Publisher: Aria Fiction

Book Spotlight w/ Notes and Extract | “Coming Home to Penvennan Cove” Linn B. Halton

Posted Wednesday, 7 October, 2020 by jorielov , , , , 1 Comment

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

I’ve crossed paths with Ms Halton in the past whilst hosting another blog tour for her as much as I’ve interacted with her on #bookTwitter a few times as well. It is my intention to start listening to her stories in audiobook – either through Scribd or my libraries, as whenever I’ve sampled her narrators, I find myself compelled to hear the fuller story! It is simply a matter of time and sorting out which is available to me.

I’ve been trying to keep better informed about the stories releasing by authors of my #mustread list over the years, but sometimes I do fall a bit short knowing which of their stories has come out which is one keen benefit of being a book blogger as it enables me to keep a better eye on their releases! I love visiting with my fellow book bloggers for this same reason as even if a book hasn’t come across my own radar, someone else in the book blogosphere has had the pleasure of finding it for me! And, of course vice versa applies to me as well for helping my fellow readers and book bloggers! It has become a lovely niche community of the bookish wherein each time we all attempt to highlight a story or blog our curiosities about one – we are in fact, helping to spread the word about the stories themselves. Thereby it is always a pleasure of joy to re-host an author I am so keenly happy to be featuring on my blog ahead of reading their stories!

She is also known as Lucy Coleman (wherein I have hosted a blog tour for her releases as well!) which I love knowing as authors today publish under differnet names for different reasons. Such as exchanging one genre for another or publishing with different publishers. If you were curious about Ms Halton, I hope you’ve found her stories as Ms Coleman, too!

I enjoy finding stories which focus on a certain part of our lives and perhaps whose end game doesn’t involve a romantic connection but there could be a romantic thread inclusive of the story itself. Meaning, I love how this story involves family and the drama of family as much as it talks about different generational ages of people involved. Those are the interesting stories to discover because they tuck us into the life of a woman ‘behind’ the scenes of her life and into the corridors of where she is living the most out of her hours. This is one reason I enjoy reading ‘Women’s Fiction’ and haven’t sorted out why it has such a bad reputation recently on social bookish channels.

To me Women’s Fiction is an evolution of a woman’s life from different perspectives of that life she’s living whilst endeavouring to give us an emotional portrait of how she’s chosen to live her life as well. Sometimes it focuses on a particular moment of her life as well or a transitional period of her life or even an adverse circumstance; each story is uniquely told with the perspective of cluing us more into her journey and the growth she’s experience as she’s lived her life. In essence to capitalise on everything which evolves through her living experiences and the ways in which her life has developed before and after we’ve met her which makes for keen reading.

I especially love finding stories of either redemption or second chances – stories wherein someone is looking for a new chapter to begin in their lives and perhaps taking a chance of relocation. For these reasons I felt this story was a wicked good fit for me as reader and hope you might consider it being a good fit for you, too!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I wanted to host a spotlight & extract
for this new Women’s Fiction ‘Coming Home to Penvennan Cove’:

As the founder and host of @SatBookChat – I am constantly seeking to find new stories featuring strong women in the centre of Romance & Women’s Fiction. I read an equal amount of Contemporary and Historical stories within these genres of interest whilst encompassing all the lovely sub-niches of their literary styles as well. This New Year 2020 I am also seeking out Feminist Lit which celebrates the kind of stories I am enjoying to discover as well. All of which I try to champion and showcase in the chats I host on Saturdays – wherein writers, readers, book reviewers, book bloggers and the rest of the bookish community on Twitter get to engage with one another. Thereby as a regular reader of these stories I was delighted to find a #newtomeauthor to start seeking out to read!

As said, this is an author I’m especially keen on reading in future and it is only a matter of time before I queue her stories into my readerly life. I have had the tendency of finding her holiday stories in the past but as I am a reader who loves reading Women’s Fiction – this particular release caught my eye recently! What I found brilliantly motivating about it really is the non-traditional characters populating the story itself and how this is a story about life rather than focusing directly on a romance.

