Genre: Fantasy Fiction

#Blogmas | #FantasyForChristmas blog series featuring new series & authors Jorie was blessed to have found concludes for a 2nd year on Jorie Loves A Story!

Posted Thursday, 12 December, 2019 by jorielov , , , , , , , , 0 Comments

#blogmas 2019 badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

You might have questioned your sanity this past week on Jorie Loves A Story – as unfortunately due to personal circumstances and a naughty Winter cold which struck me down quite fiercely for nearly a full week now – I haven’t had the pleasure of joy of sharing *all!* of my #FantasyForChristmas19 posts in a systematic way of arriving in your feeds for my blog as you might have originally felt they might have alighted! Meaning, I found a cheeky way to ‘bend time’ a bit but still managed to feature the authors & their stories which interest me most to seek out to read in New Year, 2020!

If you’ve become a regular visitor to Jorie Loves A Story – you’ve noticed a few things – I happen to *love!* reading Speculative Fiction, I have a propensity for seeking out Epic Fantasy series and/or Sagas and there is something about fantastical world-building which truly makes me giddy as a reader inasmuch as a historically set novel. This year the event allowed me to seek out a few #newtomeauthors to highlight and share extracts from their stories whilst it also allowed me the chance to re-champion & re-cheer for two novelists I already know I dearly love to read: Morgan L. Busse & Jennifer Silverwood!

Busse and Silverwood are each writing series I love disappearing inside and thankfully they each are giving me a wicked good new installment in 2020! How’s that for a lovely New Year’s gift? New stories within series I love to read is each year’s goal and I couldn’t be happier to see February and May come round respectively!

Whilst at the same time, I was smitten by a #dragonfiction series, tucked into joy realising Ms McShane has *two!* series I am itching to read rather than one and even found a new anthology to chase after which delighted my bookish heart! If you’ve missed any of the #FantasyForChristmas series of posts this #blogmas or from #blogmas 2018 – this is the post you’re going to want to read in full! I’m re-visiting why I chose each author to spotlight and highlight during both year’s – giving you the full pleasure of finding your own #newtomeauthors to earmark to read!

Brew a favourite cuppa and prepare to take some notes!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com Read More

Divider

Posted Thursday, 12 December, 2019 by jorielov in #blogmas, Blog Tour Host, Fantasy Fiction, Prism Book Tours

#Blogmas | feat. #FantasyForChristmas19 showcases | The sequel to “Silver Hollow” is out in the world during #WyrdAndWonder 2020 – “Blackbriar Cove” continues the Borderlands Saga by Jennifer Silverwood!

Posted Tuesday, 10 December, 2019 by jorielov , , , , 1 Comment

#blogmas 2019 badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

No one is more *eagerly excited!* for the SEQUEL to “Silver Hollow” – that I am!! Truly – ever since the beautifully lovely hardback of Silver Hollow enchanted my imagination & tugged at my readerly heart – I’ve barely found myself unable to pull myself out of the world long enough to stop contemplating ‘what comes next’ & where do we go from here? It is one of those spell-binding fantastical series you are itching to discover – aching really, if you’re a reader like me – and finding yourself so bemused by how the writer set us in her world that it is quintessentially on your #topfavouritesof2019 lists for books you dearly hope others pick up to read based on your own enthused reception of the story!

However, before you listen to me gush a bit more over this series – I first need to mention a few things about how I know Ms Silverwood:

On my connection to Jennifer Silverwood:

When our paths first crossed, Ms Silverwood and I shared a mutual interest and connection; however, our friendship did not form for awhile afterwards. It was truly after the interview went live and after I noticed I was reading her blog as much as she was reading mine – where I realised we shared a lot of commonalities in our reading lives as well as our writely lives! We decided to stay in touch and it is an honour to find someone who understands the bridge between reader, blogger and writer.

I am disclosing this, to assure you that I can formulate an honest opinion, even though I have interacted with Ms Silverwood through our respective love & passion of reading inside the twitterverse whilst I hosted her Silver Hollow blog tour and privately as well. I treat each book as a ‘new experience’, whether I personally know the author OR whether I am reading a book by them for the first time or continuing to read their releases as they are available. This also applies to hosting a guest feature by the author I share a connection.

