Source: Publisher via iRead Book Tours

Double Showcase: Review & Interview | “The Path” (Tag series, No.1) by Peter Riva with an interview with the author on behalf of his Cyberpunk series! #FuellYourSciFi

Posted Monday, 2 May, 2016 by jorielov , , , , 1 Comment

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Sergey Zolkin.

Acquired Book By: I was selected to be a part of the blog tour for the Path series by Peter Riva hosted by iRead Book Tours. I received a complimentary copy of “The Path” direct from the author Peter Riva in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Why I took a chance on this Sci Fi Series:

I had my eye on this series originally, when I saw the blog tour go live on behalf of The Path except at the time I wasn’t sure if I could focus on reading it, which is why I took a pass on hosting the tour. What drew my eye to read this title now, in the Spring is a personal curiosity about ‘Cyberpunk’ as well as AI as a method of telling a story set in the future, as I haven’t even see AI the motion picture, yet! I did go and see Asimov’s classic turnt into a motion picture: I, Robot and I truly loved the concept of that story-line as well as how it was handled in film. I might change my opinion after I read the series, which was something I tried to do ahead of seeing the film; I yielded my timing was not in the cards, as I hadn’t wanted to miss my chance to see it in a theater. Although, I do separate my feelings for books and motion pictures, sometimes I objectively cross-compare the components of a story set in both mediums, or find I prefer one over the other in the end. It just depends – I walk into both with such an open mind, I let my thoughts remain open to what is possible.

Cyberpunk is actively spoken about during Sci Fi November, a book blogosphere event I’ve participated in for each year I’ve been a book blogger (i.e. three years) and yet, I’ve not picked up a novel to read set in this sub-genre! I also happen to love Hard Science Fiction stories as a whole due to the level of technology and science embedded into the core of background fuelling the story forward. This brings me to the focus on my blog happening right now in the beginning weeks of May!

What ‘#FuellYourSciFi’ means and why I’m focusing on Science Fiction for a fortnight:

I hadn’t had the best Sci Fi November in 2015 and I completely missed the Sci Fi Experience as well (December/January),… a disheartening reality for a sci-fi geek of a girl to admit, but my heart wasn’t into reading the stories back then due to personal adversities and illnesses. I wanted to dip back inside the science fiction stories I had on my shelf to read back then, inasmuch as try my hand at new stories coming out right now this Spring 2016.

Thus, I’ve decided to create my own mini-focus on behalf of Science Fiction which I’m calling #FuellYourSciFi – as a jump-start to getting your head back inside a genre your passionate about exploring! This includes works of short stories, novels and select Non-Fiction being highlighted across sub-genres and creative expression for a solid fortnight here on Jorie Loves A Story! I’m thankful I can kick-off the event with this blog tour whilst I give ‘Cyberpunk’ a whirl and see if at long last, it’s a section of Sci Fi I can sink my teeth inside! Follow my journey on Twitter by the tag #FuellYourSciFi!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

This is is a double-showcase post for the Reaching Angelica blog tour, wherein I requested to read the first novel in the series ahead of the second. I also submitted questions I felt were pertinent to new readers of this trilogy and honed in on the questions which interested me most as a first-time reader of Peter Riva and the Cyberpunk worlds his trilogy is set inside.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Double Showcase: Review & Interview | “The Path” (Tag series, No.1) by Peter Riva with an interview with the author on behalf of his Cyberpunk series! #FuellYourSciFiThe Path
by Peter Riva
Source: Publisher via iRead Book Tours

All life on earth is about to be terminated by an entity as old as the galaxy itself. To make matters worse, Simon has broken everything already.

In a future world that is run by computer systems and that is without want, how can a man find his role? Then, if the very computers he works on to try to make them more human suddenly try to kill him, revealing a secret so vast that it affects every living soul on the planet, can that man be a hero?

