Author: Kathryn Freeman

Cover Reveal | NEW #ChocLit holiday novel by Kathryn Freeman “A Second Christmas Wish”!

Posted Tuesday, 4 October, 2016 by jorielov , , 1 Comment

Stories Sailing into View Banner created by Jorie in Canva.

If your a regular reader or frequent visitor of Jorie Loves A Story, you know I’ve been smitten with the novelists who publish their relationship-based Romances with ChocLitUK for a good two years now! I love being on the cusp of learning about a ‘new release’ whilst I remain patient to see if the Digital First new ChocLit novel will make it to a print release further down the road of it’s lifetime. I don’t mind the gaps between the ebooks and the print editions – as it’s always given me the pleasure of balancing my ‘next ChocLit reads’ to include both Front List and Back List offerings. Thus, I am enjoying being a member of the Reveal Team at ChocLit whilst it gives me a chance to introduce my readers to a variety of sub-genres within Romance I appreciate picking up to read!

As you might have noticed, I have become an appreciator of reading Ms Freeman’s stories, ever since I happily released my review on behalf of her Pharma Industry Contemporary Rom Search for the Truth! It is with pleasure of joy finding that she has a second release I can happily celebrate this year, right in time for Christmas! I have a particular interest in holiday stories because I love being caught up in the joy of the Christmas season whilst tucking inside a light Rom or a holiday setting wherein you get to find people not expecting anything out of the ordinary to enter their lives, but sometimes have the best blessing of all arrive just in time for Christmas!

I wasn’t sure how I felt this year about reading holiday stories ahead of November, as I have a few in queue right now, as well as my first colouring books – I have the tendency to wait until I can feel the spirit of the holidays approaching, where I feel the Seasons have blessedly switched ‘over’ to something ‘other than’ Summer and have caught sight of that shifting towards where the year starts to fold anew into a new chapter. Sometimes reading is atmospheric and sometimes there is a season of awareness for the stories we love to read as well. I recently blogged how sometimes stories are too emotionally triggered to the negative, but in regards to Christmas stories, I find myself properly enchanted by them personally! I just have the tendency to get into the readerly mood for them the weeks ahead of Thanksgiving straight through the first fortnight of January! Not always, as I do surprise myself like most readers – even as October took it’s peek into view, I started to notice, hmm, perhaps I might duck inside one ahead of Halloween this year? How unusual for me!

When this ChocLit Stars project came along, I was most enthused as I had previously celebrated the print releases of Ms Alison May’s Christmas novellas – as when it comes to ChocLit and Christmas, I am unfortunately a bit under-read! I do appreciate their annual ChocLit Treats – those delish little morsels of Romance arriving by your email Inbox, which dance and pepper your holidays with little dashes of fiction so lovingly adorable and keenly enjoyable! Perhaps this is the year, I can select some ChocLit Christmas Roms to soak inside and take stock of how the authors enjoy celebrating one of my most beloved times of the year!

I do wonder, what is your most favourite bit of reading holiday stories? Do you have a certain ‘start date’ or do you enjoy reading them year round? I must confess, I find it hard to attach into a Christmas story between Spring and Summer, but this year, I’m finding October is bringing Autumn joys a bit earlier than usual and thereby, I’m re-inspired to try to read one early!

Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 4 October, 2016 by jorielov in 21st Century, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Book Cover Reveal, Book Spotlight & Announcement, ChocLitUK, Christmas Romance &/or Holiday Story, Contemporary Romance, Indie Author, Modern Day, Romance Fiction, Second Chance Love

Book Review | “Search for the Truth” by Kathryn Freeman #ChocLitSaturdays

Posted Saturday, 17 September, 2016 by jorielov , , 2 Comments

ChocLitSaturdays Banner Created by Jorie in Canva.

Why I feature #ChocLitSaturdays (book reviews & guest author features)
and created #ChocLitSaturday (the chat via @ChocLitSaturday):

I wanted to create a bit of a niche on Jorie Loves A Story to showcase romance fiction steeped in relationships, courtships, and the breadth of marriage enveloped by characters written honestly whose lives not only endear you to them but they nestle into your heart as their story is being read!

