Source: Publisher via Chapter by Chapter

Blog Book Tour | “Worlds of Ink and Shadow” by Lena Coakley The Brontes arrive on #JLASblog, in this aptly atmospheric and wicked emotionally dramatic inspired-by young adult novel!

Posted Sunday, 24 January, 2016 by jorielov , , , 0 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Sergey Zolkin.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Chapter by Chapter, where I receive opportunities to host Cover Reveals & Author Guest Features on behalf of the Indie Publisher Month9Books. I began hosting another Indie Publisher: Rebelight Publishing of whom I love the stories by their Middle Grade & YA authors during 2015.

This time around, it’s a new publisher who offered the chance to read an exciting new young adult novel inspired by the Brontë siblings: Charlotte (of whom I’m reading ‘Jane Eyre’), Branwell (of whom I never knew existed!), Emily and Anne. I am appreciating the diversity of choices being offered through Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours, as I am not only getting the chance to become introduced to new Indie Publishers but new writers of wicked good fiction for young readers! This is most inspiring as I love re-connecting with this generation of stories directly being crafted to readers of MG & YA from a Prospective Adoptive Mum and current Auntie of nieces/nephews point of view; inasmuch as a reader who found herself re-inspired by what she found inside the novels!

I received a complimentary copy of “Worlds by Ink and Shadow” direct from the publisher Amulet Books in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

A note about Charlotte and why I love Gothic Lit:

For a girl who has not yet finished her proper first reading of Jane Eyre it might seem a bit shocking to learn that Charlotte Brontë is amongst my favourite Classical authors to read! I appreciate a wide spectrum of literature as a rule, however, when it comes to the structure of Gothic Literature (both in Classical Lit and in Southern Gothic Lit) there is an undertone of suspense that lends itself towards the psychological analysis of fear and what can be perceived as fear by those who are placed inside a story whose narrative is meant to surprise it’s reader in more than one vein of thought.

I appreciate Mystery, Suspense, Thriller and Psychological Suspense (including those stories that are bent more readily towards Cosy Horror) in equal measures due to the nature of how intricate the writers who craft stories inside these layers of genre endeavour to take you on a visceral journey you may or may not imagine outside of their own vision. Gothic Lit for me is quite well suited to my appreciation for the mysterious and to be suspended inside a story that brokers itself to be equal parts fantastical and psychologically spellbinding.

I like to see where writers will take a Gothic tale – will they yield to the suspense within the hidden in-between or will they break my tolerance levels and go a bit too hard into the visual realms? I am quite Hitchcockian in wanting to keep quite a bit outside of view and fully feel the emotional anguish and the undercurrents of suspense by what can only be imagined. It isn’t oft I am in a position to explore a work of Gothic Lit, which is why each time I am able to pick up a work of narrative that befits this arm of literature, I am beyond delighted for the respite inside it’s story.

Notation about the Cover Art: I’ve blogged and actively tweeted about how ‘cover art’ by itself doesn’t sway me one way or another to read a novel; to be honest, if the premise of a story isn’t fetching in of itself, the cover art will not be the swing vote to convince me to read it. I have to feel something before I read a story: be that curiosity or a perk of interest towards seeing where the journey of a character takes me, *something!* must yield a flickerment of earnest desire to ‘know’ what happens as I open the pages of a novel. Stories are such personal experiences – however, I normally do not cross-compare a cover to another cover. Except to say, I truly much prefer this one on the Canadian edition over the American one I received:

Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley

Simply because I think it warms you to the spirit of the character of whom it’s based upon; Charlotte is such a well-known authoress who has inspired readers throughout centuries of literary wanderings. It provides a proper rooting of the narrative’s voice; and goodness! how clever too, with the dual portraits within the whole of the frame? I love cross-overlays and curious nods to narratives! The cover art on the American one is a bit too vague, but I do give them full props of gratitude for making the interior pages so very enticing to turn! Especially if your a writer who appreciates old world things such as ink wells, parchment paper, wax seals and those blessed ‘ink splotches’ from quill pens!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blog Book Tour | “Worlds of Ink and Shadow” by Lena Coakley The Brontes arrive on #JLASblog, in this aptly atmospheric and wicked emotionally dramatic inspired-by young adult novel!Worlds of Ink and Shadow
Subtitle: A Novel of the Brontes
by Lena Coakley
Source: Publisher via Chapter by Chapter