These are the questions that face the stumbling, comic, and certainly flawed Simon Bank. His job is to work with the System’s artificial intelligence, making it fit more perfectly into human society so that it can keep the country running smoothly. But when the System threatens the peaceful world he knows, Simon suddenly must rush to save his own life, as well as the life of everyone on earth. Forced to reassess everything that he thought he knew, he is caught within circumstances way beyond his control.

Simon’s only hope is to rely on intellect and instincts he didn’t know he had, and on new friends, not all of them human, to change himself and all humanity. And he doesn’t have much time.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781631580123

Genres: Science Fiction


Published by Yucca Publishing

on 20th January, 2015

Format: Paperback Edition

Pages: 224

Published By: Yucca Publishing (@YuccaPublishing)
an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, Inc. (@skyhorsepub)

The Tag series:

The Path | No.1

Reaching Angelica | No. 2 (Book Synopsis on Riffle)

Available Formats: Paperback and Ebook Read More

Divider

Posted Monday, 2 May, 2016 by jorielov in #FuellYourSciFi, Artificial Intelligence (AI), Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Content Note, Cyberpunk, Dystopian, Fly in the Ointment, Hard Science Fiction, Human & Computer Interfaces, Indie Author, iRead Book Tours, Jorie Loves A Story Features, Science Fiction

Blog Book Tour | “Reef Libre: An In-Depth Look at Cuban Exceptionalism” by Robert Wintner

Posted Tuesday, 17 November, 2015 by jorielov , , , 1 Comment

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Sergey Zolkin.

Acquired Book By: I was selected to be a part of the blog tour for “Reef Libre” hosted by iRead Book Tours. I received a complimentary copy of the book and DVD (accompaniment to the book) direct from the publisher Taylor Trade Publishing in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

Why the oceans have fascinated my mind:

I grew up surrounded by the oceans as my state is one of the Gulf States hugged so close to shoreline we’re perpetually below sea level; a fact that never shied me away from wondering which hurricane season might cause catastrophic destruction; not only to the humans who live within my state but to the ecological habitats who call this area home. There have been many disasters within the Gulf region since I was bourne and unfortunately they were not limited to mother nature. Each time something has happened to cause a disruption in the harmony of the natural world of my state and the surrounding ones, a part of my heart has been full of remorse and grief.

Mankind has not found kindness nor humility in understanding there are limits to what we can effectively do and what we can not undo due to our greed and our progression forward through industry. Too often the progress of mankind is placed first rather than taking into consideration the benefit of living in conjunction with the natural world; in this case, the oceans. The oceans were studied quite widely throughout my school years, but it wasn’t until 7th grade where I truly caught on to the specifics of weather patterns, wave formations, tidal histories and the incredible density of how large our oceans are whilst cross-compared to how much of the oceans have been mapped, researched and understood on even a basic level of insight. It’s truly our greatest ‘unknown’ frontier outside of Space.

I grew up going to the beach as oft as time would allow and part of my appeal of visiting those sandy shores were to feel the connection from the sand under my feet to the humming clarity of the waves. There is something altogether spiritual about walking the beach, acknowledging the shells and connecting to the lifeblood of what the oceans give us per annum. I originally felt I would grow up to be professionally connected to the oceans, as I explored different options from interspecies communications (i.e. dolphins or whales; similar scope to Zeus and Roxanne); dolphin research; Nautical Archaeology; Marine Biology or one of the many sub-fields therein that stimulated a personal curiosity to know more. I even yearned to get my PADI license until I realised that I appreciated being a bit more disconnected from this enveloping world of dark and light; of where the underwater ecology is as reverent as the one on the surface and mimics certain attributes therein.

I found that my greater passion was to become a writer whose stories would be soulfully connected to the ocean and allow me the chance through research to develop more knowledge than what I could have gained if I had selected only one field to pursue. I appreciate the freedom being a writer and photographer can yield, but also, it’s finding a way to give credence to an ecological living system that so many of this world take for granted. If non-fiction releases like Reef Libre and my own personal wanderings within fiction can shed a light on the beauty and the case for conservation with preservation forward thinking solutions, I think we have a chance to reset the balance we’ve destroyed.