I am always seeking relationship-based romance which strikes a chord within my mind’s eye as well as my heart! I’m a romantic optimist, and I love curling into a romance where I can be swept inside the past, as history becomes lit alive in the fullness of the narrative and I can wander amongst the supporting cast observing the principal characters fall in love and sort out if they are a proper match for each other!

I love how an Indie Publisher like ChocLitUK is such a positive alternative for those of us who do not identify ourselves as girls and women who read ‘chick-lit’. I appreciate the stories which alight in my hands from ChocLit as much as I appreciate the inspirational romances I gravitate towards because there is a certain level of depth to both outlets in romance which encourage my spirits and gives me a beautiful story to absorb! Whilst sorting out how promote my book reviews on behalf of ChocLit, I coined the phrase “ChocLitSaturdays”, which is a nod to the fact my ChocLit reviews & features debut on ‘a Saturday’ but further to the point that on the ‘weekend’ we want to dip into a world wholly ideal and romantic during our hours off from the work week!

Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular reviewer for ChocLitUK, where I hand select which books in either their backlist and/or current releases I would like to read next for my #ChocLitSaturdays blog feature. As of June 2016, I became a member of the ChocLit Stars Team in tandem with being on the Cover Reveal Team which I joined in May 2016. I reference the Stars as this is a lovely new reader contribution team of sending feedback to the publisher ahead of new book releases. As always, even if I’m involved with a publisher in this sort of fashion, each review is never influenced by that participation and will always be my honest impression as I read the story. Whether the author is one I have previously read or never had the pleasure to read until the book greets my shelf.

I received a complimentary copy of “Search for the Truth” from ChocLit in exchange for an honest review! I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein. I previously had the joy of celebrating the Cover Reveal for this novel and I was most happy I could finally read the story!

Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

Why I was so very keen on reading this Contemporary!

My best friend from high school went into the Pharmacy Industry, and coincidentally we reconnected after a long search to find each other again whilst she was at the latter stage of graduating as a pharmacist. I still remember our long conversations on the phone about the particulars of what was involved with her studies and how her impression of pharmacy had changed since before she started her studies; as the industry wasn’t quite what she imagined it was to be. I could sympathise as sometimes our initial impressions about something does not match or hold up against further enquiries and research. I oft think about her as she has a demanding schedule of hours and responsibilities, I had hoped might have calmed down after her last promotion.

Even before we reconnected and I knew of her path, I sometimes have found myself intrigued to find stories of women who are working inside this field, as the last time I connected to a story, it was through an indie film starring Katherine Heigl (Side Effects | info on Wikipedia). What I appreciated about Search for the Truth is how it digs into the gritty realities of what is being created and how what is being created may or may not be conducive to keeping a Pharma company on the right side of ‘first do no harm’. I felt seeing how Freeman layered the story whilst building the relationship tension at the same time would prove to be a wicked good read, as it would be anchoured in the reality of an industry few write about and grounded by how life evolves out of ordinary hours. A good time to percolate drama and convincing situations where hard choices would surely need to be made!

I like reading romantic dramas sometimes over romantic comedies, because they dig into the harder issues and they takeaway a part of humanity that might always be cut clear and crystal; there are different ways to approach the stories, and seeing how a writer will make choices for her characters but also for her evolving story of intrigue is what holds me to the pages. I am quite eager to see this going into print (hopefully next year!) so that I can see how Tess finds her mission to uncover the truth might not be as easy to do as she first suspected it could be. The title alone points to the plausible path of finding that truth and supposition can be blinding.

-quoted from my Cover Reveal post for Search for the Truth

Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

Book Review | “Search for the Truth” by Kathryn Freeman #ChocLitSaturdaysSearch for the Truth
by Kathryn Freeman
Illustrator/Cover Designer: Berni Stevens
Source: Direct from Publisher

Sometimes the truth hurts…

When journalist Tess Johnson takes a job at Helix pharmaceuticals, she has a very specific motive. Tess has reason to believe the company are knowingly producing a potentially harmful drug and, if her suspicions are confirmed, she will stop at nothing to make sure the truth comes out.

