Publisher: DAW Books

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “The Gate to Futures Past” (Book No.2 of the Reunification trilogy) by Julie E. Czerneda #FuellYourSciFi with Jorie!

Posted Thursday, 8 September, 2016 by jorielov , , , , , 0 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I was invited to participate in Julie E. Czerneda’s #futurespasttour wherein I am continuing my readings of The Clan Chronicles where I left off last November. I participated in the #timeandstarstour on behalf of the seventh volume of The Clan Chronicles ‘This Gulf of Time and Stars’. I reached out to the author to sort out a way to read her entire series spilt between two trilogies: Stratification (the prequel) and The Trade Pact (inaugural trilogy) which launched the series as a whole. She offered to have DAW Books send me the series in paperback editions which I was blessed to receive and would have finished reading if I had hadn’t taken ill shortly after I read “A Thousand Words for Stranger”. Due to personal reasons between the end of 2015 and the start of 2016, I was not able to continue my readings until now. I have spent a lot of hours contemplating what ‘comes next’.

This year, I reached out to her publicist at DAW (at the author’s suggestion) to receive “The Gate to Futures Past” to conclude the scope of the series ahead of the final novel. I spoke to Ms Czerneda about completing my readings of her beautifully conceived hard sci-fi series by releasing my reviews of the books in graduated succession during the #futurespasttour; she agreed it would be a great way to celebrate. Therefore, ‘Ties of Power’ kicks off my showcases on Monday, 22nd of August, followed by ‘To Trade the Stars’ on Tuesday, 30th August finishing ‘the Trade Pact Universe’ trilogy. I am anchouring the Reunification reviews together on 4th & 8th of September. Right in time for #PubDay celebrations which were on the 6th!

I received a complimentary ARC copy of ‘The Gate to Futures Past’ the first novel the final trilogy of The Clan Chronicles known as Reunification; in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated for my thoughts shared herein.

On where we left off into The Clan Chronicles:

As I disclosed on my review of Reap the Wild Wind this is my first reading of the works by Julie E. Czerneda. This is my continuing journey deep into the heart of The Clan Chronicles whilst conversing on Twitter via the tag #whoaretheclan. Occasionally alternating with #TheClanChronicles and #futurespasttour.

There is nothing more gutting for a reader than to arrive in the midst of a direction of narrative that not only pushes you to the brink of your emotional depths of despair, but it rebounds to give you a reason to carry-on and continue forward with the characters; such heart wrenching dialogue and expressions of absolute horror as realisation of what was happening was affecting the Clan one by one, heart by heart and family by family was truly one of the hardest passages I’ve read in recent history! Even moreso than some of the war dramas, because this was a blindsided attack, no one in the Clan knew they were on the brink of war or in effect being targeted for erasure!

Frantic reassurances of heart-kin messages were greeted by the enlarging loss which blanketed through the M’hir as more and more Clan woke up to the horrific reality of what had happened. The chasm of loss was so deep and so invasive, no one was left unaffected. Further gutting was the fact some of the Clan who fled to live for tomorrow were greeted by death only due to trusting their contacts would protect them by aiding their flight. This too, was horribly difficult to read – as your watching beloved characters meet their fates and you’re not in a position to aide them yourself. You simply have to watch. You have to breathe and you have to know there’s a reason for it all. There has to be a light at the end of this brutal tunnel of reverse fortunes and of cataclysmic loss.

-quoted from my review of This Gulf of Time and Stars

The result of which was absolute chaos – wherein all Clan chose to flee and take flight away from the places they felt they would be in danger, only to find that some of their places of safety were equally unsafe for them to find safe harbour. The measures Sira and Jason had to take to escape was not for the faint of heart, nor for the ease of the future of their species; as they dared to go where none of the Clan in Trade Pact space felt was possible to re-visit! This is where Czerneda shined whilst re-bridging together the entire trifecta of her three trilogy series!

Returning to Cersi brought back the delicate balance the world encompassed – as I never forgot how important it was to follow the guidelines of Cersi wherein each of the sentient species who called Cersi home were bound to certain ‘living rights and regulations’ which kept each in turn on a rotation of ‘balance’ within their populations. It was a very interesting foundation of how life could succeed through ascension of transfer and by controlled perimeters where each of them could not outnumber each other without consequence. At the time I was enthralled by it, as each person on Cersi was never entirely safeguarded against a merger between Clans; similar a bit to the Drapsk, except that the Drapsk merged to embetter themselves and exchange duties whereas on Cersi, the mergers were fatal.

What was impressed on me is how we see Jason (being his cheeky trader-self) and Sira (taking lead in a place that has protocol!) accumulate to Cersi with the full blessing of their experiences prior to arrival! It’s hard not to smirk seeing how they are dealing with Om’ray and Tikitik and the Oud! Seeing Thought Traveler in a more vulnerable situation than he was normally viewed was wicked good, too!

Further interesting, is on my return to Cersi, I sympathised with Aryl – Cersi had changed!

More to the point – Cersi held the ultimate secret in regards to #whoaretheclan!

And, like most mysteries – what is in plain sight of all is the best hidden secret!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Notation on the Cover Art: I positively love the way in which Sira is portrayed on the cover for GATE! Her hair is electric – just like I have envisioned it, as it has it’s own personality & sense of purpose as much as it’s an extension of her own emotional core of being. Truly loved her clothes & the sense that you can tell she’s trying once again to ‘save her Clan’ from a fate worst than death whilst attempting to prepare herself to appear brave even if she doesn’t entirely feel courageous in the moment. Sira always had to make hard choices; she was never one to balk at duty or responsibility but she was far stronger than most of her peers & those of her extended Clan cousins. The background is equally alluring – we get to see the ships directly behind her and the Clan technology that is so far advanced its left nothing behind to explain its purposes is on full display, too! What dear reader is not to love about this book cover!? #suchstrength & vision of Sira!

