will appeal to readers of Paulette Jiles, Alexander Chee, Hilary Mantel, James Clavell, Bernard Cornwell, TaraShea Nesbit, Geraldine Brooks, Stephanie Dray, Patrick O’Brian, and E. L. Doctorow.

Genres: Historical Fiction, Feminist Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Historical Women's Fiction



Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 978-1646031948

Published by Regal House Publishing

on 11th January, 2022

Format: Paperback ARC

Pages: 334

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Regal House Publishing (@RegalHouse1)

Converse via: #HistFic or #HistoricalFiction
+ #OutFrontTheFollowingSea and #HFVBT

Available Formats: Hardcover, Trade Paperback, Audiobook and Ebook

About Leah Angstman

Leah Angstman

Leah Angstman is a historian and transplanted Michigander living in Boulder. OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA, her debut novel of King William’s War in 17th-century New England, is forthcoming from Regal House in January 2022.

Her writing has been a finalist for the Saluda River Prize, Cowles Book Prize, Able Muse Book Award, Bevel Summers Fiction Prize, and Chaucer Book Award, and has appeared in Publishers Weekly, L.A. Review of Books, Nashville Review, Slice, and elsewhere. She serves as editor-in-chief for Alternating Current and The Coil magazine and copyeditor for Underscore News, which has included editing partnerships with ProPublica. She is an appointed vice chair of a Colorado historical commission and liaison to a Colorado historic preservation committee.

Read More

Divider

Posted Monday, 31 January, 2022 by jorielov in #25PagePreview, Blog Tour Host, Book Spotlight, Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours

A #HistoricalMondays blog tour | feat. #INSPY Historical novelist Rachel Fordham with her novel “A Lady in Attendance”

Posted Monday, 25 October, 2021 by jorielov , , , 1 Comment

#HistoricalMondays blog banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours whereupon I am thankful to have been able to host such a diverse breadth of stories, authors and wonderful guest features since I became a hostess! HFVBTs is one of the very first touring companies I started working with as a 1st Year Book Blogger – uniting my love and passion with Historical Fiction and the lovely sub-genres inside which I love devouring. Whether I am reading selections from Indie Authors & publishers to Major Trade and either from mainstream or INSPY markets – I am finding myself happily residing in the Historical past each year I am a blogger.

What I have been thankful for all these years since 2013 is the beautiful blessing of discovering new areas of Historical History to explore through realistically compelling Historical narratives which put me on the front-lines of where History and human interest stories interconnect. It has also allowed me to dive deeper into the historic past and root out new decades, centuries and millenniums to explore. For this and the stories themselves which are part of the memories I cherish most as a book blogger I am grateful to be a part of the #HFVBTBlogTours blogger team.

I received a complimentary copy of “A Lady in Attendance” by the author Rachel Fordham in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

On what drew my curious eye towards this novel:

Last year, I was attempting to read Yours Truly, Thomas wherein I realised the story was linked to the first novel Fordham released The Hope of Azure Springs. I believe only in setting rather than a forwarding of characters/storylines, however, the ways in which I was able to receive a copy of her sophomore release is through my participation in the 2019 Christian Fiction Reading Safari which was hosted by Singing Librarian Books – as referenced on my 2020 participation announcement. The three years I joined the readathon, I was able to ‘win’ books by INSPY publishers and authors; both traditionally published and independently published which was a lot of wicked fun! I was able to expand my knowledge of the INSPY markets whilst getting the chance to become introduced to new and/or emerging writers of INSPY Lit.

I’ve previously disclosed throughout my eight years of blogging on Jorie Loves A Story, I’ve been a hybrid reader of INSPY and mainstream literature the full of my life as a reader. I regularly visited Christian bookstores as much as I ducked into independent bookstores and other big box chain bookstores or the occasional mall bookshop, too! I hung out in libraries too which of course inspired my tagline of my blog’s title! Laughs. INSPY Lit has always been a mainstay in my life and is eagerly sought out alongside all my mainstream haunts in literature.

Although I read all genres which interest me as a reader, when it comes to INSPY – I tend to weave through Contemporary and Historical Romances the most! Unless I’m reading INSPY Suspense from Love Inspired — I predominately love exploring the romantic stories the INSPY writers are writing through both historical and contemporary settings and timescapes in History. These are generally gentler reads unless they are delving into more realistic storylines which are openly honest in their presentations and give a truly reckoning of insight into the topics and subjects they’ve approached to explore within the wider realm of INSPY.

I appreciate both approaches and within A Lady in Attendance – I was curiously hopeful to find a bit of both sprinkled throughout the story. Where I could hug close to a gently told slow burn romance but with the beauty of a realistic story about one woman’s determination to make a go of her life after she felt she might have been robbed of a future after circumstances she could not change but had to leave in the past as she embarked forward. She wanted to change her future by choosing her present course and there is a lot of soulful grit in that choice and I knew this was a story I wanted to read from that small glimpse of her character in the synopsis. I like to feel inspired before I read a story and finding a story about personal redemption and a will to succeed in spite of circumstances is definitely a keen story I want to explore and see told.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

A #HistoricalMondays blog tour | feat. #INSPY Historical novelist Rachel Fordham with her novel “A Lady in Attendance”A Lady in Attendance
by Rachel Fordham
Source: Author via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours

Five years in a New York state reformatory have left a blemish on Hazel’s real name. So when she takes a job as Doctor Gilbert Watts’s lady in attendance in 1898, she does so under an alias. In the presence of her quiet and pious employer, Hazel finds more than an income. She finds a friend and a hope that if she can set her tarnished past in order, she might have a future after all.

As Gilbert becomes accustomed to the pleasant chatter of his new dental assistant, he can’t help but sense something secretive about her. Perhaps there is more to this woman than meets the eye. Can the questions that loom between them ever be answered? Or will the deeds of days gone by forever rob the future of its possibilities?

Rachel Fordham pens a tender tale of a soft-spoken man, a hardened woman, and the friends that stand by them as they work toward a common purpose–to expunge the record of someone society deemed beyond saving–and perhaps find love along the way.

Genres: Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Inspirational Fiction & Non-Fiction



Places to find the book:

ISBN: 978-0800739737

Also by this author: A Lady in Attendance

Published by Revell

on 1st June, 2021

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 352

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The novels of Rachel Fordham:

The Hope of Azure Springs by Rachel FordhamYours Truly, Thomas by Rachel FordhamA Life Once Dreamed by Rachel FordhamA Lady in Attendance by Rachel Fordham

The Hope of Azure Springs (2018)

Yours, Truly Thomas *I won a copy! (2019)

A Life Once Dreamed (2020)

A Lady in Attendance (2021)

Published by: Revell (@RevellBooks)

an imprint of Baker Publishing Group

Converse via: #INSPY, #HistFic or #HistoricalFiction and #HistRom/#HistoricalRomance,
and/or #ChristianFiction, #INSPYRomance and #INSPYbooks,
+ #RachelFordham and #HFVBT

Available Formats: Hardcover, Trade Paperback, Audiobook and Ebook

About Rachel Fordham

Rachel Fordham

Rachel Fordham has long been fascinated by all things historical or in the words of her children “old stuff”. Often the historical trivia she discovers is woven into her children’s bedtime tales. Despite her love for good stories she didn’t attempt writing a novel until her husband challenged her to do so (and now she’s so glad he did). Since that time she’s often been found typing or researching while her youngest child naps or frantically writing plot twists while she waits in the school pick-up line. In addition to her passion for storytelling she enjoys reading, being outdoors and seeing new places. Rachel lives with her husband and children on an island in Washington state.

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
Divider

Posted Monday, 25 October, 2021 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours