Genre: Short Story or Novella

#Blogmas Book Spotlight | “O Night Divine” (anthology) by Dragonblade Publishing

Posted Wednesday, 2 December, 2020 by jorielov , 0 Comments

#blogmas badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

As you might have already guessed by the featured #blogmas posts which were arriving a bit early-on this year ahead of December, I sort of went overboard sorting out new releases and new authors or stories to be featured throughout December! I also plan to be *reading!* and talking about my #holidayreads as well, so in case this isn’t your favourite season of the year OR holiday, you might want to take a break from my blog until January! lol I’ll be reading my backlogue of #SatBookChat authors in case Women’s Fiction or Romance are your jam — for the most part though, this December I’ve decided to go ‘all in’ when it comes to seeking out Christmas Romances & stories set during Winter.

This anthology was a bit of a curious one for me – I hadn’t realised it was digital first when I signed onto the promotional tour and I had hoped it might yield a chapter sampler for those of us waiting a different format to read the anthology – but all that aside, what I thought was quite interesting is how each of the writers wrote about a different entry point which works well with the anthology’s overall theme!

Not to mention the fact, with such a wide range of voices, styles and writers – you are bound to find more than a handful of new authors to chase after to read more of their collective works; and this is singularly why I love finding new anthologies to read! The chance to have a bit of a ‘tasting’ if you will of an author’s style and in some cases (as I was visiting their websites/blogs) – some of the authors were extending their series already published with a new short story or novella which is included in this anthology! Imagine that!?

If Christmas anthologies are something you love as much as I do – perhaps this one will be a wicked good fit!? You’ll have to let me know in the comments!!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

#Blogmas Book Spotlight | “O Night Divine” (anthology) by Dragonblade PublishingO Night Divine
Subtitle: A Holiday Collection of Spirited Christmas Tales

A MASTERPIECE OF HOLIDAY STORYTELLING...

Enjoy this stunning holiday collection from some of your favorite Dragonblade Publishing authors in this collection of never-before published seasonal tales!

Imagine, if you will, that it is Christmas Eve.

The candles are guttered, one by one, and a hush falls over the parlor. The children have gone to bed, and a tall, gloriously decorated Christmas tree looms in the shadows of the hearth’s dying embers. A tattered copy of Charles Dickens’ masterwork, “A Christmas Carol” sits, cold and lonely, upon a table nearby. 

A small gust of wind, hurling from the seam of an ill-fitting window, blows the cover open. The first chapter appears… “Marley’s Ghost”…

The clock on the wall chimes midnight.

Now, the magic happens.

From the gaily bedecked halls of Regency England to the cold and crisp air of the Scottish Highlands, and everything in between, enjoy the magic of a holiday collection that has drawn inspiration from Charles Dickens’ most beloved literary works. Where the ghosts of Christmas, the incandescent spirit of a tiny disabled boy, and the joy that is the very heart of the Christmas season come alive. 

USA Today and Internationally bestselling authors
bring you their version of a Dickens’-inspired holiday in O NIGHT DIVINE.

Genres: Anthology Collection of Short Stories and/or Essays, Christmas Story &/or Christmas Romance, Historical Romance, Short Story or Novella


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ASIN: B08F5LSDN7

Published by Dragonblade Publishing

on 17th December, 2020

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Dragonblade Publishing (@dragonbladepub)

This is a Digital First Release – ebook only!

Converse on Twitter via: #CharlesDickens retell #Anthology + #AChristmasCarol
as well as #HolidayReads or #ChristmasReads

Read More

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 2 December, 2020 by jorielov in Anthology Collection of Stories, Blog Tour Host, Book Blitz, Book Spotlight, Christmas Romance &/or Holiday Story, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Indie Author, Novellas or Short Stories, Romance Fiction, Xpresso Book Tours

#Blogmas Book Spotlight | “Fairytale Christmas” (anthology) by Enchanted Quill Press

Posted Tuesday, 1 December, 2020 by jorielov , , , 0 Comments

#blogmas badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

As you know, one of my favourite ways to read Speculative Fiction is throughout anthological collections of stories – either shorts, novellas or a variety of both. I’ve previously enjoyed a Wintry themed anthology by World Weaver Press which was entitled “Frozen Fairytales” which reminds me quite a bit of “Fairytale Christmas” as the stories within this collection I’m spotlighting today have a Wintry edging to them where the cold of the season and the iciness of the characters’ hearts merge into a collection of Wintry tales!

I have chatted about my fascination with after canon & retellings for fairy tales through a wide variety of chats – including my own @SatBookChat, wherein, I find the writers who are re-spinning the tales are creating stories I can soak my teeth inside and still pull out a wicked good tale. When it comes to the originals of the fairytales themselves, I find myself less inclined to read them. A bit of trivia I learnt about myself in recent years of hosting #SatBookChat, as I had no idea the original tales are far more intense and at times violent compared to how their respun. This isn’t the first time I’ve featured an anthology of respun tales either – as I have the tendency to have an eye out for these kinds of anthologies year round!

The extract I selected is one where you can tell this is a tale about Snow White – which is one of my favourites to see re-imagined – both in story and/or on the big screen though in regards to films, not all the films they’ve produced these last two decades were my favourites. A few yes, the majority, no. Snow White is just a classic in of its own right and it is lovely to see how a writer might re-align us back into the story whilst giving us a wicked good nemesis in the witch, too!

If you’re into Speculative Fiction and you’ve been looking for a new anthology – perhaps this one might be one to keep on your bookish radar? Enjoy the extract and let me know in the comments if you love reading anthologies like this one as much as I do!?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

#Blogmas Book Spotlight | “Fairytale Christmas” (anthology) by Enchanted Quill PressFairytale Christmas
by Vivienne Hart

Fairylights, mistletoe and cozy nights by the fire…

Delve into this spellbinding Fairytale Christmas set full of enchanting romance, festive fun and more excitement than anything you’d find in your Christmas stocking.

Come on a sleigh ride through worlds of wonder and wrap yourself up in these brand new fairytale retellings, written by Amazon best selling and award winning authors in this magical limited edition collection.

Sixteen incredible authors, fifteen brand new retellings, Prince Charming, fairytale balls and a partridge in a pear tree. All wrapped up and ready to read.

One click now for your Christmas happily ever after…

Genres: Anthology Collection of Short Stories and/or Essays, Fairy-Tale Re-Telling, Fantasy Fiction, Short Story or Novella


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ASIN: B08KGSWVMX

Published by Enchanted Quill Press

on 1st November, 2020

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The following authors and their stories are included in this anthology:

Reign of Holly by Amanda Marin

A Christmas Frog Leaping for Love by Audrey Rich

Shrinking Cin by Erin Lee writing as EL George

Fairytale Academy by Majanka Verstraete

Forest of Frost: Sugared Plums & Poisoned Apples by Vivienne Hart

Snooze or Lose by Jude Cocaigne

Lady or Maid by Emily Deady

Winter Flame by K.A. Last

King of Ice and Time by J.R. Castle

The Winter Swan by Samantha Bell

Jewel of Mine by Diana Dawn

The Road Past Winter by Kat Parrish

The Snow Queen’s Daughter by Serene Conneeley

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Enchanted Quill Press (@quill_press)

This is a Digital First Release – ebook only!

Converse on Twitter via: #Fairytale #Fantasy #Anthology or #FairytaleChristmas

Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 1 December, 2020 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Blitz, Book Spotlight, Fairy Tale Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, Indie Author, Xpresso Book Tours

#SciFiMonth Space Opera Anthology Review | “Far Orbit: Apogee” (Speculative Space Adventures) edited by Bascomb James (by World Weaver Press)

Posted Thursday, 26 November, 2020 by jorielov , , 0 Comments

#SciFiMonth Book Review banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book by: Did you ever grow curious about a new publisher who produces science fiction, fantasy, and horror genre selections in both novel length and short stories? Did you ever decide to enquire with the publisher you’ve found to see if they were open to book blogger requests to read and review their selections!? This is the situation I found myself in as I was quite mystified by the offerings of World Weaver Press! Such a delightful discovery on my behalf [in 2015] with a website full of inspiring reads across SFF!