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “The Gate to Futures Past” (Book No.2 of the Reunification trilogy) by Julie E. Czerneda #FuellYourSciFi with Jorie!This Gulf of Time and Stars
Subtitle: A Novel of The Clan Chronicles : Reunification No.2
by Julie E. Czerneda
Illustrator/Cover Designer: Matt Stawicki
Source: Direct from Publisher

Synopsis on the Back Cover:

Betrayed and attacked, the Clan fled the Trade Pact for Cersi, believing that world their long-lost home. With them went a lone alien, the Human named Jason Morgan, Chosen of their leader, Sira di Sarc. Tragically, their arrival update the Balance between Cersi's three sentient species. And so the Clan, with their newfound kin, must flee again.

Their starship, powered by the M'hir, follows a course set long ago, for Clan abilities came from an experiment of their ancestors - the Hoveny - conducted on themselves. but it's a perilous journey. The Clan must endure more than cramped conditions and inner turmoil.

Their dead are calling.

Sira must keep her people from answering, for if they do, they die. Morgan searches the ship for solutions, afraid the Hoveny tech is beyond his grasp. Their only hope? To reach their destination.

Little do Sira and Morgan realize it is their destination that holds the gravest threat of all...

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780756408701

Also by this author: Reap the Wild Wind, Riders of the Storm, Rift in the Sky, A Thousand Words for Stranger, Ties of Power, To Trade the Stars, This Gulf of Time and Stars, Julie E. Czerneda Interview (#futurespasttour), , Guest Post: Julie E. Czerneda (Clan Chronicles Finale Tour)

Also in this series: This Gulf of Time and Stars


Genres: Science Fiction


Published by DAW Books

on 6th September, 2016

Format: Paperback ARC

Pages: 416

 Published By: DAW Books (@DAWBooks)
an imprint of Penguin Group USA

Cover art by Matt Stawicki | Site | Facebook

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Series Synopsis and Overview:

The Clan Chronicles is set in a far future with interstellar travel where the Trade Pact encourages peaceful commerce among a multitude of alien and Human worlds. The alien Clan, humanoid in appearance, have been living in secrecy and wealth on Human worlds, relying on their innate ability to move through the M’hir and bypass normal space. The Clan bred to increase that power, only to learn its terrible price: females who can’t help but kill prospective mates. Sira di Sarc is the first female of her kind facing that reality. With the help of a Human starship captain, Jason Morgan, Sira must find a morally acceptable solution before it’s too late. But with the Clan exposed, her time is running out. The Stratification trilogy follows Sira’s ancestor, Aryl Sarc, and shows how their power first came to be as well as how the Clan came to live in the Trade Pact. The Trade Pact trilogy is the story of Sira and Morgan, and the trouble facing the Clan.

Reunification will conclude the series and answer, at last, #whoaretheclan.

Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback and Ebook

Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards Badge created by Jorie in Canva. Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

About Julie E. Czerneda

Julie E. Czerneda Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Since 1997, Canadian author/editor Julie E. Czerneda has shared her love and curiosity about living things through her science fiction, writing about shapechanging semi-immortals, terraformed worlds, salmon researchers, and the perils of power. Her fourteenth novel from DAW Books was her debut fantasy, A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel, and now Book One of her Night`s Edge series.

She began her first fantasy series: Night’s Edge with A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel. A Play of Shadow followed, winning the 2015 Aurora. While there’ll be more fantasy, Julie’s back in science fiction to complete her Clan Chronicles series. Reunification #1: This Gulf of Time and Stars, came out in 2015. #2: The Gate to Futures Past released September, 2016. Volume #3: To Guard Against the Dark, follows October 2017.

An award-winning editor as well, Julie’s edited/co-edited sixteen anthologies of SF/F, including the Aurora winning Space Inc. and Under Cover of Darkness. Her most recent anthology is the 2017 Nebula Award Showcase, to be published May 2017, a singular honour.

Biography updated November 2016
Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Read More

Divider

Posted Thursday, 8 September, 2016 by jorielov in #FuellYourSciFi, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Book Cover | Original Illustration & Design, Book Review (non-blog tour), Canadian Literature, Compassion & Acceptance of Differences, Equality In Literature, Flashbacks & Recollective Memories, Hard Science Fiction, Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards, Mental Health, Mental Illness, Methodology of Writing Science Fiction & Fantasy, Neurosciences | Neurogenetics, Parapsychological Gifts, Quantum | Mechanics Physics Theory, Science Fantasy, Science Fiction, Self-Harm Practices, Space Opera, Speculative Fiction, String Theory, Telepaths & Telepathy, Unexpected Pregnancy

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “This Gulf of Time and Stars” (Book No.1 of the Reunification trilogy) by Julie E. Czerneda #FuellYourSciFi with Jorie!

Posted Saturday, 3 September, 2016 by jorielov , , , , , 0 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I was invited to participate in Julie E. Czerneda’s #futurespasttour wherein I am continuing my readings of The Clan Chronicles where I left off last November. I participated in the #timeandstarstour on behalf of the seventh volume of The Clan Chronicles ‘This Gulf of Time and Stars’. I reached out to the author to sort out a way to read her entire series spilt between two trilogies: Stratification (the prequel) and The Trade Pact (inaugural trilogy) which launched the series as a whole. She offered to have DAW Books send me the series in paperback editions which I was blessed to receive and would have finished reading if I had hadn’t taken ill shortly after I read “A Thousand Words for Stranger”. Due to personal reasons between the end of 2015 and the start of 2016, I was not able to continue my readings until now. I have spent a lot of hours contemplating what ‘comes next’.

This year, I reached out to her publicist at DAW (at the author’s suggestion) to receive “The Gate to Futures Past” to conclude the scope of the series ahead of the final novel. I spoke to Ms Czerneda about completing my readings of her beautifully conceived hard sci-fi series by releasing my reviews of the books in graduated succession during the #futurespasttour; she agreed it would be a great way to celebrate. Therefore, ‘Ties of Power’ kicks off my showcases on Monday, 22nd of August, followed by ‘To Trade the Stars’ on Tuesday, 30th August finishing ‘the Trade Pact Universe’ trilogy. I am anchouring the Reunification reviews together on 4th & 5th of September. Right in time for #PubDay!

I received a complimentary ARC copy of ‘This Gulf of Time and Stars’ the first novel the final trilogy of The Clan Chronicles known as Reunification; in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated for my thoughts shared herein.

On where we left off into The Clan Chronicles:

As I disclosed on my review of Reap the Wild Wind this is my first reading of the works by Julie E. Czerneda. This is my continuing journey deep into the heart of The Clan Chronicles whilst conversing on Twitter via the tag #whoaretheclan. Occasionally alternating with #TheClanChronicles and #futurespasttour.

I don’t believe it will come as a surprise to anyone familiar with the stories I love reading and sharing here on my blog Jorie Loves A Story, that when I find a strong relationship embedded inside the central arc of narrative, I am one reader who is inspired by how the relationship can become as addictive to observe growing in strength inasmuch as the rest of the breadth of the story itself! For me, personally, I love finding characters to root for and get behind – even if those characters are not necessarily a favourite at ‘first meeting’ – sometimes you find they warm to you after a further acquaintance is granted to you. You could say, my appreciation and support for Barac was slow to generate but now he’s become one of the secondary lead characters I’ve enjoyed seeing expand in-depth of place and person throughout the Clan Chronicles. Ruti on the other hand was such a sweet surprise addition!

There is a new character (Ruti) of whom I felt had the most interesting sub-focus in the novel, as her story is very Clan-like in it’s telling – cast into a new experience without knowing too much about what to expect ahead of time (even though for most generations ahead of her, they were given a bit more leeway of feeling more secure about this transitional period) whilst being offered a choice of freedom that most were not granted of her kind. She came from a homeworld of the Clan who refused to abide by Clan rules and regulations; in other words, they were more rebelliously rogue than the oft-times reserved Clan who shied from inter-species co-habitation. Ruti did not have an easy path to walk, but what I liked the most about her was her self-determined grit to make the most out of her situations; including warming up to Huido whose a formidable foe to most! She was the kind of character you’d consider the underdog and were especially grateful to have met!

Barac – Sira’s Cousin who up until this point in time seemed to flounder and cast himself adrift to wherever the next transport would take him, finally finds his inner compass of purpose! This was in-part inspired by Sira, then further nudged into action by the Drapsk but it’s finally his own conviction and trust of his Clan’s intuition that saved his soul so to speak in the end! I must say, I never quite felt motivated to seeing what would become of Barac until this time round – as truly, I felt as if I had seen him in such a different light of awareness as to find the benefit of his presence! He’s not the easiest Clansman to understand but at his core, his values and his goals are relatable to everyone whose a singleton. Part of his distemper and personal anguish was brewing below the surface of his blood out of a loneliness that he tried to suppress even from his own conscious thoughts! I felt he was vindicated in some ways and given a chance to mature into his truer calling wherein he found his happiness was not as far off as he once imagined! I love when characters who are succumbing to such dramatic spirals of self-pity are happily surprised by how life can change when they least expect it ever could!

-quoted from my review of To Trade the Stars

I knew by the time I would start to enter into the cycle of the Clan’s evolving history inside Reunification, there would be a pull-back from focusing a bit on the individual story-lines and a re-shift of focus on the Clan as a whole. It is not only necessary but paramount to their survival – as everything we’ve found out about the Clan thus far afield is about to change once more – for how could we know all there is to know about them, when they themselves have been locked inside a sealed vacuum of non-memory!? The Clan felt they should remove their memories and the trace of their past ancestor lives from their minds, but in truth, it’s this stark absence of ‘self’ and ‘society’ histories that has led them into dangerous waters!

Even knowing this, I was still prepared for more forthcoming knowledge of what comes of Ruti & Barac as much as I had the prime joy of finding out what became of Sira and Jason (Morgan)! There are certain characters who you find a lead-way into their lives,… characters of whom give you traction and curiosity, whilst (at times) not the sole focus of a series such as this one. There is such a girth of story bubbling to the surface throughout the Clan Chronicles – so much to enrich your imagination, species to track and boundaries of both time & space to keep aware of whilst you dig further into the tome of where a three trilogy series can span itself into a beloved saga!

My apprehension to begin Reunification was palpable – not only because I knew I was on the very fringe of needing to find a way to say ‘good-bye’ to this world and the characters who felt so very real to me as I read their adventures; but because I also knew, there were far more insidious manoeuvres at play – where everyone was going to be tested for the strength and will to carry-on once the secrets were revealed and the truth let out the conspiratorial subterfuge.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “This Gulf of Time and Stars” (Book No.1 of the Reunification trilogy) by Julie E. Czerneda #FuellYourSciFi with Jorie!This Gulf of Time and Stars
Subtitle: A Novel of The Clan Chronicles : Reunification No.1
by Julie E. Czerneda
Illustrator/Cover Designer: Matt Stawicki
Source: Direct from Publisher

Synopsis on the Back Cover:

To save their world, the most powerful of the Om'ray left their homes, transporting themselves into the void on Passage. They left behind all memory of their past, knowing only that they must make new lives for themselves among Humans.

Calling themselves the Clan, they settled among Humanity, hiding in plain sight, using their ability to slip past normal space to travel where they wished, using their ability to control minds to ensure their place and security.

They are no longer hidden.

For the Clan face a crisis. Their reproduction is tied to individual power, and their latest generation of females, Choosers, are too strong to safely mate. Their attempt to force others to help failed until Sira di Sarc, their leader and the most powerful of their kind ever born, successfully joined with a human, Jason Morgan, a starship captain and telepath. With Morgan, Sira forged the first peace between her kind and the Trade Pact. Together, they now search for an answer.

But it is a peace about to shatter. Those the Clan have controlled all these years will rise against them. Her people dying around her, war about to consume the Trade Pact, Sira will be left with only one choice.

She must find the way back.
And take the Clan home.

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780756408695

Also by this author: Reap the Wild Wind, Riders of the Storm, Rift in the Sky, A Thousand Words for Stranger, Ties of Power, To Trade the Stars, Julie E. Czerneda Interview (#futurespasttour), This Gulf of Time and Stars, , Guest Post: Julie E. Czerneda (Clan Chronicles Finale Tour)

Also in this series: This Gulf of Time and Stars


Genres: Science Fiction


Published by DAW Books

on 3rd November, 2015

Format: Paperback ARC

Pages: 464

 Published By: DAW Books (@DAWBooks)
an imprint of Penguin Group USA

Cover art by Matt Stawicki | Site | Facebook

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Series Synopsis and Overview:

The Clan Chronicles is set in a far future with interstellar travel where the Trade Pact encourages peaceful commerce among a multitude of alien and Human worlds. The alien Clan, humanoid in appearance, have been living in secrecy and wealth on Human worlds, relying on their innate ability to move through the M’hir and bypass normal space. The Clan bred to increase that power, only to learn its terrible price: females who can’t help but kill prospective mates. Sira di Sarc is the first female of her kind facing that reality. With the help of a Human starship captain, Jason Morgan, Sira must find a morally acceptable solution before it’s too late. But with the Clan exposed, her time is running out. The Stratification trilogy follows Sira’s ancestor, Aryl Sarc, and shows how their power first came to be as well as how the Clan came to live in the Trade Pact. The Trade Pact trilogy is the story of Sira and Morgan, and the trouble facing the Clan.

Reunification will conclude the series and answer, at last, #whoaretheclan.

Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback and Ebook

Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards Badge created by Jorie in Canva. Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

About Julie E. Czerneda

Julie E. Czerneda Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Since 1997, Canadian author/editor Julie E. Czerneda has shared her love and curiosity about living things through her science fiction, writing about shapechanging semi-immortals, terraformed worlds, salmon researchers, and the perils of power. Her fourteenth novel from DAW Books was her debut fantasy, A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel, and now Book One of her Night`s Edge series.

She began her first fantasy series: Night’s Edge with A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel. A Play of Shadow followed, winning the 2015 Aurora. While there’ll be more fantasy, Julie’s back in science fiction to complete her Clan Chronicles series. Reunification #1: This Gulf of Time and Stars, came out in 2015. #2: The Gate to Futures Past released September, 2016. Volume #3: To Guard Against the Dark, follows October 2017.

An award-winning editor as well, Julie’s edited/co-edited sixteen anthologies of SF/F, including the Aurora winning Space Inc. and Under Cover of Darkness. Her most recent anthology is the 2017 Nebula Award Showcase, to be published May 2017, a singular honour.

Biography updated November 2016
Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Read More

Divider

Posted Saturday, 3 September, 2016 by jorielov in #FuellYourSciFi, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Book Cover | Original Illustration & Design, Book Review (non-blog tour), Canadian Literature, Compassion & Acceptance of Differences, Equality In Literature, Hard Science Fiction, Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards, Mother-Daughter Relationships, Science Fantasy, Science Fiction, Space Opera

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “To Trade the Stars” (Book No.3 of the Trade Pact Universe) by Julie E. Czerneda #FuellYourSciFi with Jorie!

Posted Tuesday, 30 August, 2016 by jorielov , , , , , 0 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I was invited to participate in Julie E. Czerneda’s #futurespasttour wherein I am continuing my readings of The Clan Chronicles where I left off last November. I participated in the #timeandstarstour on behalf of the seventh volume of The Clan Chronicles ‘This Gulf of Time and Stars’. I reached out to the author to sort out a way to read her entire series spilt between two trilogies: Stratification (the prequel) and The Trade Pact (inaugural trilogy) which launched the series as a whole. She offered to have DAW Books send me the series in paperback editions which I was blessed to receive and would have finished reading if I had hadn’t taken ill shortly after I read “A Thousand Words for Stranger”. Due to personal reasons between the end of 2015 and the start of 2016, I was not able to continue my readings until now. I have spent a lot of hours contemplating what ‘comes next’.

This year, I reached out to her publicist at DAW (at the author’s suggestion) to receive “The Gate to Futures Past” to conclude the scope of the series ahead of the final novel. I spoke to Ms Czerneda about completing my readings of her beautifully conceived hard sci-fi series by releasing my reviews of the books in graduated succession during the #futurespasttour; she agreed it would be a great way to celebrate. Therefore, ‘Ties of Power’ kicks off my showcases on Monday, 22nd of August, followed by ‘To Trade the Stars’ on Tuesday, 30th August finishing ‘the Trade Pact Universe’ trilogy. I am anchouring the Reunification reviews together on 1st & 2nd of September.

I received a complimentary copy of ‘To Trade the Stars’ the first novel of original trilogy better known as The Trade Pact Universe. I was not obliged to post a review or share my impressions or opinions on behalf of these stories. I am posting my thoughts for my own edification and to help encourage new readers to meet the characters Czerneda created especially if like me, they are discovering The Clan Chronicles for the first time!

On where we left off into The Clan Chronicles:

As I disclosed on my review of Reap the Wild Wind this is my first reading of the works by Julie E. Czerneda. This is my continuing journey deep into the heart of The Clan Chronicles whilst conversing on Twitter via the tag #whoaretheclan. Occasionally alternating with #TheClanChronicles and #futurespasttour.

The greater good in regards to Drapsk society was underpinned by their innocence and their desire to re-claim their own legacy. This is something that Sira noted on their behalf as she was becoming more familiar with their beliefs, customs and traditions whilst caught up as a Contestant in their search for the Mystic One. I could gather from the offset this was a pivotal moment for her as much as the Drapsk as they were not one to bend to logic or for any assertions on her behalf (as she questioned how they could view her as a special person of interest to their race) to test the theories of their culture. I had a feeling the Drapsk had a continuing story-line moving forward with as much of the importance as the state of the Clan itself. As mentioned in this snippet of my review:

The continuity moving through the Trade Pact is as bang-on brilliant as the one I had found in Stratification! You can see the stitchings of how this installment was cast within the previous volume, but so too, how Czerneda has carried forward the counter-measures of Sira’s Clan to act both for her interests and against her at the same time. There are two factions brewing closer to war – a war of mind, power and control, such is the way of the Clan. If they cannot control their source of power and the succession of the channels of where the power is funneling through each new generation, the Clan feels they have failed. Theirs is always a battle to achieve more and stabilise the insurrection that began the moment Sira felt she was strong enough to overtake the Clan’s Council. In some ways, I think she could have if she wasn’t knocked down along the way by those who would seek her help only to back-stab her in the end. A curious tenure of moving forward only to feel as if your moving backwards at a pace that is not set by yourself but by those whose intentions are never fully in view of your own mind. – quoted from my review of Ties of Power

The Clan itself was undergoing changes in its power structures – not in their sources of energy per se but in the structure of how they organised themselves. They had certain people at key levels of control who were not acting with the best interest of the Clan but rather their own motivations towards completing their own acts of harming the continuity of the Clan’s organic growth and evolution. At the heart of the conflict is the insistence that all changes within the fabric of the Clan’s biometric existence cannot be altered, changed or evolved. They are quite fastidious about not wanting any of their kind to ‘out best’ each other or to find a new level of existing that is not known to the collective of the Clan.

Counter-current to their biologic growth patterns is the rarely spoken fact Humans in this sector of the universe are experiencing their own set of changes, too. The hint towards that end was in the telepathical instincts foreseen in Morgan (Sira’s beloved) and how he was able to harness the power within his mind; even if for most of his life he walked in the darkness of not understanding it’s worth. This changed in perception and understanding when he crossed paths with Sira but evenso, now that he has embraced his power of telepathic thought energy, the difficulties now lie in being able to have self-control when he is at the height of his angered state where emotionally he experiences energy spikes in his behaviour. He’s not the best for wanting to temper his reactory instincts but without a modicum of self-control, his gift could become his downfall; which he well understands.

There was a moment of compassionate empathy in the middle of Sira’s time on the Drapsk homeworld that truly left such a strong impression on me as I read the trial of her choice. She felt with all of her emotions now that she was a fusion of both of her past(s); the one who was known as Sira Morgan and the one who was known to the Clan. Hers was not an easy life to walk but somewhere along this complicated route she had grown in the strength of understanding selfless acts of compassion. What she did for a species she had never encountered before was sombering and how she did it was such a beautiful testament of how the M’hir could be used for good rather than for evil. (all of this is contained in Chapter 25)

Shortly thereafter, we were encompassed by how the M’hir can function outside of its usual pursuit; having a lifeblood of its own accord and a particular standard of existence. Yet I oft felt how the M’hir worked or even interacted with others outside of the Clan was still being disclosed one story at a time. This is what was so incredibly layered about the series overall; Czerneda teases you at first with forehand knowledge that is necessary to dig inside the hard sci-fi elements she is expanding on per each installment, but then, you will find yourself arriving at passages such as the ones in Chapters 29 and 30.

This is one of the biological pathways of Czerneda’s breadth of expansion within the Clan Chronicles; she encourages you to take second and third ‘looks’ at everything you think you understand whilst giving you a biological reasoning behind why certain ‘things’ can be affected by cause and effect disturbances which seek to risk the status quo. It’s this compelling argument that has real-world applications if you seek to re-articulate what she’s trying to show you about how living environments are far more complex than what humanity understands on the superficial level of their complexity.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “To Trade the Stars” (Book No.3 of the Trade Pact Universe) by Julie E. Czerneda #FuellYourSciFi with Jorie!To Trade the Stars
Subtitle: The Trade Pact Universe #3
by Julie E. Czerneda
Illustrator/Cover Designer: Luis Royo
Source: Direct from Publisher

Synopsis on the Back Cover:

Jason and Sira

he a human telepath and independent trader, she now Speaker for the Clan Council, as well as Jason's life partner - are trying to forge a life for themselves free of the demands of both the Clan and the Drapsk, a race determined to claim Sira as the long-awaited Mystic One. And as if these conflicting demands aren't making life complicated enough, there are at least two other factions with far more dangerous intentions seeking them out.

Any hope Sira and Jason have of charting their own course seems likely to vanish forever when they are unexpectedly caught in a conflict between the Drapsk and a mysterious race that dwells in the M'hir. With all of their energies directed towards this crisis, will they become easy prey for those among the Clan and the Humans who are already mobilizing to take advantage of the coming conflict?

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 978-0-7564-0075-0

Also by this author: Reap the Wild Wind, Riders of the Storm, Rift in the Sky, A Thousand Words for Stranger, Ties of Power, This Gulf of Time and Stars, Julie E. Czerneda Interview (#futurespasttour), This Gulf of Time and Stars, , Guest Post: Julie E. Czerneda (Clan Chronicles Finale Tour)

Series: Trade Pact Universe


Also in this series: A Thousand Words for Stranger, Ties of Power


Genres: Science Fiction


Published by DAW Books

on 1st June, 2002

Format: Mass Market Paperback

Pages: 496

 Published By: DAW Books (@DAWBooks)
an imprint of Penguin Group USA

Cover Artist: Luis Royo | Site | Twitter | Facebook

The Clan Chronicles:

Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback and Ebook

Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards Badge created by Jorie in Canva. Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

About Julie E. Czerneda

Julie E. Czerneda Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Since 1997, Canadian author/editor Julie E. Czerneda has shared her love and curiosity about living things through her science fiction, writing about shapechanging semi-immortals, terraformed worlds, salmon researchers, and the perils of power. Her fourteenth novel from DAW Books was her debut fantasy, A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel, and now Book One of her Night`s Edge series.

She began her first fantasy series: Night’s Edge with A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel. A Play of Shadow followed, winning the 2015 Aurora. While there’ll be more fantasy, Julie’s back in science fiction to complete her Clan Chronicles series. Reunification #1: This Gulf of Time and Stars, came out in 2015. #2: The Gate to Futures Past released September, 2016. Volume #3: To Guard Against the Dark, follows October 2017.

An award-winning editor as well, Julie’s edited/co-edited sixteen anthologies of SF/F, including the Aurora winning Space Inc. and Under Cover of Darkness. Her most recent anthology is the 2017 Nebula Award Showcase, to be published May 2017, a singular honour.

Biography updated November 2016
Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 30 August, 2016 by jorielov in #FuellYourSciFi, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Book Cover | Original Illustration & Design, Book Review (non-blog tour), Canadian Literature, Compassion & Acceptance of Differences, Death, Sorrow, and Loss, Equality In Literature, Hard Science Fiction, Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards, Mother-Daughter Relationships, Science Fantasy, Science Fiction, Space Opera

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “Ties of Power” (Book No.2 of the Trade Pact Universe) by Julie E. Czerneda #FuellYourSciFi with Jorie!

Posted Monday, 22 August, 2016 by jorielov , , , , , 0 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva.