This is why I actively try to read both Romance & Women’s Fiction as the latter chooses not to focus directly on the former but rather the moments in and round a women’s life which isn’t necessarily hinged to finding love and sustaining a relationship. Those are the moments which are exciting to read as a reader as we’re all living our lives and having unexpected moments percolate into our hours and yet, more oft than naught those ordinary moments are not always explored in Contemporary Lit in either genre of interest.

From what I’m gathering about this new release – Kerra wants to help out her family and yes, there might be a beau on the side but her first intentions are to aide her fam, sort out her life thereafter and then, perhaps consider an old flame! To me that is the perfect mix of what I’m currently seeking out of my wanderings in Women’s Fiction as it hones in on how sometimes you must put both yourself and your fam first even ahead of a dash of romance!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Be sure to brew your favourite cuppa and enjoy the extract from this story!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Book Spotlight w/ Notes and Extract | “Coming Home to Penvennan Cove” Linn B. HaltonComing Home to Penvennan Cove
by Linn B. Halton, Ms Linn B. Halton

Can Kerra's Cornish hometown offer the fresh start she needs?

When Kerra left the quiet Cornish town of Penvennan Cove for the bright lights of London she didn't look back. But after the death of her mother, she's decided it's time to face her past and return to the place she called home. Her father needs her, and perhaps she needs him more than she's willing to admit?

Tackling town gossip, home renovations and a flame from her past, it's not quite smooth sailing for Kerra. Ross is the bad boy she was meant to forget, not a man who still sets her heart aflutter. As he helps bring her dream home to life, they begin to break down the barriers that have been holding them back and in the process learn things about themselves they never thought possible.

As friends old and new come together, the future in Penvennan looks bright.

Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Phillipa Ashley and Julie Houston.

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Women's Fiction


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ASIN: B089BZQMYX

Also by this author: Christmas at Bay Tree Cottage

Published by Aria Fiction

on 8th October, 2020

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published By: Aria Fiction (@Aria_Fiction)
a Digital First imprint of Head of Zeus (@HoZ_Books)

This is a Digital First Release!

Converse via: #ComingHomeToPenvennanCove, #WomensFiction and #HeadOfZeus

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 7 October, 2020 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Spotlight, Head of Zeus, Non-traditional characters, Pensioners & Retirees, Women's Fiction

Book Spotlight w/ Notes and Extract | “Love Me Like You Do” by Aimee Brown

Posted Wednesday, 30 September, 2020 by jorielov , , , 1 Comment

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

I’ve been thankful to keep an eye on emerging Contemporary Romance & Women’s Fiction stories for the past seven years – over the years, I’ve worked with different publishers to either bring featured content by the authors themselves or to find ways in which I can shine a light on the stories (such as this featured spotlight with extract) and/or when a format I can read or listen to were available, I’ve been bringing reviews to my blog Jorie Loves A Story.

Head of Zeus is a publisher I’ve been working with since April 2019 and it has been such an incredible journey of seeking out the stories their authors are writing. I even have had the chance to discovering a thrilling writer of Suspense in J.S. Monroe! I can’t wait to start listening to their audioreads and sorting out which Historical & Contemporary novelist has captured my attention the most through the stories they’ve written based off the ones I’ve selected to focus on during their blog tours on Jorie Loves A Story. As getting the chance to interview their authors is another wickedly exciting part of hosting their tours.

And, one of my favourite ways of finding new Contemporary authors who are writing stories I’m interested in reading is through hosting blog tours for Head of Zeus. They publish a wide variety of stories I’ve showcased (both Contemporary & Historical) but with the Contemporaries, I am finding a lot of different kinds of stories interest me – sometimes the plots take me by surprise and other times, they feel as cosy comforting as the last series I showcased for Jenny Kane!

Thankfully more of these lovelies are going into audiobook release and as they reach Scribd, I am hoping to listen to more of them over the course of the next year. Until then, it is a pleasure of joy of being able to talk about the stories, share an extract and hopefully increase my bookish friends’ TBRs as readily as I am increasing my own! Ha! I’d love to know if anyone has followed behind me and has started to read these stories ahead of me or if they are hoping to read them in the future?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I wanted to host a spotlight & extract
for this new Contemporary Romance ‘Love Me Like You Do’:

As the founder and host of @SatBookChat – I am constantly seeking to find new stories featuring strong women in the centre of Romance & Women’s Fiction. I read an equal amount of Contemporary and Historical stories within these genres of interest whilst encompassing all the lovely sub-niches of their literary styles as well. This New Year 2020 I am also seeking out Feminist Lit which celebrates the kind of stories I am enjoying to discover as well. All of which I try to champion and showcase in the chats I host on Saturdays – wherein writers, readers, book reviewers, book bloggers and the rest of the bookish community on Twitter get to engage with one another. Thereby as a regular reader of these stories I was delighted to find a #newtomeauthor to start seeking out to read!

I hanker after romantic comedies in theaters and yet, when it comes to my personal interests as a reader, I must confess, it is the RomCom which I struggle to find which carries with it my preferences for sophiscated comedy without derailing itself into a niche of comedy which makes my brow wrinkle. I love comedic romance because it tucks us into the lighter areas of life whilst poking fun at the complications of dating & courting before marriage. The interesting bit is that I’ve found that comedic timing in novels is just as layered and intriguing as the comedic timing in films.

Whichever medium the writer is writing – they have to grab our attention quite early-on and give us a reason to hunger after the story we’ve just become introduced. The best RomCom writers have a way of gripping me within the opening bridge of their novels and then, giving me such a satisfaction to reach their conclusions! When that happens, I count my blessings and am full of grateful gratitude for having found them.

I had a bit of a smirk when I read this involved a ‘runaway bride’ as I still have fond memories of seeing Julia Robert’s film (“Runaway Bride”) and being swept up in her life. Which at the time, felt less like a RomCom and more like a dramedy – but I could say that for her other films as well, including “Notting Hill”. I think the more stories like this one I can seek out the better I’ll be as I could use more lighter stories in my reading queue! I love to laugh at the movies but I think I’ve forgotten to find ways to laugh in my readerly life! Oyy.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Be sure to brew your favourite cuppa and enjoy the extract from this story!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Book Spotlight w/ Notes and Extract | “Love Me Like You Do” by Aimee BrownLove Me Like You Do
Subtitle: To fall in love they will have to find themselves again...
by Aimee Brown

A runaway bride. A handsome stranger. Two pasts to put behind them.

Parker is ready to marry the man of her dreams. But he isn't ready to marry her. It would be helpful if he didn't choose their wedding day to tell her this. But as she flees from the travesty behind her, she literally runs into the arms of a handsome stranger. The southern drawl, the dreamy eyes, she can't fall for another man after being left at the altar – can she?

When Liam agreed to go to go on a date he didn't expect to leave with the bride. Nor did he expect to take her the emergency room. Immediately he's drawn to her fiery spirit, her kind heart and beautiful smile. Liam's got a whole host of problems and a past that keeps coming back, now can't be the time to fall in love, but Parker might just be the one to break down his barriers and let him live a little – if she'll let him in.

Will these two strangers allow serendipity to put them together, or will their fears keep them apart?

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Romance Fiction, Romantic Comedy (Rom Com)


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ASIN: B0876FXPSH

Published by Aria Fiction

on 17th September, 2020

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published By: Aria Fiction (@Aria_Fiction)
a Digital First imprint of Head of Zeus (@HoZ_Books)

This is a Digital First Release!