Jim Knight is the president of research and development at Helix and is a force to be reckoned with. After a disastrous office affair he’s determined that nothing else will distract him from his vision for the company. Failure is simply not an option. As Tess and Jim start working together, both have their reasons for wanting to ignore the sexual chemistry that fires between them. But chemistry, like most things in the world of science, isn’t always easy to control.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

Add to LibraryThing

Book Page on ChocLitUK

ISBN: 9781781893029

Also by this author: Search for the Truth Cover Reveal, Before You Cover Reveal, A Second Christmas Wish Cover Reveal

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Realistic Fiction


Published by ChocLitUK

on 7th July, 2016

Format: Paperback Edition

Pages: 288

Published by: ChocLitUK (@ChocLitUK)

Formats Available: Paperback and Ebook

Genre(s): Contemporary | BigPharma | Suspense | Corporate Espionage

Converse via: #ChocLit

About Kathryn Freeman

Kathryn Freeman

Kathryn was born in Wallingford, England but has spent most of her life living in a village near Windsor. After studying pharmacy in Brighton she began her working life as a retail pharmacist. She quickly realised that trying to decipher doctor’s handwriting wasn’t for her and left to join the pharmaceutical industry where she spent twenty happy years working in medical communications. In 2011, backed by her family, she left the world of pharmaceutical science to begin life as a self-employed writer, juggling the two disciplines of medical writing and romance. Some days a racing heart is a medical condition, others it’s the reaction to a hunky hero…

With two teenage boys and a husband who asks every Valentine’s Day whether he has to bother buying a card again this year (yes, he does) the romance in her life is all in her head. Then again, her husband’s unstinting support of her career change goes to prove that love isn’t always about hearts and flowers – and heroes can come in many disguises.

Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

Read More

Divider

Posted Saturday, 17 September, 2016 by jorielov in #JorieLovesIndies, 21st Century, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, British Literature, ChocLitSaturdays, ChocLitUK, Contemporary Romance, Espionage, Indie Author, Modern British Author, Modern British Literature, Modern Day, Realistic Fiction, Romance Fiction, Romantic Suspense, Vulgarity in Literature

Cover Reveal | NEW #ChocLit novel by Kathryn Freeman “Before You”!

Posted Tuesday, 10 May, 2016 by jorielov , , 0 Comments

Stories Sailing into View Banner created by Jorie in Canva.

If your a regular reader or frequent visitor of Jorie Loves A Story, you know I’ve been smitten with the novelists who publish their relationship-based Romances with ChocLitUK for a good two years now! I love being on the cusp of learning about a ‘new release’ whilst I remain patient to see if the Digital First new ChocLit novel will make it to a print release further down the road of it’s lifetime. I don’t mind the gaps between the ebooks and the print editions – as it’s always given me the pleasure of balancing my ‘next ChocLit reads’ to include both Front List and Back List offerings. Thus, I am enjoying being a member of the Reveal Team at ChocLit whilst it gives me a chance to introduce my readers to a variety of sub-genres within Romance I appreciate picking up to read!

Today is quite wicked, as similar to featuring my second Sheryl Browne novel last week, this week I get to re-highlight an offering by Ms Freeman, of whom I previously had the pleasure of blogging about whilst ‘Search for the Truth’ was releasing last year!

I had a personal connection to the Pharma Industry through a close friend and enjoyed exploring the theme of that particular novel ahead of reading it – I’m looking forward to reading my first Freeman novels this year, as I make my way through my ‘next reads’ for ChocLit, as she is one Contemporary Rom writer I think I will truly enjoy reading as she has the tendency like Ms Browne to continuously make selections for her stories which first intrigue me and I think secondly will charm my heart into being endeared by once I have the enjoyment of reading them firsthand!

I was drawn to this new release for several reasons – one, the high and fast life of a race driver can have a few pitfalls along the way if racing comes first against all other pursuits (i.e. it would be easy to have a singular focus and not live outside of the track life) and second, it actually was the title that inferred a bit about the story’s heart, wherein I was happy to see confirmed on the author’s blog via a post she had written about ‘choosing titles’ for her stories!

Let’s happily pause for a moment on this latest release by Ms Freeman, coming up next month in June which looks like quite the lovely month to try ChocLit if you ask me!

Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 10 May, 2016 by jorielov in 21st Century, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Book Cover Reveal, Book Spotlight & Announcement, ChocLitUK, Contemporary Romance, Indie Author, Modern Day, Romance Fiction, Second Chance Love

Page 1 of 212