Since I started reviewing with World Weaver Press [in August, 2015] there has been a changing of the guard behind-the-scenes where there is a new owner & publicity team. I am wicked happy to see the legacy and tradition of WWP has been carried forward by this lovely new team! I am honoured to work with them continuing to showcase World Weaver Press through reviewing their titles and hosting future guest features by their authors! Except to say when my personal health afflictions and adversities overtook my ability to concentrate on the stories with successive delays in posting my reviews suddenly became the norm, I withdrew making new requests from the publisher as much as it pained me to admit I was falling further behind. I enjoyed the time I had as a reviewer for this publisher and I will continue to seek out the stories by the authors I’ve discovered along the way. I especially want to continue to gather the anthologies by Rhonda Parrish to round out my collection!

I received a complimentary copy of “Far Orbit: Apogee” direct from the publisher World Weaver Press in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I’ve been dearly keen on reading this lovely Anthology:

It is fair to say, one of my favourite sections of Science Fiction are the realms within Space Opera & the infinite array of how we can not only explore Spacer lifestyles but delve into the myriad dimensions of how evolving life in Space can become for intrepid explorers, traders & colonists who dare to live offworld. It’s a place where due to the variety of entrances you can make as a writer – the reader, can become treated to different perspectives of life in Space inasmuch as the complex complications which go along with interstellar travels.

I originally wanted to read this during #RRSciFiMonth 2017 – as that is when I last updated the draft for this review. However, it was the year my father recovered from his stroke and the following year [2018] I had over 10+ months of health afflictions and a higher frequency of my chronic migraines. Last year [2019] was the first year I started to find relief from the migraines but also, the first year I could re-address my backlogue reviews whilst self-motivating myself through a few challenges which help re-inspire our self-directed goals such as #BeatTheBackList.

I made some positive enroads towards that personal goal of mine of erasing my backlogue of reviews, however, to be fair, I had less migraines this 2020 but more adversities to overcome as well. Such as the medical emergencies of my parents which included two ER visits in March (non-covid related) wherein I was alerted to be prepared if my Mum might have had a TBI and that would have left me as the carer of both my parents for the foreseeable future. She had sustained a series of bad injuries in an accident and thankfully after a few months recovered and healed from them all. It was an unexpected blessing and one we cherished receiving – yet, from January to May I was migraine-free only to have them return May-October.

I realise now my backlogue goals were set a bit too high to reach and thereby I’ve reset my goals to simply be “pick up a book on the backlogue, read it, sort out my thoughts for the review and let time be the chooser of when it is erased”. It speaks to how sometimes our goals are more long-term than short-term and how sometimes if you have health afflictions, you can maintain your optimism but sometimes you have to be more realistic with how quickly you can accomplish the goals you dearly want to achieve. Thereby, it is a pleasure of JOY being able to share this review during #SciFiMonth 2020! *whew!* What a long, long route I took to diving into FAR ORBIT: Apogee!

It goes without question, I will one day purchase copies of FAR ORBIT (the original collection) and FAR ORBIT: Outpost (if I can find where it was published and when).