Converse via: #LoveMeLikeYouDo, #ContemporaryRomance and #HeadOfZeus

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Wednesday, 30 September, 2020 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Spotlight, Contemporary Romance, Head of Zeus, Romance Fiction, Romantic Comedy

Series Spotlight w/ Notes and Extracts | The Mill Grange series by Jenny Kane feat. “Midsummer Dreams at Mill Grange” and “Autumn Leaves and Mills Grange”!

Posted Thursday, 24 September, 2020 by jorielov , , , , , 0 Comments

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

I’ve been a bit out of sync with my blog off/on throughout 2020. I’ve been having some adversely difficult migraines to transition through as much as the health of my parents have been affected throughout the year as well. In essence, I’ve had to take different gaps of time off my blog and thereby, as I lose a bit of my short term memory due to the severity of the migraines themselves, on certain occasions – I’ve either forgotten about a blog tour (such as the first novel in this series I was meant to spotlight earlier in the Summer) completely OR I’ve had to reschedule a blog tour due to my inability to read the stories.

It has been a rather interesting year from that angle – as from other viewings of the year, things haven’t gone too bad considering and yet, I’ve gone through moments with my blog where I’ve felt inspired to blog nearly everyday and/or every week (at least) to moments where the blog is barely able to keep surfacing. This is a plight of most book bloggers I believe this year and my reasons behind my absences and bouts offline are more due to health afflictions than they are due to anything else – except for some of the tech issues I’ve gone through with connectivity difficulties and/or the odd lightning storm which can wreck havoc on anyone’s online life.

I’ve been blessed to have found such a lovely collection of stories I am keenly interested in reading and/or listening on audiobook this year published by Head of Zeus. I shall be spending most of the next year gathering them, as some were not yet released in either print or audio formats whilst some of them were cross-released immediately. I love hosting for this publisher – as they are one of the publishers I am finding whose writers are writing stories which interest me to read.

I decided to make amends for one of my forgotten blog tours this Summer today, by including information on behalf of the first novel of the Mill Grange series “Midsummer at Mill Grange” whilst celebrating the release of the sequel and second novel of the series “Autumn Leaves at Mill Grange”. Hopefully I’ll entice your bookish curiosity about these stories whilst redeeming myself a bit by having missed the chance to celebrate the series as it first released.Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I wanted to host a spotlight & extract
for these two lovely new books in a new series ‘Mill Grange’:

As the founder and host of @SatBookChat – I am constantly seeking to find new stories featuring strong women in the centre of Romance & Women’s Fiction. I read an equal amount of Contemporary and Historical stories within these genres of interest whilst encompassing all the lovely sub-niches of their literary styles as well. This New Year 2020 I am also seeking out Feminist Lit which celebrates the kind of stories I am enjoying to discover as well. All of which I try to champion and showcase in the chats I host on Saturdays – wherein writers, readers, book reviewers, book bloggers and the rest of the bookish community on Twitter get to engage with one another. Thereby as a regular reader of these stories I was delighted to find a #newtomeauthor to start seeking out to read!

I’ve been happily finding new stories to read and listen to through hosting for Head of Zeus this year which tuck into the topics, themes and stories I love championing during #SatBookChat, and the Mill Grange series fit within the kind of sphere of story I love to discover, read and champion during my chat. Mostly as if it involves Romance, Women’s Fiction or any story with a Feminist message bent into the novel – odds are in good favour I’m going to LOVE it.

When it comes to Mill Grange, the other benefit of course is the fact this is a series set round a community and small towne atmosphere which are amongst my favourites to read as you get to stay longer and sit more with the characters you’ve found in a setting which is a cosy comfort to re-visit. Hence why I am thankful to be on this lovely blog tour and to draw a light of joy round finding it!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Be sure to brew your favourite cuppa and enjoy the extracts from these stories!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Series Spotlight w/ Notes and Extracts | The Mill Grange series by Jenny Kane feat. “Midsummer Dreams at Mill Grange” and “Autumn Leaves and Mills Grange”!Autumn Leaves at Mill Grange
by Jenny Kane

At Mill Grange, the work – and the fun – never stops! As autumn brings coolness and colour, change is in the air for all at the manor...

