Publisher: Post Hypnotic Press

Audiobook Blog Tour | “Anne of the Island” by L.M. Montgomery (narrated by Colleen Winton) published by Post Hypnotic Press!

Posted Friday, 18 August, 2017 by jorielov , , , 3 Comments

Audiobook Review Badge made by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Digital Audiobook by: I am a new blog tour hostess with Audiobookworm Promotions wherein I have the opportunity to receive audiobooks for review or adoption (reviews outside of organised blog tours) and host guest features on behalf of authors and narrators alike. When I saw the blog tour for ‘Anne of Green Gables’ I was wicked excited – as I have been wanting to re-read the series for a bit over a year and a half when I first saw a collection of the paperbacks at a thrift store! Mum surprised me with them but for the life of me, I never felt it was the ‘right time’ to read Anne. Seeing the blog tour was featuring the narrations by Post Hypnotic Press – the same publisher of the Betty MacDonald memoirs, I knew I wanted to take part as I love their quality and dedication to how audiobooks are produced!

I received a complimentary audiobook copy of “Anne of the Island” via the publisher Post Hypnotic Press (of whom was working directly Audiobookworm Promotions) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Where we left Anne:

The storm had just passed – the hail storm to end all hail storms – where all the fields and flowers were cut down by the fierceness of the tempest which had destroyed all the lovely crops Avonlea could have yielded. Never one to give up the community of Avonlea pulled together – re-planting and hoping for a harvest, even if it would come in a bit later than normal.

An unexpected stranger arrived much to the shock of Anne – who had helped spread a silly rumour – where her neighbour was meant to marry; only the egg was spoilt on Anne, as he was already wed! The stranger turnt out to be his wife – which was quite comical as Anne never would have suspected the quirky eccentric man could be married but then, she never gave him proper time to explain himself!

I loved how Mr Harrison & Anne took a private conversation – where he lent her the story of his marriage and even offered a rather kind observation in regards to how Anne’s facial expressions lent themselves a portal of insight into the young woman’s emotional state which bartered the observer to understand the lay of her thoughts before she ever spoke a word aloud!

Ms Lavender’s story-line is pulled together and has such a lovely conclusion – you simply feel a contended sigh and find an erstwhile smile gracing your lips. She had such a romantic life – not just in seeing the positive and the beauty surrounding her small cottage hugged into the foils of nature but how she kept a cheerfulness about herself even when self-doubts tried to supersede her own internal wisdom.

Charlotta the 4th had a true blue admiration of Anne – to where she tried to emulate her and become more of her liking even though she sadly realised she had to be her own person – even if she drew true courage and inspiration from Anne. Diana became engaged much to the shocked surprise of Anne – of whom regretted she hadn’t noticed the change in her friend sooner than she had.

Between my listenings of books two and three of this series, I sought out the latest adaptation: “Anne with an E”

I must freely admit, after listening to the first two stories in this lovely series – a series which is anchoured lovingly between my childhood and adult years of appreciation – I craved more of Avonlea and of Anne! I wasn’t entirely sure if I should dare to watch Anne with an E – as a trusted friend mentioned to me recently about how the series is set a bit darker in shade than previous adaptations, but where one ponders the willingness of our mind to accept new variants of our beloved Classics, one must endeavour to ‘try’ the newness of an adaptation even if we recoil from what we find therein.

Happily, I must confess – I was quite chuffed by what I found rather than any thoughts of the contrary by which I had first felt would be my truer hesitation to find myself able to enjoy this new NetFlix series! As I had mentioned previously – I hadn’t quite realised how hard life was for Anne and seeing this new adaptation put truth and purpose into highlighting those moments of Anne’s life as they thread back into her mind’s eye as she tries to give Green Gables a chance at being the ‘home’ she never knew – I found myself enraptured. I truly appreciated the grit of those flashbacks as they were quite penned by Ms Montgomery herself – even though she held back the curtain on their truths just a smidge whereas this adaptation pulls the curtain aside and gives you a glimmer of knowledge of how hard Anne’s life truly was in all honesty.

I only watched two episodes – but already, I could sense, this was a new Avonlea and a new insight into Anne I would appreciate – as my memories of Anne have moved in and round my listenings of her story this August, so too, I saw has my heart grown to accept there is room enough for this new variant to find a niche of a place to reside in my spirit, as the first adaptation was fitting for a young girl and this new one, is an equal match for an adult who is re-visiting her youth and finding a new breath of joy in keeping in step with Anne!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Audiobook Blog Tour | “Anne of the Island” by L.M. Montgomery (narrated by Colleen Winton) published by Post Hypnotic Press!Anne of of the Island
by L.M. Montgomery
Source: Direct from Publisher
Narrator: Colleen Winton

Anne of the Island was published in 1915, seven years after the best-selling Anne of Green Gables, partly because of the continuing clamor for more Anne from her fans - a fan base that continues to grow today!

In this continuation of the story of Anne Shirley, Anne leaves Green Gables and her work as a teacher in Avonlea to pursue her original dream (which she gave up in Anne of Green Gables) of taking further education at Redmond College in Nova Scotia. Gilbert Blythe and Charlie Sloane enroll as well, as does Anne's friend from Queen's Academy, Priscilla Grant.

During her first week of school, Anne befriends Philippa Gordon, a beautiful girl whose frivolous ways charm her. Philippa (Phil for short) also happens to be from Anne's birthplace of Bolingbroke, Nova Scotia. Anne, always the good scholar, studies hard, but she also has many life lessons. This book sees Anne leave behind girlhood to blossom into a mature young woman.

Places to find the book:

ISBN: 978-1-927817-12-4

Also by this author: Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea

Also in this series: Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea


Genres: Children's Literature, Classical Literature


Published by Post Hypnotic Press

on 2014

Format: Audiobook | Digital

Length: 8 Hours, 15 Minutes (Unabridged)

Published By: Post Hypnotic Press (@Post_Hypnotic)

The Anne of Green Gables series by Post Hypnotic Press:

Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.Anne of Avonlea by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.Anne of the Island by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.

The publisher is considering adapting the rest of the series and is looking for feedback on behalf of these adaptations by both the bloggers who are listening to them for the blog tour and the readers who are finding them along the tour route itself – to gauge if the rest of the series would have a readership who would appreciate hearing them. I, for one, am hoping they do produce the rest of the series as these adaptions are great addition for all of us who grew up knowing Anne.

Likewise, if you haven’t yet seen the publisher’s announcement about how their offering a coupon this month on their audiobook catalogue, I encourage you to visit my review of Anne of Green Gables (linked below this review) where I first found out this lovely news myself!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
Divider

Posted Friday, 18 August, 2017 by jorielov in 20th Century, Audiobook, Audiobookworm Promotions, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Canada, Canadian Literature, Childhood Friendship, Children's Classics, Children's Literature, Classical Literature, Indie Author, Juvenile Fiction, School Life & Situations, Teacher & Student Relationships, the Nineteen Hundreds

Audiobook Blog Tour | “Anne of Avonlea” by L.M. Montgomery (narrated by Colleen Winton) published by Post Hypnotic Press!

Posted Sunday, 13 August, 2017 by jorielov , , , 2 Comments

Audiobook Review Badge made by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Digital Audiobook by: I am a new blog tour hostess with Audiobookworm Promotions wherein I have the opportunity to receive audiobooks for review or adoption (reviews outside of organised blog tours) and host guest features on behalf of authors and narrators alike. When I saw the blog tour for ‘Anne of Green Gables’ I was wicked excited – as I have been wanting to re-read the series for a bit over a year and a half when I first saw a collection of the paperbacks at a thrift store! Mum surprised me with them but for the life of me, I never felt it was the ‘right time’ to read Anne. Seeing the blog tour was featuring the narrations by Post Hypnotic Press – the same publisher of the Betty MacDonald memoirs, I knew I wanted to take part as I love their quality and dedication to how audiobooks are produced!

I received a complimentary audiobook copy of “Anne of Avonlea” via the publisher Post Hypnotic Press (of whom was working directly Audiobookworm Promotions) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Where we left Anne:

Anne and Marilla had to walk through a period of heart-wrenching grief and anguish the moment they realised dear Matthew had gone to Heaven ahead of them both – leaving them wretched for the ache in their soul and the emptiness in their hearts to fill in the gaps by which his absence placed in their lives. His was a gentle spirit – a kindly man who was sensitive about Anne – he wanted only the best for his ‘girl’ and he took a liking to her ever since he first laid eyes upon her at the train station – all wide-eyed and curiously eager to see where she was going to ‘call home’ now that he had come to fetch her for Green Gables.