Secondly, Ms Silverwood was blessedly one of my guests for @SatBookChat this year – wherein we were discussing her Space Opera novellas series. She’s previously been a host of the chat discussing Silver Hollow – as she’s a conversationalist like I am when it comes to all things bookish – however, if you tuck into that post, you’ll find a link to the chat & find that we discussed a bit more than the Heavens Edge series as well!

Her stories are amongst my favourite to read & it is a delight of joy whenever her #bookmail arrives in my postbox! You’ll be seeing more about Heavens Edge before the close of the month as its tied into how I’ll be closing off my Sci Fi November this year! Never one to let migraines or a Wintry cold hold a girl down for too long (ie. migraines & some life woes derailed #SciFiMonth this year whilst if you’ve seen my #FantasyForChristmas19 posts magically re-organising themselves in your feeds for Jorie Loves A Story this week – consider it courtesy of a horrid Wintry cold which struck me down!) – I am resolute in my efforts to continue reading the stories I desire to finish before Times Square can happily countdown my New Year’s!

Today I was wicked thrilled to be able to ‘ring a bell’ (as Joriebelle rings a belle for #blogmas) for the Borderlands Saga as I had this to share after starting to read the delightful novel:

There was a tight pulling of curiosity – of needing to read another paragraph, of feeling tucked closer to Amie and of developing a keen sense of curiosity for the otherness which was about to jump into focus; I was sure of it, as it was percolating at the fringes round the funeral for her parents. It was then I realised, I think I might have found my footing into the fantastical styling of Ms Silverwood – where I could gain entry into the mythos of her world and settle in for the long haul of the Borderlands Saga!

Silverwood has truly crafted together a tale you can drink in – slowly and ruminatively, as you step into Amie’s footsteps as she starts to pull the pieces together of a life and family she was not privy to understanding til her parents died. And, even then, let’s be frank – it took her longer than most to accept a nod of familial invitation to gleam more about her father’s past and the world he left behind. I loved her instincts for turns of phrase, for how she took time to allow Amie to contrast her thoughts and emotions through colours and wordplay.

The pacing I felt was intimate enough to hug us close to Amie but equally dynamic enough to give us a slight thrill of an adventure we were bound to want to escape inside once we caught a glimpse of how her world was evolving into view. What I appreciated most though is how this story was written – from the choices in direction and characterisation to the elements of the ‘otherworld’ seeping through the opening chapters where Amie is clueless about her ancestral legacy.

The beauty of course, is the subtlety in which they have become fashioned through the Borderlands Saga – as there is a gentleness to the fantastical within this series. You get to step through the veil between the known world and the unseen world as unexpectedly as Amie. It gives you a chance to adjust to the changes but also, it proves the point towards what is seen and unseen is only the very beginning of understanding the unknown.

-quoted from my book review of Silver Hollow

I am *aching!* dear hearts to read this sequel – not that I could *forget!* the release date – not only does it *fall within!* the 3rd Year I’ll be co-hosting Wyrd & Wonder with Imyril & Lisa – but dear hearts, the day of release is of import for my family! It’s my parents anniversary and what is more special than a book release by a beloved author & the next year’s anniversary of your parents!? Absolutely NOTHING! Smiles.

If you want to find your #nextreads for Urban Fantasy, Fey directed Lit and a fantastical world which will bewitch you mind & heart – this is definitely a series to earmark to read!

Here’s a special cheer to Jennifer Silverwood & the lovely writers behind #WeWriteFantasy who help celebrate the fantastical each December during their #FantasyForChristmas events! They truly have increased my love & joy of sorting out which Fantasy novelists I am itching to read next & which writers are curating the stories I most want to be finding on my bookshelf!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Blackbriar Cove by Jennifer Silverwood

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Silverwood Sketches

Converse via: #FantasyForChristmas19, #BorderlandsSaga & #WeWriteFantasy

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published: 25th May, 2020 | *this will be cross-released digitally and in print!