Sam Philips' time in the forces changed him forever. Supported by his friends, Sam is keen to help make beautiful Mill Grange a safe retreat for injured army personnel... but his crippling claustrophobia means Sam is living in a tent on the grounds! Enlisting the help of charming village stalwarts Bert and Mabel Hastings, Tina Martins is determined to find a way to help him conquer his fears. But why does she feel like he is keeping a secret?

After discovering evidence of a Roman fortlet on the manor's grounds, Thea Thomas is thrilled at the chance to return to her archaeological roots and lead the excavation. She spent the summer with handsome celebrity archaeologist Shaun Cowlson – but now he's off filming his Landscape Treasures show in Cornwall, and Thea can't help but miss his company. Especially as someone else is vying for his attention...

Welcome back to Mill Grange and the beautiful village of Upwich, full of larger-than-life characters you can't help but adore.

Genres: Contemporary (Modern) Fiction (post 1945), Contemporary Romance, Romance Fiction


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 978-1838938123

ASIN: B0888VGHM9

Published by Aria Fiction

on 10th September, 2020

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Mill Grange series:

Midsummer Dreams at Mills Grange by Jenny Kane Autumn Leaves at Mill Grange by Jenny Kane

Midsummer Dreams At Mill Grange (book one)

Thea Thomas needs to get away from her old life… and the interfering ex who won’t leave her alone. When she lands a job heading up the restoration of Mill Grange, a stunning Victorian manor, it feels like the perfect opportunity to start afresh.

What Thea didn’t anticipate was how hostile the volunteer team, led by the formidable Mable Hastings, would be about accepting new leadership. And with the deadline looming before the grand opening, Thea is in desperate need of more volunteers.

A broadcast appeal on the local news attracts the interest of arrogant but undeniably attractive celebrity historian Shaun Cowlson, who wants to make a TV programme about the restoration. It’s hard enough adding one more big personality to the mix – but then her ex turns up as one of the volunteers! What seemed like a dream come true is fast becoming a total disaster! Can Thea find a way to save the manor?

Autumn Leaves at Mill Grange (book two)

Published By: Aria Fiction (@Aria_Fiction)
a Digital First imprint of Head of Zeus (@HoZ_Books)

Converse via: #MillGrange, #ContemporaryRomance and #HeadOfZeus

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Thursday, 24 September, 2020 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Spotlight, Contemporary Romance, Head of Zeus, Romance Fiction

Book Spotlight | Featuring notes by Jorie and an extract from “The French Wife” by Diney Costeloe

Posted Saturday, 9 May, 2020 by jorielov , , , 0 Comments

Stories in the Spotlight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

I am wicked delighted to be featuring a lovely #newtomeauthor today – as I recently had the chance to select quite a few Head of Zeus and Aria Fiction novelists to be spotlighting throughout the Spring months this year – wherein I was rather delighted finding so many keenly interesting stories to start seeking out to read! These are stories which dance between Romance & Women’s Fiction – from Contemporary to Historical settings. Being an avid reader of these genres I couldn’t miss the chance to bring the JOY of discovering these lovely authors to my readers of Jorie Loves A Story!