Charlotte, Branwell, Emily, and Anne. The Brontë siblings have always been inseparable. After all, nothing can bond four siblings quite like life in an isolated parsonage out on the moors. Their vivid imaginations lend them escape from their strict upbringing, actually transporting them into their created worlds: the glittering Verdopolis and the romantic and melancholy Gondal. But at what price? As Branwell begins to slip into madness and the sisters feel their real lives slipping away, they must weigh the cost of their powerful imaginations, even as their characters—the brooding Rogue and dashing Duke of Zamorna—refuse to let them go.

Gorgeously written and based on the Brontës’ juvenilia, Worlds of Ink & Shadow brings to life one of history’s most celebrated literary families.

Genres: Canadian Lit, Cosy Horror, Genre-bender, Gothic Literature, Historical Fiction, Metafiction, Suspense, Time Slip and/or Time Shift, YA Fantasy, Young Adult Fiction



Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781419710346

Published by Amulet Books

on 5th January, 2016

Format: Hardcover Edition

Pages: 352

Published By: Amulet Books

an imprint of Abrams (@abramskids)

a division of La Martiniere Groupe

Cross-released with HarperCollins Canada (@HarperCollinsCa)

Converse via: #WorldsOfInkAndShadow & #YALit OR #CanLit
Available Formats: Hardcover and Ebook

Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards Badge created by Jorie in Canva. Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

About Lena Coakley

Lena Coakley

Lena Coakley was born in Milford, Connecticut and grew up on Long Island. In High School, Creative Writing was the only course she ever failed (nothing was ever good enough to hand in!), but, undeterred, she went on to study writing at Sarah Lawrence College. She lives in Toronto, Canada. Witchlanders was her debut novel.

Photo Credit: Emma-Lee Photography

Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Divider

Posted Sunday, 24 January, 2016 by jorielov in 19th Century, After the Canon, Anne Bronte, ArchDemons or Demonic Entities, Biographical Fiction & Non-Fiction, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host, Book Cover | Notation on Design, Bookish Discussions, Branwell Bronte, Brothers and Sisters, Canadian Literature, Castles & Estates, Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours, Charlotte Bronte, Childhood Friendship, Classical Literature, Coming-Of Age, Cosy Horror, Crime Fiction, Death of a Sibling, Death, Sorrow, and Loss, Emily Bronte, England, Fantasy Fiction, Father-Daughter Relationships, Folklore, Good vs. Evil, Gothic Literature, Gothic Mystery, Grief & Anguish of Guilt, Haunting & Ethereal, Historical Fiction, Inspired By Author OR Book, Inspired by Stories, Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards, Metafiction, Siblings, Sisters & the Bond Between Them, Supernatural Creatures & Beings, Supernatural Fiction, Superstitions & Old World Beliefs, Suspense, Teenage Relationships & Friendships, the Victorian era, YA Fantasy, Young Adult Fiction

Blog Book Tour | A new #YALit release by the #CanLit publisher I appreciate #amreading in 2015: Rebelight Publishing! Hannah Both Ways by Rosie Greenway is an evoking realistic story grabbing you by it’s heart!

Posted Monday, 30 November, 2015 by jorielov , , 2 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Sergey Zolkin.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Chapter by Chapter, where I receive opportunities to host Cover Reveals & Author Guest Features on behalf of the Indie Publisher Month9Books. I continue to welcome hosting another Indie Publisher: Rebelight Publishing of whom I love the stories by their Middle Grade & YA authors! I jumped at the chance to read this exciting novel for Middle Grade readers, as I am always seeking out light infused Children’s Lit which has a resounding story-line stitched together with a life lesson and/or a character who children can relate too as much as they can celebrate having found. For a bit of background on Rebelight Publishing, please read my anchour supplement on the top of my review for “Missing in Paradise”.