My, how much had changed from those formative years – Anne was nearly seventeen, fully matured past some of her growing wrinkles of angst and a considerably different minded young woman than the one who fought the urge to forgive Gilbert Blythe all those moons ago. She is still fiercely attached to Diana and to the pursuit of knowledge but inside her, was a kind spirit bursting to right the world with her compassion and to endeavour to give back a selfless act of kindness to Marilla of whom saved her from a life of feeling unwanted and unloved. This truly is a story and a series which champions adoption and the non-conventional ways in which children, guardians and parents enter each others’ lives.

There is a quiet sincerity about Anne – she recognises her short-comings and has endeared us all by her ability to see the larger picture without focusing solely on her own intentions and dreams. She feels with all her might a responsible to Marilla (and to Matthew, had he lived) to repay the older woman somehow, someway if only to return a small provision of what Marilla had always bestowed to Anne.

It is here – as she leaves Queens (a bit of a pre-University or Community College segue past lower grades) and enters the workforce as a teacher at Avonlea (courtesy of Gilbert giving up his own teaching position to give Anne the chance to stay local; something which reminded me of how Laura received the teaching fellowship in Little House (the tv series) as I am forgetting if it followed true in the books; you can see everyone in Avonlea has changed their strong opinions against her – even Mrs Rachel Lynde has softened a great deal since she first met Anne and had judged her to a degree in which no one deserves.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Audiobook Blog Tour | “Anne of Avonlea” by L.M. Montgomery (narrated by Colleen Winton) published by Post Hypnotic Press!Anne of Avonlea
by L.M. Montgomery
Source: Direct from Publisher
Narrator: Colleen Winton

Following Anne of Green Gables (1908), this book covers the second chapter in the life of Anne Shirley. We learn of Anne's doings from the age of 16 to 18, during the two years that she teaches at Avonlea school. It includes many of the characters from Anne of Green Gables, as well as new ones: Mr. Harrison and his foul-mouthed parrot, Miss Lavendar Lewis, Paul Irving, and the twins Dora (sweet and well behaved) and Davy (mischievous and in constant trouble).

Anne matures, slightly, but she gets into a number of her familiar pickles, as only Anne can: She accidentally sells her neighbor's cow (having mistaken it for her own), gets stuck in a broken duck house roof while peeping into a pantry window, and more.

Places to find the book:

ISBN: 978-1-927817-09-4

Also by this author: Anne of Green Gables, Anne of of the Island

Also in this series: Anne of Green Gables, Anne of of the Island


Genres: Children's Literature, Classical Literature


Published by Post Hypnotic Press

on 2014

Format: Audiobook | Digital

Length: 9 Hours, 25 Minutes (Unabridged)

Published By: Post Hypnotic Press (@Post_Hypnotic)

The Anne of Green Gables series by Post Hypnotic Press:

Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.Anne of Avonlea by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.Anne of the Island by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.

The publisher is considering adapting the rest of the series and is looking for feedback on behalf of these adaptations by both the bloggers who are listening to them for the blog tour and the readers who are finding them along the tour route itself – to gauge if the rest of the series would have a readership who would appreciate hearing them. I, for one, am hoping they do produce the rest of the series as these adaptions are great addition for all of us who grew up knowing Anne.

Likewise, if you haven’t yet seen the publisher’s announcement about how their offering a coupon this month on their audiobook catalogue, I encourage you to visit my review of Anne of Green Gables (linked below this review) where I first found out this lovely news myself!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
Divider

Posted Sunday, 13 August, 2017 by jorielov in 20th Century, Audiobook, Audiobookworm Promotions, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Canada, Canadian Literature, Childhood Friendship, Children's Classics, Children's Literature, Classical Literature, Indie Author, Juvenile Fiction, School Life & Situations, Teacher & Student Relationships, the Nineteen Hundreds

Audiobook Blog Tour | “Anne of Green Gables” by L.M. Montgomery (narrated by Colleen Winton) published by Post Hypnotic Press!

Posted Saturday, 5 August, 2017 by jorielov , , , 3 Comments

Audiobook Review Badge made by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Digital Audiobook by: I am a new blog tour hostess with Audiobookworm Promotions wherein I have the opportunity to receive audiobooks for review or adoption (reviews outside of organised blog tours) and host guest features on behalf of authors and narrators alike. When I saw the blog tour for ‘Anne of Green Gables’ I was wicked excited – as I have been wanting to re-read the series for a bit over a year and a half when I first saw a collection of the paperbacks at a thrift store! Mum surprised me with them but for the life of me, I never felt it was the ‘right time’ to read Anne. Seeing the blog tour was featuring the narrations by Post Hypnotic Press – the same publisher of the Betty MacDonald memoirs, I knew I wanted to take part as I love their quality and dedication to how audiobooks are produced!

I received a complimentary audiobook copy of “Anne of Green Gables” via the publisher Post Hypnotic Press (of whom was working directly Audiobookworm Promotions) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Why I wanted to read Anne in August:

I have many fond memories of Anne of Green Gables – except to say, it was not until after I requested to join this blog tour, had I realised I do not believe I actually read the stories in my youth! I was meant too – as my grandparents gave me a lovely boxed set of the series inasmuch as they gave me the boxed set of the original adaptation for the series starring Megan Follows. I also actively watched Road to Avonlea which was simulcast on the Disney Channel.

I have a fond spot in my heart for August being dedicated to reading Jane Austen (both the canon and the after canon stories) through my participation in #AustenInAugust (via Roof Beam Reader’s event) which has a new tag where we add RBR on to the main one we used to use all the time. I’ve grown so used to using the original tag whenever I am talking about it, I sometimes forget to use it on Twitter. Oy. I digress. What I wanted to say, is despite the fact August is Austen for me, I wanted to take-on another beloved author and a series which has meant so much to me for so very long. I have been wanting to read more of the titles on my Classics Club List as well and this felt like a good month to attempt to put more Classics on my readerly path.

I’ll never remember truly – did I read the first book of Green Gables before I opted to see the film adaptation and tv series? Or, did I read passages of the book and still watched the adaptations? It’s hard to know for sure as too much time has gone past between then and now. I do know I knew Anne so very well – but how I came to know her originally is lost to time. Sometimes I forget which books I read and which stories I knew better in their film adaptations – this is one which hinges between memory and time. Which is why of course, when I first started listening to the adaptation by Post Hypnotic Press, I was a bit confused to know – was this the Anne of my memories or was this the Anne I hadn’t properly been introduced all those years ago?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Audiobook Blog Tour | “Anne of Green Gables” by L.M. Montgomery (narrated by Colleen Winton) published by Post Hypnotic Press!Anne of Green Gables
by L.M. Montgomery
Source: Direct from Publisher
Narrator: Colleen Winton

Anne, a young orphan from the fictional community of Bolingbroke, Nova Scotia (based upon the real community of New London), is sent to Prince Edward Island after a childhood spent in strangers' homes and orphanages.

Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, siblings in their 50s and 60s, had decided to adopt a boy from the orphanage to help Matthew run their farm. They live at Green Gables, their Avonlea farmhouse on Prince Edward Island.

Through a misunderstanding, the orphanage sends Anne Shirley. Anne is described as bright and quick, eager to please, talkative, and extremely imaginative. She has a pale face with freckles and usually braids her red hair.

When asked her name, Anne tells Marilla to call her Cordelia, which Marilla refuses; Anne then insists that if she is to be called Anne, it must be spelled with an e, as that spelling is "so much more distinguished".

Marilla at first says the girl must return to the orphanage, but after a few days she decides to let her stay. Marilla feels that she could be a good influence on the girl and had also overheard that another disagreeable woman in town might take Anne in instead.

Places to find the book:

ISBN: 978-1-927817-06-3

Also by this author: Anne of Avonlea, Anne of of the Island

Also in this series: Anne of Avonlea, Anne of of the Island


Genres: Children's Literature, Classical Literature


Published by Post Hypnotic Press

on 2014

Format: Audiobook | Digital

Length: 10 hours, 7 minutes (Unabridged)

Published By: Post Hypnotic Press (@Post_Hypnotic)

The Anne of Green Gables series by Post Hypnotic Press:

Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.Anne of Avonlea by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.Anne of the Island by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.

The publisher is considering adapting the rest of the series and is looking for feedback on behalf of these adaptations by both the bloggers who are listening to them for the blog tour and the readers who are finding them along the tour route itself – to gauge if the rest of the series would have a readership who would appreciate hearing them. I, for one, am hoping they do produce the rest of the series as these adaptions are great addition for all of us who grew up knowing Anne.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
Divider

Posted Saturday, 5 August, 2017 by jorielov in Audiobook, Audiobookworm Promotions, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Canada, Canadian Literature, Childhood Friendship, Children's Classics, Children's Literature, Classical Literature, Indie Author, Juvenile Fiction, School Life & Situations, Teacher & Student Relationships

Audiobook Review | “Looking for Betty MacDonald” written and narrated by Paula Becker

Posted Friday, 28 April, 2017 by jorielov , , , 3 Comments

Audiobook Review Badge made by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Digital Audiobook by: I am a new blog tour hostess with Audiobookworm Promotions wherein I have the opportunity to receive audiobooks for review or adoption (reviews outside of organised blog tours) and host guest features on behalf of authors and narrators alike. The Egg and I blog tour marks my second tour wherein I have become quite happily surprised how much I am now keen on listening to books in lieu of reading them in print. My journey into audiobooks was prompted by a return of my chronic migraines wherein I want to offset my readings with listening to the audio versions.

I received a complimentary audiobook copy of “Looking for Betty MacDonald” via the publicist at Audiobookworm Promotions (of whom was working directly with the narrator/author Paula Becker) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Why I wanted to listen to this biography of Betty MacDonald:

I suppose I wanted to give myself a capstone to my listening hours spent inside the world of Betty MacDonald; as the narratives were capturing of my attention for the past several months. I had a rough start with them before the close of 2016 (mostly due to personal circumstances which took me away from books in general) but by the time I entered The Plague and I; I had found my footing. I had a feeling it might be a good idea to listen to this biography if only to have closure on the journey and to listen to someone else trying to find Betty of whom I think has remained a bit shadowed in history. Her memoirs have remained in print but how much of the real Betty do any of us really and truly know!? I wondered if she might have kept a few things hidden; private and away from the eyes of the public.

I was originally supposed to host an interview attached to this review – somewhere along the way, I completely forgot about it. When I had three weeks of struggling through a bout of pollen allergies (late March/early April) all hope of sorting this interview out went out the window as I missed the deadline. I can only hope the author would understand if she sees this note now on my review. Just getting back to a place where I could pick up books again without fear of sneezing half a lung out of my chest was a joy in of itself! Pollen is such a horrid allergy but sometimes it provides a blunt entrance to Spring. Thankfully, I could find something else to appreciate about Spring this year and that was a renewal of balance and of finding my way with reading and blogging once again.

I am unsure what drew my interest into the MacDonald memoirs initially; it’s so long ago now since I first queued them into my schedule. One thing is for certain, I won’t soon forget my time listening to her quirkified memoirs and her resilience to get through everything which came across her path to overcome. There is strength in listening to someone’s story which grew bolder in adversity to recognise there are moments that will test our resolves but it’s how we rise to greet those obstacles and surpass them that gives us a proper sense of what we can humbling say was a period of growth and learning.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Audiobook Review | “Looking for Betty MacDonald” written and narrated by Paula BeckerLooking for Betty MacDonald
Subtitle: The Egg, The Plague, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle and I
by Paula Becker
Source: Audiobook via Audiobookworm Promotions

Betty Bard MacDonald (1907-1958), the best-selling author of The Egg and I and the classic Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle children's books, burst onto the literary scene shortly after the end of World War II. Readers embraced her memoir of her years as a young bride operating a chicken ranch on Washington's Olympic Peninsula, and The Egg and I sold its first million copies in less than a year. The public was drawn to MacDonald's vivacity, her offbeat humor, and her irreverent take on life.

In 1947, the book was made into a movie starring Fred MacMurray and Claudette Colbert, and spawned a series of films featuring MacDonald's Ma and Pa Kettle characters.

MacDonald followed up the success of The Egg and I with the creation of Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, a magical woman who cures children of their bad habits, and with three additional memoirs: The Plague and I (chronicling her time in a tuberculosis sanitarium just outside Seattle),Anybody Can Do Anything (recounting her madcap attempts to find work during the Great Depression), and Onions in the Stew (about her life raising two teenage daughters on Vashon Island).