It is my intention to start requesting these novels via my local library if they are not available in audio formats via Scribd. At the moment my library is experiencing an unprecedented sabbatical on requests which put me in a bit of a pickle as I’m an active patron whose constantly requesting purchases every month – which is why I’m simply saving my queue lists and will turn them in once the services resume. For now at least – I can champion the discoveries and the joy of finding the stories whilst hosting the blog tours!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Why I wanted to host a spotlight & extract
for “The French Wife”:

As the founder and host of @SatBookChat – I am constantly seeking to find new stories featuring strong women in the centre of Romance & Women’s Fiction. I read an equal amount of Contemporary and Historical stories within these genres of interest whilst encompassing all the lovely sub-niches of their literary styles as well. This New Year 2020 I am also seeking out Feminist Lit which celebrates the kind of stories I am enjoying to discover as well. All of which I try to champion and showcase in the chats I host on Saturdays – wherein writers, readers, book reviewers, book bloggers and the rest of the bookish community on Twitter get to engage with one another. Thereby as a regular reader of these stories I was delighted to find a #newtomeauthor to start seeking out to read!

I personally adore reading as much Historical Fiction & Historical Women’s Fiction as I can get my hands on – there are new authors and voices in these two sections of Literature I am most keen on exploring further and most of them are from the UK. I have been appreciating my chance to spotlight these stories throughout the Spring of 2020 – whilst finding that quite a few of them are now available to be heard via Scribd! This helps me loads as a reader whose leaning on her libraries to help her source either print or audio copies of the stories she wishes to read – however, I hope there are similar streaming audio services aboard for those who don’t have access to Scribd. From what I understand it is available in most regions but perhaps not all of them.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

I happily found this novel is available via audiobook on Scribd! I immediately listened to the audio sampler to gather a sense of how the narrator Georgia McGuire approached her performance.

My thoughts on the story: This part of the story is involving the church and the duties of a priest. I can’t say it was the most exciting part of the story but it is how McGuire approached her delivery and what was happening behind the goings on of the clergy-house is what held me to the earphones. Towards the end of the sampler, things turnt a bit more dramatic – wherein someone is being put out of their job and they must find new accommendations – it seemed rather sudden and unexpected which given the timeline of the story, I was unsure where she would go from here. It was here where I drew closer to listening to the narrator as this was the kind of turning of events that gets rather exciting in a Historical novel!

My impressions of the narrator: McGuire has a strong and sharp voice which lends well for this story and the characters she’s bringing to life. I would consider this spoken narrative vs theatrical – wherein enjoying hearing her voice would be a joy as she had a nice cadence of rhythm in her performance. She has a keen accent as well – the kind of accent you love to find for British stories in narration.

As I listened to this sampler ahead of finding which extract I was given – it was quite champion to realise the two were connected in sequence of order within the story’s arc of disclosure!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Did I grab your eye and attention?

Sound like the kind of bookish read you’ve been needing?

Be sure to brew your favourite cuppa and enjoy this extract from the novel.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Book Spotlight | Featuring notes by Jorie and an extract from “The French Wife” by Diney CosteloeThe French Wife
by Diney Costeloe

Love, secrets and danger abound in the new historical novel from bestselling author Diney Costeloe, set in 19th-century France.

As the St Clair family prepare for the grand wedding of their daughter, Clarice, trouble is brewing. An old friendship, a new love and a dangerous secret threaten to destroy the life the St Clairs have built.

Their younger daughter, Hélène, became friends with orphaned Annette during the terrible events of the 1871 siege of Paris. Now they are reunited, with Annette working below stairs for Hélène's parents. But she is hiding a dangerous secret, which Hélène has promised to keep at all costs.

Meanwhile, Hélène has begun to fall in love with a young nobleman from England, whose family has plans which do not include their son choosing a French wife.

Genres: Historical Fiction, Women's Fiction


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

Published by Aria Fiction

Published By: Aria Fiction (@Aria_Fiction)
a Digital First imprint of Head of Zeus (@HoZ_Books)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Available Formats: Hardback, Audiobook & Ebook

The Ebook & Audiobook released on 7th May 2020

Whilst the Hardback releases 6th August 2020!! (which is my 7th Blog’s Birthday!)

Converse via: #TheFrenchWife, #HistoricalFiction or #HistFicFun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Saturday, 9 May, 2020 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Extract, Book Spotlight, Head of Zeus, Historical Fiction, Women's Fiction