In a single night of madness, Amie won the battle and lost the two people she loved most. As she struggles to be the queen her people need, her family band together against the hidden threat at their borders.Haunted by the ghosts of her past, Amie strikes a pact with an ancient being called The Storyteller. In order to see Emrys again, they must put aside their blood feud, and cross the veil to a place of spirits and monsters.

Blackbriar Cove is a land where superstition and chaos reign, and spirits plague dreams. A dark curse has twisted the Unseelie who once lived in the home the Blackbriar twins vowed never to return. But death is not the end in Silver Hollow, and the war for the Borderlands has only begun.

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Borderlands Saga:

Silver Hollow by Jennifer SilverwoodBlackbriar Cove by Jennifer Silverwood

Silver Hollow (book one) – (see also Review)

Blackbriar Cove (book two)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Divider

Posted Tuesday, 10 December, 2019 by jorielov in #blogmas, Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Excerpt, Book Spotlight, Fantasy Fiction, Indie Author, Prism Book Tours

#Blogmas | feat. #FantasyForChristmas19 showcases | happily celebrating another series by Melissa McShane!

Posted Monday, 9 December, 2019 by jorielov , , , , , 1 Comment

#blogmas 2019 badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

When I saw Melissa McShane was being re-featured this #FantasyForChristmas19 – I admit, it felt a bit kismet! As this is an author I happily cheered for last year during the #FantasyForChristmas event with her Crown of Temontane series! It is lovely to become re-introduced to another layer of a writer’s collective works whilst recognising I have quite a few requests to put in at my local library next year strictly stemming from  my #FantasyForChristmas 2018 & 2019 selections! Reason being? I’ve been itching to read these lovely authors and although my intentions were to read them between both events – I never had the proper chance to focus on gathering the titles.

Next year, as I am finding my local library is receptive to the requests I am making regarding Indie Authors & Indie Press – I am going to be carry my requests forward into 2020! I am splitting my requests between my local library for print books & a regionally local library for audiobook requests. This way I can continue to seek out a better balance between reading both formats and continue to see the benefits of anchouring my readerly life in two formats which help offset my chronic migraines. It is also why I am striving towards hosting a more limited series of blog tours and focusing more on personal reads, library reads & / or showcasing authors I’ll be hosting via @SatBookChat as the past two years my health has had a few more afflictions attached to it than I’d consider healthy to juggle as a book blogger.

Thus, I’ll be honing in on authors I’ve previously showcased like Ms McShane and still haven’t had the chance to read whilst moving forward with select new titles and authors as well as previously read favourites throughout the coming year. I’d love to have a nice collection of Fantasy authors and series to discuss during our 3rd Wyrd and Wonder – outside of my focus of reading #dragonfiction as previously mentioned during my Dragons Risings series spotlight earlier in the week.

Here’s a special cheer to Melissa McShane & the lovely writers behind #WeWriteFantasy who help celebrate the fantastical each December during their #FantasyForChristmas events!

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Burning Bright by Melissa McShane

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Published by: Night Harbour Publishing

Converse via: #FantasyForChristmas19, #SuperheroFiction and #HistoricalFantasy

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

add to LibraryThing

Published: 25th March, 2019 | ISBN: 978-1949663136

In 1812, Elinor Pembroke wakes to find her bedchamber in flames—and extinguishes them with a thought. As an Extraordinary, gifted with powerful magical talent, she is respected and feared, but her father intends to control her and her talent by forcing her to marry where he insists. Trapped between the choices of a loveless marriage or living penniless and dependent on her parents, Elinor takes a third path: she joins the Royal Navy.