I received a complimentary copy of “Hannah Both Ways” direct from the publisher Rebelight Publishing in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Realistic YA:

As mentioned recently on my spotlight revealling interview showcase for #DarkChocLit, I appreciate convicting realistic fiction – Hannah Both Ways is my second find for young adult literature, as The Summer of Chasing Mermaids was the last novel I’ve read where I felt a story fit this niche perfectly. Prior to Ockler’s novel, I give top credit to curating this sub-genre to Wonder by R.J. Palacio and The Strength of Ballerinas by Nancy Lorenz. The latter of whom is releasing a sequel American Ballerina this December, which I will be reading with wicked anticipation!

I appreciate finding stories that create a space for delving into the harder subjects that all teens face at some point or another. To find the novelists who get this part of life so epically real as if they were reliving their own living truth spilt out onto the pages of their novel, is one way of finding tomorrow’s classics. I like to keep my reading life open to where the redefinition of YA literature is taking today’s readers – as both teenagers and adults are reading YA. We all entered or re-entered the genre for different reasons, but what has us happily made us become encroached inside the genre are the heart centred stories and the incredible breadth of realism being etched inside them.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Notation on Cover-Art: When I first saw the cover art for this novel, it’s the numbers that drew the most curiosity out of me. I mistook them for ISP signatures because I did not realise there was a ‘space’ between the clusters to where the numbers themselves were only in sequences of XXX.XX rather than a longer numerical code. This is definitely a convincing cover for the novel because it’s reflecting the key heart of Hannah’s story: introspective and retrospectively sorting out her life.

Blog Book Tour | A new #YALit release by the #CanLit publisher I appreciate #amreading in 2015: Rebelight Publishing! Hannah Both Ways by Rosie Greenway is an evoking realistic story grabbing you by it’s heart!Hannah Both Ways

A devastating Twitter prank yanks Hannah out of the popular crowd and turns her into the high school’s best bad joke. Determined to finish the year and graduate, Hannah must keep the humiliating details from her impulsive mother—who just might pack up their belongings and move. Again.

Hannah hovers below the radar by submersing herself in a new routine. Post-it notes, Dewey Decimal numbers and carefully planned trips to the library are her refuge. That is, until a persistent new student invades her space. Lucas has complete disregard for Hannah’s cynicism and snark, and he seems to know the bullies who targeted her. Can Hannah trust him, or is he part of another ploy to torment her?


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780994839947

on 17th November, 2015

Pages: 218

Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards Badge created by Jorie in Canva. Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

Published By: Rebelight Publishing, Inc. (@RebelightBooks)
Converse via: #HannahBothWays & #YALit OR #CanLit
Available Formats: Paperback, Ebook

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

About Rosie Greenway

Rosie Greenway grew up on the outskirts of Toronto, and continues to live and work in the GTA with her husband and family. After spending her formative years public-school hopping, Rosie attended the University of Toronto, specializing in English literature. A former English teacher, Rosie now finds herself putting into practice the many lessons she used to impart to the students in her class room. While she has often turned to writing as a way to relax and unwind, Hannah Both Ways is her first foray into the world of Young Adult publishing.

When she isn’t writing, Rosie is an avid traveler, armchair film critic, enthusiastic foodie and voracious reader. She is a passionate literacy advocate and one of her greatest achievements is instilling in her daughter the joy of reading.

Read More

Divider

Posted Monday, 30 November, 2015 by jorielov in #JorieLovesIndies, Blog Tour Host, Book Cover | Notation on Design, Book Cover | Original Illustration & Design, Bullies and the Bullied, Canada, Canadian Literature, Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours, Childhood Friendship, Coming-Of Age, Dsylexia & the Dsylexic, Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards, Learning Difficulties, Modern Day, Mother-Daughter Relationships, Prejudicial Bullying & Non-Tolerance, School Life & Situations, Teacher & Student Relationships, Teenage Relationships & Friendships, Upper YA Fiction, Vulgarity in Literature, Young Adult Fiction

Blog Book Tour | A new book by Indie Pub: Rebelight Publishing, the #CanLit stories I love showcasing and reading this year! “To Catch A Cat Thief” by Sean Cummings is lovingly quirky!