Acquired Book By: I was invited to participate in Julie E. Czerneda’s #futurespasttour wherein I am continuing my readings of The Clan Chronicles where I left off last November. I participated in the #timeandstarstour on behalf of the seventh volume of The Clan Chronicles ‘This Gulf of Time and Stars’. I reached out to the author to sort out a way to read her entire series spilt between two trilogies: Stratification (the prequel) and The Trade Pact (inaugural trilogy) which launched the series as a whole. She offered to have DAW Books send me the series in paperback editions which I was blessed to receive and would have finished reading if I had hadn’t taken ill shortly after I read “A Thousand Words for Stranger”. Due to personal reasons between the end of 2015 and the start of 2016, I was not able to continue my readings until now. I have spent a lot of hours contemplating what ‘comes next’.

This year, I reached out to her publicist at DAW (at the author’s suggestion) to receive “The Gate to Futures Past” to conclude the scope of the series ahead of the final novel. I spoke to Ms Czerneda about completing my readings of her beautifully conceived hard sci-fi series by releasing my reviews of the books in graduated succession during the #futurespasttour; she agreed it would be a great way to celebrate. Therefore, ‘Ties of Power’ kicks off my showcases on Monday, 22nd of August, followed by ‘To Trade the Stars’ on Thursday, 25th August finishing ‘the Trade Pact Universe’ trilogy. I am anchouring the Reunification reviews together on 1st & 2nd of September.

I received a complimentary copy of ‘Ties of Power’ the first novel of original trilogy better known as The Trade Pact Universe. I was not obliged to post a review or share my impressions or opinions on behalf of these stories. I am posting my thoughts for my own edification and to help encourage new readers to meet the characters Czerneda created especially if like me, they are discovering The Clan Chronicles for the first time!

On re-entry into The Clan Chronicles:

As I disclosed on my review of Reap the Wild Wind this is my first reading of the works by Julie E. Czerneda. This is my continuing journey deep into the heart of The Clan Chronicles whilst conversing on Twitter via the tag #whoaretheclan. Occasionally alternating with #TheClanChronicles and #futurespasttour.

As hinted about a moment ago whilst explaining how I came to read The Clan Chronicles – there is a nine month gap between when I last read the series and today. I explained a lot of what was going on at the close of [2015] and the beginning of [2016] many moons ago when I released my post called: Two Years, Two Cats. It seriously took me months to restore the level of joy I had reading and sharing my reading life after those moments where life had started to overwhelm me to the brink where between February and April I was contemplating if I even wanted to continue blogging. Two (epic) migraines in the Spring nearly convinced me to pull the plug, but as this journey of mine has been a walk of faith since it’s conception, I knew in my heart, all would right itself eventually. I simply had had a difficult patch of hours I needed to walk through before the light and joy would return.

Hence why I never truly felt the moment had returnt to where I could dissolve myself back inside the world of the Clan in such a way as to fully attune myself into the narrative arc left behind to discover by Czerneda! Her series has never quite left me either – there is something about this series, as you may have already threaded through my previous reviews and know what I’m going to say – this series becomes a part of you. It transforms how you look at what a hard sci-fi series can give but it’s more than that – these characters are so wholly inherent of their own sentient selves, you find a gateway into their world so instinctively true to who they are and how they live their lives.

It’s been a long journey for me to find favour again with stories and to find myself caught up inside the giddiness of reading a story whose foundation of setting, time and place has been able to fuse into my imagination without any of the woes of the year to inflict a pause of reflection. I’m in a much better mindset now to resume where I’ve left off with the Clan and I am quite excited about re-entering this world on the fringes of the eighth release! Although, part of me is recognising this truly is a sad moment in some regards – there are ONLY nine novels total in The Clan Chronicles! I ought to take stock in handkerchiefs and tissue boxes!

As I start to re-read the ending bits of A Thousand Words for Stranger, ahead of moving into Ties of Power, I am taking a moment to share with you what truly was my turning point in understanding the Trade Pact Universe as I quite literally did leave my heart on Cersi! I felt so entwined with Cersi, when I first read A Thousand Words for Stranger I felt ripped away from Cersi in such a strong way that I grieved it’s loss for nearly the entire length of the novel!

A lightbulb went off in my mind – sometimes when I’m reading a book series, I pick up on subtle differences, little nuances if you will, alerting me there is something not quite as it once were earlier in the sequences. In Chapter 8 I recognised what is missing from the Clan – their emotional reactions! Each time they would telepathically speak to each other, each word, phrase or sentence had a precept of feeling wherein you knew instantly their emotional and mind centre point. Traditionally throughout Stratification the two were adjoined, moving fluidly as if of one thought, one emotion. The Clan in the Trade Pact universe has stepped away from this tradition! That’s why I felt a bit disconnected from them (over and beyond the other reasons!) as they’ve re-identified not with their Clan language and ways, but with ComSpeak! The language of the interstellar travellers of whom they’ve become! They do technically at times share their emotional state but it’s far more reserved. I would not consider them transparent now, as Aryl and Enris would be quite gobsmacked by how vague and cloaked their Clan became in such a short lifespan of time. On the other hand, the Clan views lifespans a bit differently – perhaps it’s too far apart from them to register as a ‘short change’ but rather expelled over too long of a period to bother them?

Sira understands Morgan better than he understands himself which would be easy to do as he’s not a bloke of transparency. Morgan is a bit burnt out and jaded by the choices he’s made as a spacer who works the trades; his ship was his home, a place where he could rule his own destiny. When he had the happenstance meeting with Sira on Auord it set in motion a series of events that would tie the two together. Not surprisingly it also launched them into a duo whose trust for each other would slowly start to drop anchour. Neither one trusted easily, but there are certain things that happen between people who share close quarters; a ship in their world is not any different than a ship in ours. It gives you a measure of space to stay sane but an intimacy that is built on friendship and curiosity.

Oh, my! Morgan’s fate is entwined with Enris or rather, is it the other way round? Time is temporal and this universe asks questions of itself about the order in which things are known or changed. Enris might have come first but Morgan and Sira’s relationship are playing out truth to the nail in line with Aryl’s with Enris. What a beautiful scope of their lineage, Ms Czerneda! Great-grands, yes, indeed share a special connection!

-quoted from my review of A Thousand Words for Stranger

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “Ties of Power” (Book No.2 of the Trade Pact Universe) by Julie E. Czerneda #FuellYourSciFi with Jorie!Ties of Power
Subtitle: The Trade Pact Universe #2
by Julie E. Czerneda
Illustrator/Cover Designer: Luis Royo
Source: Direct from Publisher

Synopsis on the Back Cover:

Self-Exile

became Sira's only choice when she discovered how deeply she'd been betrayed by the leaders of her people. Rather than allow them to continue to use her for their own ruthless purposes, Sira, the most powerful being ever born to the alien race known as the Clan, fled with the human empath, Jason Morgan.

Now, living on a distant world in an environment over which she has control, Sira is striving to carve out a new life for herself. But there are those determined to take from her what she will not willingly give, and when she and Jason fall victim to an unforeseen attack, it sets in motion a series of events which will see Jason searching the starways on a mission of vengeance, and Sira leagued with the Drapsk, a little understood race which is extremely adept at trading. For the Drapsk see in Sira a power which could regain for them something which has long been lost. And they will do anything to protect this woman who is their greatest hope for the future....

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

Add to LibraryThing

ISBN: 9780886778507

Also by this author: Reap the Wild Wind, Riders of the Storm, Rift in the Sky, A Thousand Words for Stranger, To Trade the Stars, This Gulf of Time and Stars, Julie E. Czerneda Interview (#futurespasttour), This Gulf of Time and Stars, , Guest Post: Julie E. Czerneda (Clan Chronicles Finale Tour)

Series: Trade Pact Universe


Also in this series: A Thousand Words for Stranger, To Trade the Stars


Genres: Science Fiction


Published by DAW Books

on 8th October, 1999

Format: Mass Market Paperback

Pages: 496

 Published By: DAW Books (@DAWBooks)
an imprint of Penguin Group USA

Cover Artist: Luis Royo | Site | Twitter | Facebook

The Clan Chronicles:

Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback and Ebook

Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards Badge created by Jorie in Canva. Coffee and Tea Clip Art Set purchased on Etsy; made by rachelwhitetoo.

About Julie E. Czerneda

Julie E. Czerneda Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Since 1997, Canadian author/editor Julie E. Czerneda has shared her love and curiosity about living things through her science fiction, writing about shapechanging semi-immortals, terraformed worlds, salmon researchers, and the perils of power. Her fourteenth novel from DAW Books was her debut fantasy, A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel, and now Book One of her Night`s Edge series.

She began her first fantasy series: Night’s Edge with A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel. A Play of Shadow followed, winning the 2015 Aurora. While there’ll be more fantasy, Julie’s back in science fiction to complete her Clan Chronicles series. Reunification #1: This Gulf of Time and Stars, came out in 2015. #2: The Gate to Futures Past released September, 2016. Volume #3: To Guard Against the Dark, follows October 2017.

An award-winning editor as well, Julie’s edited/co-edited sixteen anthologies of SF/F, including the Aurora winning Space Inc. and Under Cover of Darkness. Her most recent anthology is the 2017 Nebula Award Showcase, to be published May 2017, a singular honour.

Biography updated November 2016
Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Read More

Divider

Posted Monday, 22 August, 2016 by jorielov in #FuellYourSciFi, Bits & Bobbles of Jorie, Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Book Cover | Notation on Design, Book Cover | Original Illustration & Design, Book Review (non-blog tour), Canadian Literature, Compassion & Acceptance of Differences, Death, Sorrow, and Loss, Equality In Literature, Hard Science Fiction, Jorie Loves A Story Cuppa Book Love Awards, Mother-Daughter Relationships, Science Fantasy, Science Fiction, Space Opera

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “A Thousand Words for Stranger” by Julie E. Czerneda Jorie reads #TheClanChronicles for #RRSciFiMonth!

Posted Thursday, 12 November, 2015 by jorielov , , , , , 3 Comments

Ruminations & Impressions Book Review Banner created by Jorie in Canva. Photo Credit: Unsplash Public Domain Photographer Sergey Zolkin.

Acquired Book By: I was chosen to participate in Julie E. Czerneda’s #timeandstarstour on behalf of the seventh volume of The Clan Chronicles ‘This Gulf of Time and Stars’. Ahead of reading that installment, I reached out to the author to sort out a way to read her entire series spilt between two trilogies: a prequel and the inaugural trilogy which launched the series as a whole. She offered to have DAW Books send me the series in paperback editions to help me sort out the hours I would need to read them as I could only use inter-library loan which has a built-in delay from receiving books via your local library.

Thus a book parcel from her publicist at DAW arrived forthwith and gave me the two trilogies ahead of ‘This Gulf of Time and Stars’. I received a complimentary copy of ‘A Thousand Words for Stranger’ the first novel of original trilogy better known as The Trade Pact Universe. I was not obliged to post a review or share my impressions or opinions on behalf of these stories. I am posting my thoughts for my own edification and to help encourage new readers to meet the characters Czerneda created especially if like me, they are discovering The Clan Chronicles for the first time!

Continuing onward inside The Clan Chronicles:

As I disclosed on my review of Reap the Wild Wind this is my first reading of the works by Julie E. Czerneda. This is my continuing journey deep into the heart of The Clan Chronicles whilst conversing on Twitter via the tag #whoaretheclan.

Hidden behind Rift in the Sky was a ‘secret addition’ Stonerim III, of which I felt was a clever surprise for readers as Rift in the Sky was fully complete with it’s own Epilogue and Cast of Characters; a tradition of closure for The Clan Chronicles. Rather than speak about this additional chapter of Clan insight on my last review, I decided it would be best to attach it to my thoughts on behalf of The Trade Pact Universe, as I gathered a deep sense this would become the gateway to A Thousand Words for Stranger and everything that would come from within it.

The presumption of Marcus’s people to believe he had any connection to the results of interference proved how willing his kind were to make leaps of baseless argument. They could only presume to know what happened on Cersi as they were nowhere near the site of what happened; how could they even theorise about something they wouldn’t have the capacity to understand? A numbing realisation that what I gathered about Marcus’s origins had been a bit more accurate than how I would have cast an arrow to marker. They were not as immune to deception as the Om’ray were led to believe nor were they entirely honest in their intentions for excavating Cersi. Marcus was the wisest of his kind, compassionate with fatherly empathy, kind-hearted and trusting; he was a true explorer who left not footprints but heartprints behind where he walked.