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Thursday, 26 November, 2020 by jorielov in Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host, Bookish Discussions, Futuristic Fantasy, Hard Science Fiction, Indie Author, Science Fiction, Soft Science Fiction, Space Opera, Speculative Fiction, World Weaver Press

#SaturdaysAreBookish Audiobook Review | “Jesse’s Girl” by Tara September, narrated by Verla Bond

Posted Saturday, 19 September, 2020 by jorielov , , , 3 Comments

#SaturdaysAreBookish banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: Starting in August 2020, I started hosting for Random Things Tours as a new book blogger working with them to either review and/or host guest author features on behalf of their authors. I was thankful to join their book blogger team and look forward to joining the tours which are highlighting the stories I actively enjoy reading and discovering. I received a complimentary audiobook copy of “Jesse’s Girl” from Random Things Tours in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

On why “Jesse’s Girl” felt like a good fit for a Contemporary Romance:

I love second chance romances and stories of redemption – I have a preference for slow burning romances and getting the chance to have a new relationship repair the angst of a past relationship which seemed to be the case with ‘Jesse’s Girl’ as Gwen was finding her life completely erased from the life she had with Jesse once Jesse left her and his daughter for a fling with a colleague.

What appealled to me the most was the shortness of the story itself – as this was an audiobook under five hours and I felt that was a good length for me at this time to listen too. The shorter audiobooks are fast becoming my new ‘favourites’ and when it comes to Contemporary Romances, I am still navigating the genre to root out who my new favourite voices are for this genre. Having said all that, as you will see on my review, I reached a point in the narration where I could not move forward and what I had hoped to have found in the story was not quite the experience I was given. Despite that, I have some strong observations to relate to my readers who can hopefully discern if this is a romance better fitted to them and their readerly habits.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

#SaturdaysAreBookish Audiobook Review | “Jesse’s Girl” by Tara September, narrated by Verla BondJesse's Girl
by Tara September
Source: Direct from Author via Random Things Tours
Narrator: Verla Bond

“I wish that I had Jesse’s Girl”

Successful Texas lawyer, Reade Walker, curses that damn song every time it plays, all too aware of the irony of its lyrics. After all, he has been secretly and painfully enamored with Jesse’s girl, Gwen, for nearly a decade. It was love at first sight for him, but sadly she’s not his girl. She belongs to the one man who betrayed him and knows Reade’s hidden family secret. Yet Reade can’t seem to love anyone except the one woman he can't have. Or can he make her mine?

When Gwen Clark’s senator husband runs off with his intern and all their money, the ensuing scandal turns her life upside down. Deserted, penniless and desperate to provide for her six-year-old daughter, Gwen has no one to turn to but Reade Walker. The one man her heart desperately wants, but her pride dreads having to ask for help. Despite welcoming them into his home, it seems like Reade can barely stand being in the same room with her anymore, let alone under the same roof—in the same bedroom. But Gwen is determined to get her life back on track. It is past time to rediscover her own dreams…if only she can keep her aching heart from breaking all over again.

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy (Rom Com), Short Story or Novella


Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

Heat Factor for Romance
three-flames

ISBN: 9781093176131

ASIN: B07XBWTWNJ

Published by Plus It Up

on 6th September, 2019

Format: Audiobook | Digital

Length: 3 hours and 37 minutes (unabridged)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Plus It Up

Available Formats: Trade Paperback, Audiobook and Ebook

Converse via: #ContemporaryRomance, #RomCom or #Romance and #JessesGirl
as well as #audioreads, #audiobook or #loveaudiobooks

About Tara September

Blogger and former PR executive for The Walt Disney Company, Tara holds a Master’s degree in journalism & communications from New York University. She also spent a semester abroad during her undergrad at Queen Mary University in London. For over a decade before publishing, Tara has penned a popular lifestyle, travel and parenting blog at TaraMetBlog.com.

Always an avid romance reader, she has been daydreaming about being an author since school. Dozens of bad dates, four cities and adventures later, she still finds it impossible that she met her husband on a New York City subway. They now live in sunny Florida with identical twin boys and four cats underfoot/on her laptop/everywhere. Fueled by an IV of green tea and sometimes Champagne, she's finally writing the happily ever after tales she's been dreaming about.

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Saturday, 19 September, 2020 by jorielov in 21st Century, Audiobook, Blog Tour Host, Contemporary Romance, Content Note, Fly in the Ointment, Indie Author, Life Shift, Modern Day, Motherhood | Parenthood, Random Things Tours, Romance Fiction, Romantic Comedy, Vulgarity in Literature