Blog Book Tour | “Reef Libre: An In-Depth Look at Cuban Exceptionalism” by Robert WintnerReef Libre
Subtitle: Cuba: The Last, Best Reefs in the World. An in-depth look at Cuban Exceptionalism
by Robert Wintner
Source: Publisher via iRead Book Tours

Cuba reefs host apex predators and coral cover at optimal levels. While Cuban reef vitality may be linked to economic default and no shoreline development, no agricultural pesticides or fertilizers and limited human population growth, the Castro regime is aggressively developing its reef potential.

Seas to the south are now 100% shark protected.

Most Cuba travelogues advise “getting off the beaten path,” but Reef Libre examines that path, to see where it might lead as things change. Will Cuba reefs remain protected? Or is this perilous age of natural decline a last chance to see a healthy reef system?

Robert Wintner and the Snorkel Bob Jardines de la Reina Expedition herein provide narrative insight with photos and video. First stop is the baseline: Havana urban density. Down south at Cayo Largo, reef collapse seems imminent with 600 guests changing daily, and the phosphate-laden laundry water flowing directly to the deep blue sea. Will Cuba’s Ministry of Tourism step up with the Jardines de la Reina paradigm? Rising from the Golfo de Ana María, Jardines is a thousand square miles of mangrove estuary, for ages compromised by constant extraction of its biggest predators, taken as food. Protected, it now rises on the world reef stage.

A DVD comes with the book in a paper sleeve glued to the inside cover. Reef Libre, the movie, runs about an hour.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9781630760731

Genres: Current Events, Digital Photography, Ecology, Marine Biology, Non-Fiction, Oceanography, Science, Travelogue, Wildife & Nature Photography


Published by Taylor Trade Publishing

on 1st February, 2015

Format: Hardcover Edition

Pages: 272

Available Formats: Hardback with the DVD

Published by: Taylor Trade Publishing

An imprint of Rowan & Littlefield (@RLPGBooks) known for their academic publications within the Humanities and Social Sciences. They also focus on Educational publications.

Converse via: #ReefLibre

About Robert Wintner

Robert Wintner

Best known as Snorkel Bob in Hawaii and around the world, Robert Wintner captures Cuba above and below the surface with urgency and hope. As a pioneer in fish portraiture, Wintner demonstrated social structure and etiquette in reef society. Reef Libre goes to political context, in which human folly will squander Cuba’s reefs as well—unless natural values can at last transcend political greed. As pundits joust over who did what to whom and why, Wintner ponders reef prospects in view of political changes.

Robert Wintner has authored many novels and story collections. Reef Libre is his fourth reef commentary with photos and his first overview of survival potential in a political maelstrom. He lives and works in Hawaii, still on the front lines of the campaign to stop the aquarium trade around the world.

Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 17 November, 2015 by jorielov in Aquaculture, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Bookish Discussions, Charity & Philanthropy, Climate Change, Conservation, Ecology, Education & Learning, Environmental Activism, Environmental Advocacy, Environmental Conscience, Environmental Science, Environmental Solutions, Indie Author, Life in Another Country, Marine Biology, Nature & Wildlife, Non-Fiction, Oceanography, Preservation, Science, Social Change, Sustainability & Ecological Preservation, The Natural World, Travel Narrative | Memoir, Travel Writing, Travelogue

Blog Book Tour | “Life Outside The Box: the Extraordinary journeys of 10 Unique Individuals” by Marilyn R. Wilson The opening revelation to a new series of #nonfiction interviews collectively synced as “Real People, Real Lives”!

Posted Monday, 22 June, 2015 by jorielov , , , 2 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Sergey Zolkin.