When the Om’ray of Sona shifted through time (as teleportation is their most dangerous and powerful Talent), they did not simply leave behind the Cersi ruled by Oud and Tikitik; they left their memories of being on Cersi! A whole new realm opened up before my eyes, as I knew the Trade Pact Universe was going to be completely different from Stratification but how different, I was not quite prepared! This is a ruthless universe banking on bartering and incautious greed. A place where tech is necessary to understand and where seemingly appearing to be human isn’t quite the same as being human. This is where Marcus was from and why his datalock of memories influenced the Sona Clan to travel here is at this time a bit of a wonderment!

A credit to Aryl, Naryn and Enris – they continue to trust their bond to each other and their protective instincts towards their Clan (more than seven hundred strong!). Their survival skills are bar none akin to another as they do what they need to do in the moment of necessity; even if there are after effects of their actions. They are blind to this world’s habits and traditions; they do not even blend by thread or fabric and yet, they chose to come here for re-colonisation. They even chose an otherworld name for their Clan which hints towards their Talent: M’hiray Clan. Their memories stirred inside kinetic reminders of who they once were even if the signals were a bit blurred and out of focus; they felt something of their past.

The shadow which looms over Stonerim III is a shadow-line of our own societies where the pursuit of power and wealth can sometimes overtake the logical sense of reason. Disassociating what is the thin line walked between right and wrong and that little grey area where wrong choices can be most disparaging. True to form, Ms Czerneda has interlaced a larger scope of depth inside her universe; you only have to read within the lines of her stories to see what The Clan Chronicles is truly attempting to teach you.

I was right. This was the beginning of Sira di Sarc.
The great-granddaughter of Aryl.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Book Review | #whoaretheclan | “A Thousand Words for Stranger” by Julie E. Czerneda Jorie reads #TheClanChronicles for #RRSciFiMonth!A Thousand Words for Stranger
Subtitle: 10th Anniversary Edition
by Julie E. Czerneda
Illustrator/Cover Designer: Luis Royo
Source: Direct from Publisher

Synopsis on the Back Cover:

Ambushed by unknown assailants, cut off from her escort, and on the run with no memory of who she was, what she was doing on the world known as Auord, or why she was driven by a compulsion to find a specific ship and head for an unknown destination, she was forced to accept the help of a space trader named Morgan. Captain Morgan gave her the name Sira and a berth on his spaceship, but there was something about him she could not quite trust, something he was hiding from her.

Yet, sought by the Enforcers of the interstellar Trade Pact, by representatives of the Clan of which Sira herself was a member, and by mysterious pursuer determined to use Sira for his own ends, she had no choice but to ally herself with Morgan - even though each might well prove the other's doom. . . .

To commemorate the tenth anniversary of Julie E. Czerneda's debut novel, DAW is releasing A THOUSAND WORDS FOR STRANGER in this special edition, complete with an Introduction by the author, and a bonus story, "Brothers Bound".

Places to find the book:

Borrow from a Public Library

Add to Riffle

ISBN: 9780756404581

Also by this author: Reap the Wild Wind, Riders of the Storm, Rift in the Sky, Ties of Power, To Trade the Stars, This Gulf of Time and Stars, Julie E. Czerneda Interview (#futurespasttour), This Gulf of Time and Stars, , Guest Post: Julie E. Czerneda (Clan Chronicles Finale Tour)

Series: Trade Pact Universe


Also in this series: Ties of Power, To Trade the Stars


Genres: Science Fiction


Published by DAW Books

on 4th September 2007

Format: Paperback Edition

Pages: 444

 Published By: DAW Books (@DAWBooks)
an imprint of Penguin Group USA

Cover Artist: Luis Royo | Site | Twitter | Facebook

The Clan Chronicles:

  • Reap the Wild Wind (Stratification trilogy, No.1)
  • Riders of the Storm (Stratification trilogy, No.2)
  • Rift in the Sky (Stratification trilogy, No.3)
  • A Thousand Words for Stranger (Trade Pact Universe, No.1)
  • Ties of Power (Trade Pact Universe, No.2)
  • To Trade the Stars (Trade Pact Universe, No.3)
  • This Gulf of Time and Stars (Reunification, No.1)

Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback and Ebook

About Julie E. Czerneda

Julie E. Czerneda Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Since 1997, Canadian author/editor Julie E. Czerneda has shared her love and curiosity about living things through her science fiction, writing about shapechanging semi-immortals, terraformed worlds, salmon researchers, and the perils of power. Her fourteenth novel from DAW Books was her debut fantasy, A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel, and now Book One of her Night`s Edge series.

She began her first fantasy series: Night’s Edge with A Turn of Light, winner of the 2014 Aurora Award for Best English Novel. A Play of Shadow followed, winning the 2015 Aurora. While there’ll be more fantasy, Julie’s back in science fiction to complete her Clan Chronicles series. Reunification #1: This Gulf of Time and Stars, came out in 2015. #2: The Gate to Futures Past released September, 2016. Volume #3: To Guard Against the Dark, follows October 2017.

An award-winning editor as well, Julie’s edited/co-edited sixteen anthologies of SF/F, including the Aurora winning Space Inc. and Under Cover of Darkness. Her most recent anthology is the 2017 Nebula Award Showcase, to be published May 2017, a singular honour.

Biography updated November 2016
Photo Credit: Roger Czerneda Photography

Read More

Divider

Posted Thursday, 12 November, 2015 by jorielov in Blog Tour Host & Reviewer, Blogosphere Events & Happenings, Book Cover | Notation on Design, Book Cover | Original Illustration & Design, Book Review (non-blog tour), Canadian Literature, Compassion & Acceptance of Differences, Death, Sorrow, and Loss, Equality In Literature, Hard Science Fiction, Library Catalogues & Databases, Local Libraries | Research Libraries, Mother-Daughter Relationships, Sci-Fi November, Science Fantasy, Science Fiction, Space Opera

Page 1 of 212