Posted Friday, 13 November, 2015 by jorielov , , 0 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Sergey Zolkin.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Chapter by Chapter, where I receive opportunities to host Cover Reveals & Author Guest Features on behalf of the Indie Publisher Month9Books. I continue to welcome hosting another Indie Publisher: Rebelight Publishing of whom I love the stories by their Middle Grade & YA authors! I jumped at the chance to read this exciting novel for Middle Grade readers, as I am always seeking out light infused Children’s Lit which has a resounding story-line stitched together with a life lesson and/or a character who children can relate too as much as they can celebrate having found. For a bit of background on Rebelight Publishing, please read my anchour supplement on the top of my review for “Missing in Paradise”.

I received a complimentary copy of “To Catch A Cat Thief” direct from the publisher Rebelight Publishing in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Cats and a girl named Jorie:

I have loved cats since I was a toddler – they have been my favourite companion and best friend, save my beloved canine who passed when I was a middle grader. Cats have a cheeky way of viewing the world and they are quite a bit absolute in their approaches on how they communicate their emotions! You can never forsake knowing what a cat is thinking or trying to mew a bit of information they feel is necessary for you to noodle out in a code you haven’t found the decipher key! I champion cats all the time – both in literature and in real life; as I am an advocate for cat rescues and shelters who practice No Kill. All cats (truly all animals!) deserve compassionate care and attention; even the feral cats in my area are treated with respect. They are well fed and monitored medically, whilst being given the honour of safe-guarding the city from predators and pests.

I have never travelled far from being in the company of cats either – not that my own brood of felines would take kindly to a road trip, but what I referring too is the quirky way in which wherever my feet alight elsewhere there’s a cat round the corner who meows and sits near me. Cats are socially curious, at times a bit aloof to the point of being off-putting – they move and interact at a pace of time that suits them. You can never rush a cat! Yet, what I love the most about cats are their honesty and their level of understanding about their environments.

They are naturally curious and spend a great deal of time sorting things out; they become fascinated by things that we might not even consider worthy of pondering. Observationally I can never tire of watching a cat! To be surrounded by a pack of cats now, as they were four strong before one passed, from three different litters it’s been a true blessing to simply watch how they’ve tucked inside each other and formed a family. Part of the grace in knowing a cat is never being fully surprised by the unexpected!

Blog Book Tour | A new book by Indie Pub: Rebelight Publishing, the #CanLit stories I love showcasing and reading this year! “To Catch A Cat Thief” by Sean Cummings is lovingly quirky!To Catch A Cat Thief

Hundreds of cats are missing! Fear not-Penelope Ann Pickersgill and her hippie grandma are on the case. While her friends go to cool camps, twelve-year-old Penelope has to spend the summer with Grandma Bev, who is convinced that cat-eating aliens are beaming the town's furry friends aboard their mother ship at night. Lights in the sky point to UFO's, but Penelope is sure there's a more logical explanation.

With a little help from Sherlock Holmes, she and Grandma Bev set out to find the cats. Will they be able to solve the mystery before all the cats in Thornhill disappear?


Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780994839909

on 15th September 2015

Pages: 104

Published By: Rebelight Publishing, Inc. (@RebelightBooks)
Converse via: #ToCatchACatThief & #MGLit OR #CanLit
Available Formats: Paperback, Ebook

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

About Sean Cummings

Sean Cummings

Sean Cummings is a mutli-published author with works ranging from urban fantasy (Shade Fright, Funeral Pallor) to dark fantasy and superheroes. (Marshall Conrad) 2012 saw the publication of Sean’s first young adult novel.

Poltergeeks is a rollicking story about teen witch a race against time to save her mother’s life. The second book Student Bodies, hit stores in 2013. In 2014, he published The North, a gripping post-apocalyptic thriller for teens. To Catch a Cat Thief is Sean's first middle grade novel.

Sean lives in Saskatoon Canada with his wife, two lazy cats and a spotted dog named Stormageddon.

Author's Smashwords Profile

Read More

Divider

Posted Friday, 13 November, 2015 by jorielov in Animals in Fiction & Non-Fiction, Blog Tour Host, Canada, Canadian Literature, Cats and Kittens, Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours, Children's Literature, Coming-Of Age, Juvenile Fiction, Middle Grade Novel, Modern Day

Blog Book Tour | An #MGLit #CanLit horse drama writ by an actress on #ThePinkertons! “Wonder Horse” by Anita Daher is an uplifting treat!