Assigned to serve under Captain Miles Ramsay aboard the frigate Athena, she turns her fiery talent on England’s enemies, vicious pirates preying on English ships in the Caribbean. At first feared by her shipmates, a growing number of victories make her truly part of Athena’s crew and bring her joy in her fire. But as her power grows and changes in unexpected ways, Elinor’s ability to control it is challenged. She may have the power to destroy her enemies utterly—but could it be at the cost of her own life?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Extraordinaries series:

Burning Bright by Melissa McShaneWondering Sight by Melissa McShaneAbounding Might by Melissa McShane

Burning Bright (book one)

Wondering Sight (book two)

Abounding Might (book three)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Divider

Posted Monday, 9 December, 2019 by jorielov in #blogmas, Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Excerpt, Book Spotlight, Fantasy Fiction, Heroic Fantasy, Indie Author, Prism Book Tours

#Blogmas | feat. #FantasyForChristmas19 showcases | The Dragons Rising series by Alisha Klapheke

Posted Friday, 6 December, 2019 by jorielov , , , 1 Comment

#blogmas 2019 badge created by Jorie in Canva.

Hallo, Hallo dear hearts!

When it comes to #dragonfiction – I’m the reader who enters into those fantastically curious realms with a heap of trepideration as generally speaking – most #dragons in Speculative worlds are either brutally violent, intensively cruel to humans or they are seen as these war mongering beasts who have nothing in their hearts or minds except the blood of war on their tongues! It drives me more than slightly batty as I truly *love!* a wicked good dragon centred series and/or one-off story – however, my wanderings into #dragonfiction have been a bit slowish over the years as I simply haven’t found too many to entreat inside which give me the world-building I am seeking and the *kind of dragons!* I prefer to be finding in my Dragon Fiction!

Thus, when I spied this was a series being featured – I was both eagerly curious and more than a bit cautious – as which way would the dragon scales swing this time round? I also admit – I’m seeking stories to read for our forthcoming 3rd Wyrd and Wonder event in May 2020 – of which, I’ll be reading a particularly concise list of #dragonfiction to once & firmly answer my question ‘ are there writers out there past Jackie Gamber & Kate Klimo who can give me a dragon story I can read? ‘.

(see also why I heart the Leland Dragons series)

One thing which encouraged me the most about this series is a) its Young Adult and b) it is talking about *saving!* the dragons which eludes to me this is a series wherein the humans (or other species of sentients) and the dragons are trying to live co-habitability? Very encouraging indeed! As I don’t mind some conflict in #dragonfiction but if you find a story is far more ‘darkly’ lit than illuminated with Light its definitely the story that might not be my particular cuppa tea!

Curiously – are other readers struggling to find #dragonfiction they can sink their teeth into? If so, which authors of these lovelies do you find provide a wicked good story and/or series which celebrate #dragons and benefit the niche of stories they belong to within Fantasy? Whom are your favourite dragons and/or species and which world would you love to relocate inside if you could?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Fate of Dragons by Alisha Klapheke

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

This is a self-published book series!

Converse via: #FantasyForChristmas19, #FantasyAvengers and #dragonfiction

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

add to LibraryThing

Published: 28th March, 2019 | ISBN: 978-0999831458

An Earth Queen desperate to wake her magic.

An elven prince fighting a ruthless betrayal.

A flood is coming. The Sea Queen has a mad plan to drown the world. Only the magic of the Earth Queen can stop her. Vahly, the last human, was born to fill that role and wield the power necessary to battle the rising oceans and save the dragons and elves.

But Vahly is the world’s biggest disappointment. She possesses no magic whatsoever.When she finds an ancient scroll that mentions a human power ritual conducted deep in the homeland of the elves, she gathers her dragon allies and journeys to see the king of that great forest-dwelling race.

Welcomed by a handsome royal cloaked in dark magic, will Vahly find answers or will a twisted and powerful elven lord destroyher chance at saving the world?

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

The Dragons Rising series:

Fate of Dragons by Alisha KlaphekeBand of Breakers by Alisha KlaphekeQueen of Seas by Alisha KlaphekeSword of Oak by Alisha Klapheke

Fate of Dragons (book one)

Band of Breakers (book two)

Queen of Seas (book three)

→ Sword of Oak (book four)
*forthcoming, July 2020 (digital first release)

Fun Stuff for Your Blog via pureimaginationblog.com

Read More

Divider

Posted Friday, 6 December, 2019 by jorielov in #blogmas, Blog Tour Host, Book | Novel Excerpt, Book Spotlight, Dragon Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, Heroic Fantasy, Indie Author, Prism Book Tours, YA Fantasy