Acquired Book By: I was approached by iRead Book Tours to host a non-fiction title “Life Outside the Box” and during their query I decided to start hosting regularly with iRead Book Tours and their companion hosting company Italy Book Tours as a direct result of how welcoming they are to book bloggers. I received a complimentary copy of “Life Outside the Box” direct from the publisher Influence Publishing Inc. in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive compensation for my opinions or thoughts shared herein.

My curiosity was piqued:

I instantly *loved!* the premise of “Life Outside the Box” as it is a theme I can directly relate too inasmuch as I was keenly interested in reading the book! The main thread of the context that leapt out to me in such a stimulating way is the fact that ordinary people took a route in their lives that led them to achieve the extraordinary — little deviant paths towards choosing the creative avenue over the more traditional passageway has fascinated me for awhile, being a creative myself. Each of us who elects to create something out of nothing is by definition an artist. To find a collection of stories based off the interviews conducted in person by the writer who collected these stories together felt like a wicked good read to me!

It isn’t often you get to dig inside a person’s mind to understand how they went from here to there in their creative endeavours — to understand the mind of a creative economist from the inside out and thus, find threads of commonality as much as inspiration out of their journey! These are the types of real-life stories I love warming up too because they give such a well of insight into our shared and oft-times collaborative journey as we walk with a breath of creative light inside our footpaths!

Blog Book Tour | “Life Outside The Box: the Extraordinary journeys of 10 Unique Individuals” by Marilyn R. Wilson The opening revelation to a new series of #nonfiction interviews collectively synced as “Real People, Real Lives”!Life Outside The Box: The Extraordinary Journeys of 10 Unique Individuals
by Marilyn R. Wilson
Source: Publisher via iRead Book Tours

Real Stories about Real People to Entertain, Inspire and Challenge You.

Get inspired to step out of your box and into a world full of potential. From the corporate world, to the arts, to working with the disenfranchised – the message is clear. There is no such thing as a normal way to live your life and no one right solution to any problem. Selected from amongst over 100 interviews, the stories shared here open a window on the journeys of seven women and three men who have charted their own path, including Ruthie Davis – top U.S. luxury shoe designer and the winner of the 2014 AAFA Footwear Designer of the Year award – and Geir Ness whose perfume is a staple in Nordstrom, Disney World and on Disney Cruise Lines. Enjoy a glimpse behind the scenes into the unique ways these individuals chose to deal with life's challenges and how they define success in their careers.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to LibraryThing

Also by this author: Author Interview with Marilyn R. Wilson, (Guest Post) The Wisdom of Listening, The Wisdom of Listening

Series: ,


Genres: Anthology Collection of Short Stories and/or Essays, Non-Fiction, Art & Art History, Biography / Autobiography, Fashion Industry


Published by Influence Publishing Inc.

on 1st February, 2015

Format: Paperback Edition

Pages: 236

Published by: Influence Publishing Inc. (@influencepub)

Available Formats: Paperback, Ebook

Converse via: #RealPeopleRealLives & #LifeOutsideTheBox

About Marilyn R. Wilson

Marilyn R. Wilson

Marilyn R. Wilson is a freelance writer and editor with a passion for interviewing. It all began in 2006 when she answered a Craigslist ad from a NY magazine asking for story submissions. Two were accepted. The first live interview was life changing and Wilson has never looked back. With over 150 interviews now behind her, the love of interviewing is still as strong as ever. Whether through a random encounter on the New York subway or via a “one-on-one” interview with an internationally recognized artist, the goal is the same—to share the unique journeys of inspiring individuals.

In 2007, this goal led the author to co-launch a successful, innovative magazine focused on professionals working in the fashion industry, paired with photography and illustrations by local artists. Now on staff at Raine Magazine (NY/Miami/LA), as well as freelancing for other publications, Wilson has taken her passion to a new audience with the release of her first book.

Read More

Divider

Posted Monday, 22 June, 2015 by jorielov in 21st Century, Art, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Debut Author, Fashion Industry, Fly in the Ointment, Indie Author, iRead Book Tours, Non-Fiction, Vignettes of Real Life