Posted Friday, 12 June, 2015 by jorielov , , , , , , , 0 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Sergey Zolkin.

Acquired Book By: I am a regular tour hostess for blog tours via Chapter by Chapter, where I receive opportunities to host Cover Reveals & Author Guest Features on behalf of the Indie Publisher Month9Books. This is the second time I was offered to host a blog tour outside of Month9Books, featuring another Indie Publisher: Rebelight Publishing! I jumped at the chance to read this exciting novel for Middle Grade readers, as I am always seeking out light infused Children’s Lit which has a resounding story-line stitched together with a life lesson and/or a character who children can relate too as much as they can celebrate having found. For a bit of background on Rebelight Publishing, please read my anchour supplement on the top of my review for “Missing in Paradise”.

I received a complimentary copy of “Wonder Horse” direct from the publisher Rebelight Publishing in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Horse dramas and Jorie:

I grew up with a wicked fascination with horses and the horse dramas writers would spin into creation via novels and motion pictures. I still remember staying up way past my bedtime in order to finish reading one of the Black Stallion series novels or one from the Thoroughbred series! I was the girl who cherished The Saddle Club and wished she had a wicked awesome group of girls to ride horses with and develop a keenly wicked friendship circle!

Horse dramas were simply an organic progression of where I would want to go literally through stories from the moment I stepped outside the saddle as I was a young rider. I have loads of happy memories following the hooves and dramas of horse girls, women, and men in motion pictures inasmuch as I get a wicked excitement in my heart when I find a new book coming out about the strength of the bond between horse and humans. Young or old, Children’s Lit related or Western Fiction, if the story has a grounding of insight into horses and the inseparable connection of love they give back to those of us who have realised the friendship they give so freely, than the odds are favourable I am going to find the next story which reaches my hands to be a memorable read!

Hence why when this blog tour was only a whisper of a thought on Twitter when Rebelight started tweeting about it, I *knew!* I had to take part! I wanted to read the story which has been re-translated into English from it’s original published Norwegian!

By the by, with the current winner of the Triple Crown creating a buzz in the twitterverse with the tag #WonderHorse, methinks we should have started tweeting out with #WonderHorseMG to create the distinction. Sometimes I worry books will be overshadowed by more popular tags whose ‘chatter’ is anything but on the publishing industry radar.

Blog Book Tour | An #MGLit #CanLit horse drama writ by an actress on #ThePinkertons! “Wonder Horse” by Anita Daher is an uplifting treat!Wonder Horse
by Anita Daher
Source: Publisher via Chapter by Chapter

Fitting into a new school in a new city isn’t easy, but dreams come true for Sera with a gift from her parents: a gorgeous and spirited American Paint horse. Sera’s bubble bursts when a mean girl, Brittany, tells her that neither she nor her less than well-trained horse belong with the rest of the “reiners” in their riding class. As Sera sets out to prove Brittany wrong, she risks losing her passion for training and the friendship of Dev, another girl who truly understands her.

Genres: Children's Literature, Middle Grade



Places to find the book:

Add to LibraryThing

Published by Rebelight Publishing Inc.

on 8th May, 2015

Format: Paperback

Originally published as “Wager the Wonder Horse” by Stabenfeldt (Stavanger, Norway) in 2011 and distributed in six languages: Norwegian, Hungarian, Czech, German, Finnish and Swedish.

Published By: Rebelight Publishing, Inc. (@RebelightBooks)
Converse via: #WonderHorse & #MGLit
Available Formats: Paperback, Ebook

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

About Anita Daher

Anita Daher has been entrenched in the publishing industry since 1995, and is (thus far) author of fourteen books for children and teens. Aside from short stints as grave-plot seller, tour guide, and children’s party clown, she’s worked in aviation, publishing and broadcasting. When not word wrangling, she enjoys inhabiting characters on stage and screen.

Read More

Divider

Posted Friday, 12 June, 2015 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host, Bookish Films, Canada, Canadian Literature, Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours, Childhood Friendship, Children's Literature, Coming-Of Age, Equality In Literature, Juvenile Fiction, Middle Grade Novel, Modern Day, Motion Picture Inter-related to Bookish Topic, Multi-cultural Characters and/or Honest Representations of Ethnicity, Transfer Student at School