Genre: Canadian Lit

#SpooktasticReads | a mini-event of #WyrdAndWonder named after an event Jorie conceived in [2017] but wished to expound upon her idea to reach a wider audience who could re-interpret the event for themselves with a #wyrdandwonder twist!

Posted Monday, 22 October, 2018 by jorielov , 2 Comments

#SpooktasticReads banner created by Imyril (@imyril) Photo Credit: Unsplash Photographer Mark Tegethoff. (Creative Commons Zero) Used with permission.

Last Autumn, you might remember I conceived of this idea to re-start my readings into the spooktacular worlds of chilling Thrillers, Suspense, Mysteries and the Paranormal (with just a dash of love for Cosy Horror!) – wherein I conceived of spending a fortnight reading such lovelies and enjoying a personal readathon leading into Halloween! I fell a bit short of my goals last year, though I took it as a success – as not only did I read some rather spookified tales which I’ll be re-promoting these last days of October but I found myself wholly intrigued by the stories I was selecting to read!

This year, I helped name our first mini-event for #WyrdAndWonder – wherein I was hoping to let this small idea I had last year take flight, reach a bigger audience and find readers who might find their own definition of #SpooktasticReads befitting their own readerly life! I was originally going to only slate myself to read two Dark Fantasy selections for our event this October, but then, I re-read over my post from last year and realised all the chilling stories I was reading for different events in the book blogosphere this year aptly cross-apply to the essence of what we’re reading for #SpooktasticReads as a Fantasy loving reading group! Some of the stories of course play the theme up quite a bit for the spookier side of the genres, some of which may or may not directly (or indirectly) relate to Fantasy per se but this is one of those readathons which is open to both interpretation and the joy of having free reign to enjoy the readathon in a way each reader wants to approach it!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

A Spooktastic reading binge for Psychological Suspense & Gothic Tales!

Autumn for me is a time in the year where I simply like to read a curated collection of stories which fall under different categories of mutual interest: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Gothic or Paranormally inclined and Cosy Horror.

This year [2018] as I co-host my own mini-event celebrating the 13 days leading into Halloween with #SpooktasticReads, I am also happily reading a Cosy Mystery about a witch for my first ever #CozyMysteryBookClub selection via audiobook whilst finding the joy of participating in both #SCAREtober and #HorrorOctober as those reading (and blogging!) challenges compliment my readings for #SpooktasticReads whilst the few stories I have slated for #Victober also work well with the context of what I’m focusing on this year! I decided to ‘let go’ of the idea of reading individual stories for each theme of challenge and get into the randomness of finding the stories which not just cross-relate but I can talk to the readers of all the challenges who are seeking the same stories I am!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

If other book bloggers or readers want to join us, please link to your blog, Twitter, Riffle List, LibraryThing List or other ‘space’ online where you are updating about what your reading – such as Instagram or Vlog (YouTube) in the Comments section below!

Use the tag: #SpooktasticReads & link back to this post – as I will happily be sharing what your doing for this lovely #WyrdAndWonder mini-event! Plus, I love hearing what others are reading in case something they discover would be a good fit for me as well!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Monday, 22 October, 2018 by jorielov in Bookish Discussions, Cosy Historical Mystery, Crime Fiction, Ghosts & the Supernatural, Gothic Literature, Historical Fiction, Historical Thriller Suspense, Parapsychological Gifts, Supernatural Fiction, Suspense

#WWWWednesday No.8: A #SpooktasticReads Update and a note about Sci Fi November (#RRSciFiMonth)

Posted Thursday, 2 November, 2017 by jorielov , , , , , , , , 4 Comments

WWWWednesday a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

I ♥ the premise of this meme {WWW Wednesdays} due to the dexterity it gives the reader! Smiles. Clearly subject to change on a weekly rotation, which may or may not lead to your ‘next’ read providing a bit of a paradoxical mystery to your readers!! Smiles. ♥ the brilliance of it’s concept!

This weekly meme was originally hosted by Should Be Reading who became A Daily Rhythm. Lovingly restored and continued by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words. Each week you participate, your keen to answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading!?
  • What did you recently finish reading!?
  • What do you think you’ll read next!?

After which, your meant to click over to THIS WEEK’s WWWWednesday to share your post’s link so that the rest of the bloggers who are participating can check out your lovely answers! Score! Perhaps even, find other bloggers who dig the same books as you do! I thought it would serve as a great self-check to know where I am and the progress I am hoping to have over the next week!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

To help introduce you to the books I’m reading, the Synopses link to Riffle.

If you’d like an alternative to GoodReads, I highly suggest trying Riffle*.

*referral link let’s Riffle know I helped you find Riffle. no compensation given or accepted.