Author Paula Becker was granted full access to Betty MacDonald's archives, including materials never before seen by any researcher. Looking for Betty MacDonald, the first biography of this endearing Northwest storyteller, reveals the story behind the memoirs and the difference between the real Betty MacDonald and her literary persona.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

ASIN: B01LW1RMM9

Genres: Biography / Autobiography, Non-Fiction


Published by Post Hypnotic Press

on 14th September, 2016

Format: Audiobook | Digital

Length: 8 hours 10 minutes (unabridged)

Published By: Post Hypnotic Press (@Post_Hypnotic)

About Paula Becker

Paula Becker

Paula Becker is a writer and historian living in Seattle, Washington. She is the author of the book Looking For Betty MacDonald: The Egg, The Plague, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle and I (University of Washington Press), and co-author (with Alan J. Stein) of the books The Future Remembered: The 1962 Seattle World’s Fair And Its Legacy (Seattle Center Foundation, 2011) and Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition: Washington’s First World’s Fair (History Ink/HistoryLink in association with University of Washington Press, 2009).

More than 300 of Paula’s essays documenting all aspects of Washington’s history appear on HistoryLink.org, the online encyclopedia of Washington state history, where she is a staff historian.

Read More

Divider

Posted Friday, 28 April, 2017 by jorielov in Audiobook Narrator Interview, Audiobookworm Promotions, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Memoir, Non-Fiction, Vignettes of Real Life

Audiobook Review | “Onions in the Stew” by Betty MacDonald, narrated by Heather Henderson

Posted Tuesday, 28 March, 2017 by jorielov , , , 2 Comments

Audiobook Review Badge made by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Digital Audiobook by: I am a new blog tour hostess with Audiobookworm Promotions wherein I have the opportunity to receive audiobooks for review or adoption (reviews outside of organised blog tours) and host guest features on behalf of authors and narrators alike. The Egg and I blog tour marks my second tour wherein I have become quite happily surprised how much I am now keen on listening to books in lieu of reading them in print. My journey into audiobooks was prompted by a return of my chronic migraines wherein I want to offset my readings with listening to the audio versions.

I received a complimentary audiobook copy of “Onions in the Stew” via the publicist at Audiobookworm Promotions (of whom was working directly with the narrator Heather Henderson and Post Hypnotic Press, Inc.) in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Audiobook Review | “Onions in the Stew” by Betty MacDonald, narrated by Heather HendersonOnions in the Stew
by Betty MacDonald
Source: Audiobook via Audiobookworm Promotions
Narrator: Heather Henderson

The bestselling author of the American humor classic The Egg and I continues the adventure with this collection of tales about life on the fringe of the Western wilderness.

Writing in the 1950s, Betty MacDonald, sophisticated and urbane, captivated readers with her observations about raising a family on an island in Puget Sound.

As usual, humorist MacDonald is her own favorite target. She manages to get herself into scrapes with washing machines set adrift in rowboats, used cars, and a $25 Turkey Squasher. And then there's the scariest aspect of island life -- teenaged children.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

Also by this author: The Plague And I, Anybody Can Do Anything

Also in this series: The Plague And I, Anybody Can Do Anything


Genres: Biography / Autobiography, Memoir, Non-Fiction


Published by Post Hypnotic Press

Format: Audiobook | Digital

Length: 9 hours 40 minutes (unabridged)

Published By: Post Hypnotic Press (@Post_Hypnotic)

About Betty MacDonald

Betty MacDonald

Betty Bard MacDonald (1907–1958), the best-selling author of The Egg and I and the classic Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle children’s books, burst onto the literary scene shortly after the end of World War II. Readers embraced her memoir of her years as a young bride operating a chicken ranch on Washington’s Olympic Peninsula, and The Egg and I sold its first million copies in less than a year.

The public was drawn to MacDonald’s vivacity, her offbeat humor, and her irreverent take on life. In 1947, the book was made into a movie starring Fred MacMurray and Claudette Colbert, and spawned a series of films featuring MacDonald’s Ma and Pa Kettle characters.

MacDonald followed up the success of The Egg and I with the creation of Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, a magical woman who cures children of their bad habits, and with three additional memoirs: The Plague and I (chronicling her time in a tuberculosis sanitarium just outside Seattle), Anybody Can Do Anything (recounting her madcap attempts to find work during the Great Depression), and Onions in the Stew (about her life raising two teenage daughters on Vashon Island).

Author Paula Becker was granted full access to Betty MacDonald’s archives, including materials never before seen by any researcher. Looking for Betty MacDonald, the first official biography of this endearing Northwest storyteller, reveals the story behind the memoirs and the difference between the real Betty MacDonald and her literary persona.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 28 March, 2017 by jorielov in Audiobook Narrator Interview, Audiobookworm Promotions, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Memoir, Non-Fiction, Vignettes of Real Life

Page 1 of 212