I’m still boggled by the fact my Riffle Lists have been viewed  at least*21,824* times! I’ve only just started to curate the lists and embed them into my blog where I expand on why I created them, too! I have 18 Lists published out of 32 lists I’ve drafted! I am looking forward to revealling more of them this year! Yes, I know – attempted this last year but I am hoping to get round to showcasing them throughout [2017] instead. Sometimes our best laid plans have to be put on ‘hold’.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Join the Convo via: #WWWWednesday

NOTE: Due to my recent migraine –

all posts have been delayed in arriving on #JLASblog.

Thus this is running on Thursday, this week!

Rainbow Digital Clip Art Washi Tape made by The Paper Pegasus. Purchased on Etsy by Jorie and used with permission.

What did you recently finish reading!?

I hadn’t foreseen a few unexpected wrinkles of lost hours erupting into the latter half of [October] which in effect changed how I was approaching my self-directed reading challenge of #SpooktasticReads! Ending the month with a migraine was quite special, too! Oy. I decided to extend my readings into November because to be honest – I feel like I’ve only just begun to make headway into the reading list I compiled – as I was moving in and out of different narratives, trying to get into the story-lines whilst figuring out each author’s individual style for crafting a Mystery, Suspense or Thriller I was dearly eager to be reading!

There are moments in our lives, where we get jettisoned ‘off-course’ where something *pops!* up unexpectedly and derails our previously joyous plans – in this particular case, despite having a heap of fun getting back into reading after my unexpected hiatus this [September] – accounting to the *23!* posts I happily shared throughout [October!] I still fell a bit shy of my personal goals regarding #SpooktasticReads!

I have also been delighting in watching Thrillers + Psychological Suspense films this past [October] as I wanted to supplement the stories I was reading with a few films I hadn’t seen such as the following: Miss Sloane & Snowden as well as the film I personally LOVE for Halloween: Gaslight – which was Angela Lansbury’s debut! The first two are Contemporary Thrillers in their own regard – as there is an intensity about them, even though their dealing with Current Events. I regards to ‘Gaslight’ – I love how the whole story unfolds – it reminds me a lot of how in Notorious (with Cary Grant) the lead female almost doesn’t ‘get out’ either – in regards to personal danger and the insidious situations they both find themselves inside. I personally love Ingrid Bergman – she has such a dramatic presence on screen but it’s how she approaches her characters which makes such a lasting impression on me.

I managed to duck into the opening chapters of The Visitors, but this was just ahead of my migraine, where I was finding it harder to ‘focus’ on what I was attempting to read. I wanted to dig into the next Willa Cather mystery Death Comes but I wasn’t finding traction in either. I hadn’t known then the migraine would take hold (as sometimes, they don’t) which is why I was happily surprised shortly after it started to release it’s hold on me, I could tuck into the cosy comforting world of an Anna Lee Huber Cosy Historical Mystery: This Side of Murder! On the latter, I had this to share with my readers:

It is within the earliest chapters of this first Verity Kent Mystery where I breathed in the essence of this new ‘character’ and felt as if I had truly known ‘her’ long before I met her; which is exactly how I felt about Lady Darby! Ms Huber is well on her way to perfecting how to pen serial mysteries which delight the historical reader with a cosied approach to crime and sleuthing!

One thing which struck me – is how clever it is to be inserted into two heroines whose husbands are absent from their lives – giving them unheard of opportunities to ‘carry on’ with their lives when society dictated otherwise – this was true of Lady Darby and it is true for Mrs Kent! The curious bit is how wholly unique both characters are constructed – they each have their own strengths, weaknesses and faults – they don’t feel too identical (as such) to each other, even if they have a few attributes in common. The joy for me was identifying how each woman separated herself from her peers, truly believed it possible to live an independent life from their peerage and seeing how they leveraged themselves for a future they would determine was best for them. In this, Ms Huber has my heart and attention on her heroines – seeking their next adventures with curious anticipation!

In short, Ms Huber is curating her own niche out of a sub-genre of Historical Fiction I happily applaud seeing developed because of her purposeful dedication to writing the stories which not only give us an emotional repose from our lives (because of how deft they’re written) but they give us a chance to re-step through history through a portal of folly similar to why the Dame of the Cosy was as well loved as she has become all these years lateron. They give us something to chew on and something to consider – whilst the mystery lover in all of us gets to play ‘sleuth’ and stay on the tip of our toes awaiting the outcomes!

Whilst happily tweeting this s/o as I was composing this update post!

I am dearly excited to see what becomes next for Mrs Kent – as next October shall be a wicked lovely month as it’s publication time for the second installment! Until then, I shall have the first Gothic Myths to dig inside as well as the sixth Lady Darby – expected to arrive in the Spring! Read More

Divider

Posted Thursday, 2 November, 2017 by jorielov in Blogosphere Events & Happenings, Bookish Discussions, Books for Review Arrived by Post, WWW Wednesdays

#JorieReads | Spooktastic Fortnight of Psychological #Suspense & #Gothic Tales Personal Reading Challenge!

Posted Wednesday, 18 October, 2017 by jorielov 0 Comments

Spooktastic Fortnight banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Spooktastic Fortnight of Psychological Suspense & Gothic Tales!

Autumn for me is a time in the year where I simply like to read a curated collection of stories which fall under different categories of mutual interest: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Gothic or Paranormally inclined and Cosy Horror. This year, as I was looking over the lists for *reading challenges* I noticed 2017 fell a bit short in offering a chance to interact with other readers who appreciate the same type of stories! Therefore, as I had already put my plan into action to read the selected stories during the final fortnight of October, I decided to host my ‘own’ self-direct reading challenge this year!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

If other book bloggers or readers want to join me, please link to your blog, Twitter, Riffle List, LibraryThing List or other ‘space’ online where you are updating about what your reading – such as Instagram or Vlog (YouTube) in the Comments section below!

Use the tag: #SpooktasticReads & link back to this post

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Spooktastic Fortnight of Psychological Suspense & Gothic Tales 2017
Divider

Posted Wednesday, 18 October, 2017 by jorielov in Bookish Discussions, Cosy Historical Mystery, Crime Fiction, Ghosts & the Supernatural, Gothic Literature, Historical Fiction, Historical Thriller Suspense, Parapsychological Gifts, Supernatural Fiction, Suspense

Audiobook Publisher Interview | Jorie talks with Post Hypnotic Press!

Posted Thursday, 17 August, 2017 by jorielov 0 Comments

Audio Stories badge createcd by Jorie in Canva.

Post Hypnotic Press (@Post_Hypnotic)

Read more about Post Hypnotic Press

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

Today, I am excited to share with you the conversation I had with the owner of Post Hypnotic Press, Ms Craig as this is one of the first audiobook publishers I started to work with last year [2016] when I decided to offset my readings by listening to stories by headphone whilst colouring (to help root me into the worlds being narrated). I was quite impressed by this publisher straight-away not only due to the quality of their publications – especially from their digital audiobook catalogue (as these are the ones I’ve been happily listening whilst reviewing) but due to their depth of choice in Fiction and Non-Fiction audiobook selections!

When I first was approached by Jess @ Audiobookworm Promotions to host for her authors and publishers, I was such a newbie to the audiobook world! I hadn’t had the proper chance to even set-up my OverDrive account which I was given due to my local library’s online resources nor truly to explore audiobooks on CD which are regularly purchased by my library as well. I had started to pick up audiobooks when Katie @ Doing Dewey inspired me with select Non-Fiction stories she was choosing to read through her Non-Fiction Book Club; however, I had a false start in keeping in step with the Club’s choices. The first one I selected was on CD (borrowed from my library) but what was difficult was being able to take notes whilst starting and stopping the CD itself as I only had my dvd player to use to broadcast the audiobook which made it difficult to even ‘zone in’ on the narration as there are always too much ambient noises in our everyday lives to make audiobooks difficult to consume. I honestly threw in the towel before I ever encroached too far into the audiobook (despite enjoying the subject being discussed)!

You could say when Jess approached me, it was good timing on my end as I was growing frustrated with how I could listen to audiobooks – this is even before I learnt through other patrons at my library how listening to the CD catalogue of audiobooks would prove an uphill battle as not all audiobook listeners apparently treat their CDs equally (ie. lots of skips and scratches apparently!). Imagine? So, happily round the time Jess was encouraging me to give hosting for audiobooks a go on my blog Jorie Loves A Story it appealed to me on a few different levels: one I could honestly offset my readings in print by a new medium which had the added bonus of helping me continue to reduce my chronic migraines (win-win!), second I could dig into my library’s e-audiobook catalogue and third I could entreat into sorting out how to bring art back into my life as a way to not only reduce my personal stress by having a creative art outlet but also give me a way to pull deeper into the stories I was listening to in audio format!

Ergo, finding Post Hypnotic Press was a wicked happy surprise for me! They truly wooed me by the MacDonald memoirs which at the time surprised me by my own interest in them as initially I wasn’t sure if they’d be a smashing fit or not. I’ll let you read my reviews to find out my reactions – however, getting to listen to Ms Becker’s autobiography was the perfect capstone on my experience with Betty as it brought everything back to centre! When the tour for Anne of Green Gables came along, I was overly excited because this is a series near and dear to my own bookish heart!

I’ve been talking about my memories of Anne and how re-visiting Anne as an adult has both surprised me and endeared me with wonderful new experiences inside this captivating world of Avonlea! I have had a mind and heart attached to the Canadian Maritimes for such a long while as a result of my inclinations towards finding myself attached to Anne and other stories set in this incredible region of North America but by retracing my own footsteps next to Anne Shirley – this gift of joy and happiness is credit to Post Hypnotic Press for bridging the gaps we all have from girlhood to adulthood in regards to how we find ourselves relating to Anne directly!

They not only found a narrator who captures Anne Shirley so intuitively and authentically, they found a narrator whose performance grants you entrance into Avonlea and Ms Montgomery’s legacy. This dear hearts, is a gift beyond measure and it’s a firm nod towards the dedication the Craig’s have in producing quality over quantity of audiobook selections which fit within the world of 21st Century readers who are seeking what they are providing. For me personally, I felt like I had entered this enchanted world of audio stories simply by immersing myself into the world of Betty MacDonald and Anne Shirley – the narrators help centre your mind and heart but it’s the dedicated persons ‘behind’ the mic and audiobooks themselves who are steering us closer to literary enlightenment simply by how they follow their instincts and navigate how to create an incredibly layered soundscape of audio stories for all of us who cherish reading stories by this platform!

My love of Post Hypnotic Press and their narrators is what drove me to request this interview, even though one was not being offered on the tour. I couldn’t think of a better compliment to hosting two audiobook tours for them than to converse with Ms Craig about her own passion for audiobooks and the joys of being part of the creative team behind the audiobook publisher I know I shall be supporting hereafter for giving me inspiring reads and theatrical narrators who encourage my bookish spirit! I hope dear hearts, after reading this interview – you will be inspired to give Post Hypnotic Press a chance to encourage your own bookish curiosities especially if you’ve been seeking an Indie Audiobook Publisher whose dedicated to their readers and narrators alike by producing incredible productions for the stories which interest them to publish!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Anne of Green Gables series by Post Hypnotic Press:

Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.Anne of Avonlea by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.Anne of the Island by LM Montgomery, narrated by Colleen Winton produced by Post Hypnotic Press.

The publisher is considering adapting the rest of the series and is looking for feedback on behalf of these adaptations by both the bloggers who are listening to them for the blog tour and the readers who are finding them along the tour route itself – to gauge if the rest of the series would have a readership who would appreciate hearing them. I, for one, am hoping they do produce the rest of the series as these adaptions are great addition for all of us who grew up knowing Anne.

Likewise, if you haven’t yet seen the publisher’s announcement about how their offering a coupon this month on their audiobook catalogue, I encourage you to visit my review of Anne of Green Gables (linked below this review) where I first found out this lovely news myself!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Previously, I hosted this lovely publisher for the stories about and by Betty MacDonald:

I also shared a lovely convo with the narrator of the MacDonald memoirs Heather Henderson!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

What inspired you to become an Indie Audiobook Publisher during the Renaissance in publishing to off-set it’s focus on ebooks and pick up a resurgence of production in audiobooks? Or was it coincidental?

Carlyn Craig responds: I actually started Post Hypnotic Press in 2009. At that time, there was growth in the audiobook industry, but not like we are seeing today. Audiobooks still represented only a small fraction of the overall publishing market. My inspiration to start Post Hypnotic Press was really more about following a newfound passion.

I personally love how you followed your passion & found a way to take your passion for audiobooks into what paved the road to give wings to Post Hypnotic Press!

I had always been a big reader, but back in 2007, when I “discovered” audiobooks, I was finding it hard to get through a book. With a full time job managing a scholarly journal, a young son, and aging parents who needed assistance, I was so exhausted that when I did find time to read for pleasure, I fell asleep within about two sentences. I learned that it is impossible to get through a book two sentences at a time. A friend encouraged me to try audiobooks, pointing out that I would be able to listen in my car – my commute back and forth to work being one of the few alone times I had at that time. Her job required her to drive from place to place, and so she had been listening to audiobooks in her car for years, first on cassettes, and then on CDs. By 2007, she was a member of audible.com and I think she was using an iPod, or maybe her blackberry, to listen to them. Anyway, she’d been telling me to try audiobooks for years, but I’d always been a snob about it. This time, I took her up on her suggestion. She recommended a couple of titles: Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything and Melvyn Bragg’s The Adventure of English. By the end of Bryson’s book, I was in love with audiobooks, and by the end of Bragg’s book, I was determined to quit my job and start an audiobook publishing company. Read More

Divider

Posted Thursday, 17 August, 2017 by jorielov in Audiobookworm Promotions, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer